We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Awesome Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Walram

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Walram
Ranked #3 of 47 Hotels in Valkenburg
Certificate of Excellence
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I highly recommend not only this hotel but also their restaurant. Cozy bar and when weather is good you can enjoy outside. The rooms are nice especially if you have to work equipped with desk and WiFi. Fantastic breakfast buffet. The town has many things to do and see. Great hotel and great area!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crzy_Trzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    153
    68
    24
    18
See reviews for
39
189
23
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Walram and would recommend to anyone. Room I had, though not spacious but more than adequate had one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The hotel was extremely clean and the food was prepared to a very high standard. Keep up the good work. In town centre so no busses to catch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a stay here..18-22 march.went as part of a 5 day national holiday...hotel is ideally situated being right in the center of the town of valkenburg.hotel is well decorated and spotless clean.rooms are a little on the small side..we were on the top floor so these are the attic rooms they are still big enough though.....the bathrooms are superbly finished and again spotless clean.the bar is very welcoming and all the staff were very friendly.meals were three course and always something worth having.breakfasts to were very good with plenty of choice.would definitely stay again at this gem of a hotel.....5 stars all round!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank seany2066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in Feb 2013 Mon to Fri. We were in a front facing room which overlooked the nearby river .The room was large with 2 single beds together which were very comfy. The showere was quite strong with plenty of very hot water. The hotel is in a good area and very near a square of shops and a supermarket (across the road). Behind these shops is the main high street, which has cafes, bars and shops...we were very surprised at how many. I would imagine in high season it would be a bustling street with plenty going on. Valkenburg is quite a picturesqe place with a small river running through it with bridges to the houses along the way...we liked it very much.
The hotel staff were very good, especially reception , who were very prompt at solving any little problems or answering your queries with directions, maps, timetables etc..They were the best reception staff we have had.
The bar area is nicely laid out with seating arranged for 4,6 or possibly 8 around a tables....the only thing that was lacking was entertainment...we had to make our own. ..there was no singer,quizes, bingo or anything on..which would have been appreciated.
Luckily we had a real friendly crowd on our bus, and we all mixed well, so we managed to chat the night away.
The food was good..the breakfast was assorted cereals, crispy bacon (gorgeous), and scrambled eggs or boiled eggs. Then you could have anything from the buffet..cheese, ham, croissants, different breads or rolls, toast ,(which you did yourself on the machine), jams, honey, yogurt..etc
there was also a vending machine where you got tea, coffee, cappacino etc .
So the breakfast was a veritable feast to start the day.We felt well fed.
The evening meal was also a nice surprise...the starter was soup, then fish or meat with vegetables etc, but the best surprise was the sweet which was always of al a carte quality,..presented with such care and precision and highly decorated...the sweet chef should be given a rise in our opinion.
So the 3 courses were always of good quality, plentiful and no one should have cause to complain.
The hotel sauna was not available when we were there..dont know why but it was locked up. Pool was quite large and although a little cold, we still enjoyed our swim..all free to residents.
On our stay in Valkenburg we visited Maastritch...Monchau (extremely pretty, like an alpine village with cobbled streets meandering along with the river and quite a few shops to browse).
Aachen, which was ok too, then the 3 countries point (which was a disappointment as all it is is a bollard in the ground where you are standing in 3 different countries depending on where you stand next to it. ..So not much to write home about there. !
Maastricht, we visited again on our spare day..we went on the train (the station is not far from the hotel, walking distance)..the train fare you have to BUY BEFORE you get on the train..from a machine on the platform..It is in English if you select it, so very easy to do..but only takes coins.
It costs about 11 euros for 2 people day returns to Maastrict, so not too bad..Maastrict was 3 stops away from Valkenburg on the train and only took about 10 minutes. When you get off the train in Maastrict you exit then walk accross the road and down the main street of shops to the bridge, and the old town is infront of you...more oldy worldy area which is nice. It is worth a 2nd look at Maastrict as it is a nice shopping pedestrian area..and a pleasant day out.
On the whole our trip was a great short break and we met some lovely people. You should enjoy it here.

Room Tip: The front facing room was quite large that we had but I did hear some say their rooms were small ..d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janbilly32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea south wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stay and have stayed in the Walrum Hotel Valkenburg Holland on many occasions..Feb 20th to Sun 24th 2013. Staff couldn't do enough for us...there is private parking which is great although there is a charge of 10euro per night....The hotel has a lift swiming pool and spa..Very comfortable beds...and very good breakfast.......Lovely cozy bar area and nice dining room...very clean right through the hotel......can't wait to go back next year ...What made this magical this time it snowed....... people at reception were very helpful with travel updates on the motorways as we had to leave on the sunday.....we could have also keep out room if we were stuck.....shame we were not ..we left the motorways were clear of snow..... Christmas markets Dec 6th.....I hope will be our next trip..

Room Tip: Ask to see a different room 'Im sure the hotel staff will help where they can....couldn't fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littledutchwomanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

Just returned from the Walram Feb 18-22 , visited as part of a national holiday coach trip -
Departed Preston 05.00 on a feeder coach,with pick ups on way to a service station at Sheffield where all the feeder coaches met and passengers then swapped on to their tour coach and then approx a 4 hour drive to Dover.
From Calais it took about 4 hours to The Hotel Walram, arriving around 21.00 for soup and salad. I'm in my 40's and took my son as a treat for his 18th birthday. I was surprised by the different age groups on the trip, I was expecting mainly older people but thankfully there were quite a few young ones and a few families to.

Hotel in a great location right in the center of Valkenburg - numerous cafes and bars with outdoor seating and heaters, within walking distance, but this time of year it was very quiet, not all the bars/cafes are open for the season yet.

Our room was small, but clean and warm, cleaner came every day, some rooms were bigger than ours but I would not be bothered if i was given this room again.We overlooked the back, nothing to see but the roof.

I found the Food was of a high standard, 3 courses for 3 nights, soup and dessert and a choices of either pork or fish one night, turkey or salmon another, lamb and something else on the other night.
The free bar is from 8.30 to 9.30, after the initial queues for the free bar at 8.30,there was no problem getting more free drinks after that, price of a beer in hotel was 4 euro,and 2 euro for a coke.
We went swimming once in the pool, it is small pool but clean, there is also a sauna.

There is a large supermarket opposite the hotel open till 8 pm every night, found several types of wines and beer from 0.60 euro for a large can. Also if you come out of the hotel, at the end of the car park turn right and 100 yards on the right on a corner is a small, friendly sports bar, with a type of pool table and dart board, this was only about 2 euro for a beer, 1 euro for coke.
The trips included are great, with a couple of hours in each place you visit, we took the optional extra trip to Cologne for £10.00 each, this is a very large city, very busy, loads of big name shops, and a massive cathedral worth the visit.

Only thing wrong with this trip is that it was not long enough, I would have liked a few more days, so much to see in the area, I would love to come back to this hotel for at least a week in summer.
Long drive there and back, but worth every penny. Thanks to National Holidays and the staff at the hotel, for a great break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the side or overlooking the front, visit cologne.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath area
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Hotel conveniently placed for the cafes and bars in Valkenburg being in the centre of Valkenburg. The room was adequate but there was no porterage so we had to take our own luggage to our rooms and there were several disabled clients on the coach. in Valkenburg there is a short network of over 150 miles of underground caves beneath the town, which is well worth a visit. You can either go through the caves on foot or take a train which takes about 30 minutes. Cologne and Maastricht are only a short distance away and the Cathedral at Cologne is certainly worth a visit. All in all a very enjoyable holiday and the staff were very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank old-relic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
1.6 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#2 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#1 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#7 of 47 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#4 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Scheepers
Hotel Scheepers
#5 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
#6 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walram

Property: Hotel Walram
Address: Walramplein 37, 6301 DC Valkenburg, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Walram)
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walram 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Walram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Walram
Best Western Valkenburg
Valkenburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing