We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent 6 nights at Hotel Walram” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Walram

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Walram
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cayce, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spent 6 nights at Hotel Walram”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Very nice hotel and a gracious staff (except for one constantly perturbed anti-American female). Great location and super value! Valkenburg has a lot to offer and is very close to other locales in Belgium and Germany.

Room Tip: Limited number of air conditioned rooms. 4th Floor rooms are basically the 'attic' of the bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kubby-SC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    132
    63
    21
    15
See reviews for
35
166
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were on the same trip as wazzwa & thought the hotel was first class, super food 3 star dining,
also staff were attentive & most spoke English so no problems.
The best coach trip we have been on, in fact the only one !

Room Tip: Try to book rooms in main part of Walrum & not in adjoining hotel taken over by Best Western.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank raymondo34771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in mid July 2013 for a long weekend. We had originally looked for a hotel in Maastricht as we were keen to show our guests around this wonderful city. But our visit coincided with one of Andre Rieu's concert weekends in the City. So prices were steep and rooms scarce! We were pleasantly surprised by Valkenburg with its restaurants, bars and picturesque setting. It is also very easy for access to Maastricht with regular commuter trains taking only 12 mins (3 stops). So I think it's a great base for this part of Limburg. On the hotel front, it isn't a luxury place but it is a good and honest, friendly family hotel with rooms of a decent size, with spa baths in the room and a decent indoor swimming pool. It is well appointed, decently decorated with helpful and friendly staff. You don't need to dine there apart from breakfast as there are lots of good restaurants and bars nearby. The hotel bar and terrace is good though. It is situated next to a weir/sluice gate complex and a church with a chiming clock. So be prepared for some background noise if you overlook them and like to have your bedroom window open at night. It didn't bother me however.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyJaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

just returned from a week here in Valkenburg really nice hotel suitable for all very friendly helpful staff good food comfortable beds We went with Leger coach holiday it was a really lovely holiday well thought out plenty to do and we had the luxury of a great coach crew Paul and Anthea wed certainly go on holiday with Leger again

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wazzwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheerness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have just returned from a 4 night stay here and the staff were great and very helpful, the food was very good and well presented to the only trouble was that all dishes were served with chips when roast or new potato's would have been better as all the dinners were roast or fish.
on the down side the rooms were very small with very little storage space but as I was on my own it was not a problem but there would not have been enough space to store two peoples cloths so I would think that a couple would be better off going for an upgrade.
Also as with most hotels there was no smoking anywhere inside the hotel so in the night I had to get dressed again and go out into the garden after midnight to smoke.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strode1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My wife and I recently did the National Holidays trip to Holland Belgium and Germany, it was a wonderful holiday staying in the Dutch town of Valkenburg. It was the start of the Carnival in the area which made it all the more interesting. The Hotel Walram was exceptional, the staff were very kind and helpful, the food was really good and our room even had a whirlpool bath in the bathroom, we had a pleasant view onto one of the local canals and a small park. As part of the holiday we visited Aachen in Germany, Maastricht in Holland and the Beautiful village of Monshau again in Germany. The journey was made into a very pleasant one by the coach driver, a gentleman named Gerry who entertained us all with good music and comedy. Thank You to the Staff of The Hotel Walram, and also to Gerry and National Holidays.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harryfoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just returned from 5 day 'Three Countries All Inclusive' holiday to Valkenburgh in the Netherlands with National Holidays. The hotel was great, food wonderful and even included 1 hour a night free bar for 4 nights, but the journey was very long.

We left Manchester at 5.15 am and didn't get to the hotel until 9 pm (with clocks put forward 1 hour, so journey took about 15 hours).
The journey took about 3 hours to feeder coach in Sheffield, then another 4 hours to Dover, 1.5 hour crossing and another 4 hours from there. There was only a 15 mins. stop at Sheffield in order to catch the lunchtime ferry and then a 45 minute stop at about 7 00pm.

When we got into the hotel we had soup and salad. The room (220) was massive with a large bathroom and deep whirlpool bath. However, the shower was just an attachment on the bath which had to be handheld so tricky to hold and shampoo etc. at the same time. The bed was 2 singles put together which moved apart, so be careful! The room also had a balcony overlooking the roofes.
The hotel has a lovely swimming pool. I had it all to myself (no lifeguard) and it was really warm and clean,

There were 2 included excursions on 2 days with a couple of hours in each place and a free day. The first excursion was to nearby Aachen and then on to the larger Maastrich which had lots of shops and a river flowing through it.
The next day's excursion was to Vaalserburgh where the borders of Germany, Belgium and The Netherlands meet and then to Monschau. Monschau is well worth a visit. Situated in a valley it is a very traditional village with cobbled streets and black and white buildings. There is a lovely church dating back to the 1700's and a river with bridges to walk on.
I found the 3 countries viewing point, a disappointment, though. The coach took us to what looked like a tower built in the 1960's with a café next to it set in woods. For 3 euros you could climb the tower and look at the (quite industrial) countryside. There was a map but it didn't make it clear which countries you were looking at so you couldn't work out where the borders were (which I'd thought was the whole point of the exercise). People who'd visited before said there used to be a spike in the ground where the 3 countries meet , and you could walk around it and be in different countries depending on where you were standing, but nobody knew where it was now.

Valkenburgh is a nice town. The hotel is on a square with a great supermarket across from it open from 8am to 8pm. There are the ruins of a castle on a hill and caves. To visit the ruins and have an hour long guided tour of the man made Velvet caves costs 12.50 euros. (4.50 euros if you just visit the castle). We were told that you couldn't opt to just visit the caves. We didn't go, but were told by others who did, that the guide had a lantern so if you stood next to him you were ok but as there were about 30 people on the tour most were left stumbling in the dark on the very uneven floors and by the time they got to the place he'd described, he'd moved on and the place was dark. The guide spoke Dutch but there was an information sheet provided in English (though they couldn't read it in the dark!!)

We climbed up to the castle ruins but didn't go in as there didn't seem much to see but went to the City Caves instead which are accessible from the road and about 10 minutes walk further on. We paid 6euros each for a 35 minute tour in a small carriage which we really enjoyed. It was well lit and we could read the English information sheet. Both caves have drawings and paintings on the walls and some large models of reptiles etc.. The City Caves also have an option for an hour long walking tour for the same 6 Euros price. The tours run on the hour and the payment kiosk opens 10 minutes before each tour.

Valkenburgh has lots of cafes and souvenir shops and is very compact. Everything is a few minutes walk from the hotel. There's enough to do for the day but I don't think I'd want to be there for a long time.

The food at the hotel was fantastic and the breakfast buffet included hot food-scrambled and boiled eggs and bacon and mini pancakes. The 1 hour free bar each night started at 8.30. You could get double drinks to start with and then go for singles - shorts, mixers, wines, soft drinks were included but not much choice in beers. You were given armbands to show the bar staff and apart from one member on one night who was very, very brusque, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The reception staff were very helpful and really informative about places to - in fact all staff including the cleaners were polite and pleasant.

Overall, a great holiday. Everyone on the coach was really friendly. We couldn't fault the accommodation or food and drink and great value for money but the journey was just too long. I'd definitely go back to the hotel and The Netherlands again, but probably not by coach.

Room Tip: Get 220 if you can . It's quiet, has big whirlpool bath and room is very large though bed is 2 s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank budgie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
1.6 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Scheepers
Hotel Scheepers
#4 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#1 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#8 of 52 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
#6 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#5 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walram

Property: Hotel Walram
Address: Walramplein 37, 6301 DC Valkenburg, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Walram)
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walram 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Walram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Walram
Best Western Valkenburg
Valkenburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing