We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“National coach holiday”
Review of Hotel Walram

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Walram
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Valkenburg
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We have just returned from a 4 night stay at Hotel Walrum and found it very good value for money. Although our room was very dated, it was warm and spacious with a very comfortable bed.
The tea and coffee tray, with kettle had to be collected from reception on arrival and it was a bit annoying having to request replenishments from reception on a daily basis. Also our cups were never rinsed/replaced in our room (which was mentioned in the hotel information pack)
The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the meals were very good. The breakfast buffet was excellent with something for everyone and was open for 3 hours (7-10) The evening meals were adequate and beautifully presented. It would have been nice to have been able to have a glass of tap water with our meal, but it is not part of the hotel policy to provide this and we were told to go and buy a bottle of water from the bar. (although there was water in the refreshment machine at breakfast time)
The hotel is placed centrally in the town and there are plenty of shops and places to eat. There is a train station and bus links in the town, just a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank whisperNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (499)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 499 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

The town of Valkenberg is so lovely and picturesque. We visited here as part of a National Holidays trip, and so we are grateful that this hotel was chosen.

The hotel itself was very nice, contemporary whilst still paying homage to the history of the building and the area.

Our room was a little bit small, but that was our only (tiny) gripe. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable.

The food served was absolutely fantastic. We could not fault the breakfast at all. As we were part of a group, our evening meal was given as a choice out of 2 main courses - either meat or fish (there was a veggie option too). One night the meals on offer were lamb or cod. My partner doesn't like lamb or fish of any description - so the hotel staff offered to make him an alternative of schnitzel instead which was great.

The pool was a good size and clean, we didn't have chance to use the sauna facility but would do so if we stayed again (which hopefully we will).

All of the staff were very professional, friendly and courteous. We would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lululu84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a Leger holiday and, having read some of the reviews, were pleasantly surprised. Our room, in the older part of the hotel, was clean with a large, comfortable bed. The bathroom was small, but adequate with good towels. Decoration could have done with a revamp,but the view over the square and castle made up for that. For us it was a bonus that the room was not overheated as we find most hotels too hot in winter and as a result we slept well.
The staff were very friendly and did everything they could to assist us. The food was beautifully presented and exceeded our expectations for a basic package deal. We were on a table with a Muslim girl and the waitresses were very helpful about her particular dietary requirements and sorted out suitable alternatives for her when a dish contained pork or alcohol with a minimum of fuss.
The hotel is very centrally located, making it easy to stroll out into the town, with a well stocked supermarket on the opposite side of the square. There is a swimming pool and sauna which we did not use.
We would be very happy to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChaletSchoolFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We decided to stay here over the Christmas period (5 days). The hotel is well located in easy walking distance of the cental area of the town (5 mins.). Our bedroom was very large with oversized double bed (two large twins) and very comfortable, two arm chairs, table, built-in fittings with lots of layout space, more than adequate built-in wardrobes and generous size bathroom with good supply of hot water to the shower and basin. Overall the rooms and very clean but the decorations are rather dull and need updating. Good supply of white towels on a daily basis. By asking at the Reception Desk one is given a complimentary tray of tea and coffee facilities which are replenished on request. All the staff are exceedingly friendly and helpful and the manager was constantly walking around to ensure everyone was satisfied with the service, facilities and food. Breakfast is buffet style with a selection of hot and cold food, ample supply of hot and cold beverages. Dinner in the evening is excellent, well prepared and served: compliments to the Chef and his Staff. Overall the hotel is warm and comfortable but we considered the public spaces for sitting and relaxing was inadequate for the number of guest staying in the hotel at the time. However this did not spoil our stay and we thank the Manager and his Staff for making this an enjoyable visit. Maybe a second visit!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 111 which is nice and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hackford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We spent five days at this hotel in Valkenburg and loved every thing about it . The location is central to all the going on in the area . The staff were very friendly and helpful . The hotel was clean and the bedroom was warm and comfortable . The food was served to a very high standard. Our first Christmas away from home a wonderful experience . We hope to return . Thank you Walram .

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ivan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

TBH I wasn't expecting the level of excellence I got from my short stay here. I visited as part of a coach party group for an Xmas holiday and there were 3 other coach parties booked at the same time.
Room was a little on the small side but perfectly adequate for my need and also clean and all in good working order. Nothing appeared "tired". TV has BBC1.
The manager was very visible and came round to check things were ok whilst we were eating. The other "visible" staff (reception, bar, restaurant) were also polite, helpful and friendly and also appeared to care about the guests.
The food was of an excellent standard. Good tasty food, arranged well and plenty of it! Breakfast was a buffet with some hot food (eggs and bacon). Two of the evening meals were 4 courses.
The prices in the bar were comparable to the bars in the town. There is this token system to pay for drinks, but that is only necessary when you want serving outside the bar area (there are call buttons on tables in various other places to summon staff). Cash is fine to use when being served in the bar.
I had a room on the second floor overlooking the square and it was single glazed but there was hardly any noise. Also didn't hear anything from neighbouring rooms.
Hotel is only a very short walk from the town centre and there is a supermarket on the same square.
The icing on the cake of a great stay was the free wifi throughout the hotel - no complicated logging into it so it is fine for things like kindles that do not like pop-up signing-in windows.
I did not use the wellness facilities so I can't comment on them.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Villan05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We spent four nights in the hotel, our room was reasonably large with a bath, all be it the smallest I have ever used. Rooms very clean and beds comfortable. The breakfasts were good, dinners less so and the system for paying for drinks, seems unduly complicated.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank johnnyboyDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#5 of 46 in Valkenburg
158 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dupuis
Hotel Dupuis
#16 of 46 in Valkenburg
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#6 of 46 in Valkenburg
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Scheepers
Hotel Scheepers
#4 of 46 in Valkenburg
153 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#2 of 46 in Valkenburg
223 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#1 of 46 in Valkenburg
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walram

Address: Walramplein 37, 6301 DC Valkenburg, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Walram)
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range: $68 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walram 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Walram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Walram
Best Western Valkenburg
Valkenburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing