We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dutch delight!”
Review of Hotel Walram

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Walram
Ranked #3 of 46 Hotels in Valkenburg
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Wonderful warm welcome to a centrally located hotel in a quiet cobbled square. Hotel very modern and clean, excellent food and free internet access. All this lead to a fantastic stay in Valkenburg!!! Would certainly recommend and hope to go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (470)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Walram
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 470 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2012

Valkenburg is situated in the far south of the Netherlands, in the province of South Limburg. This is the only part of the Netherlands with a hilly terrain. That is one of the reasons that many Dutch people spend short breaks in the Valkenburg-Maastricht area. The Walram is a converted former monastery in the centre of the little town. That is also the reason that some rooms are rather small. A little outdated, but not disturbing. It is clean, the beds are ok. Most important is that their restaurant is excellent. We go there every year in the beginning of december because of the cosey christmass markets in the artificial caves. Also nice in the summer, the hotel offers bikes for rent. For a 3 star hotel it is a fine hotel for a short stay. Would not stay there for 2 weeks though! There is a swimming pool, but you can also buy tickets for the nearby Spa thermae 2000. Would recommend that!

Room Tip: Standard room is very small, but clean and much cheaper. Comfort room is larger, but more expensive...
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Tuitjenhornerdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our team recent stayed at the hotel for a recent road competition. Simply put these guys were awesome. Every request was done, every question answered and their attention to our needs was phenomenal. The chef and kitchen were outstanding in their food preparation for a large squad and there was always amazing flavours.

This hotel did everything in their capacity to achieve excellence, and that they did.

Thank you to Lars, Danielle and the entire team.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roamingKiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Arrived at hotel early evening on a coach holiday one of the hotel staff came onto the coach and explained all about the hotel and our meal arrangements for the week he was very welcoming (just as the dutch always are) he then gave us our room keys which saved a lot of time.

We were put near the swimming pool away from the rest of our group, which we thought was a bit odd but was ok with us as it meant less time waiting for lifts.

Our room was big but old and no air con so had to keep window open but it wasnt noisy so was ok and was able to get a fan from reception but we did find the lighting a bit dim only 1 light in middle of room and 2 bedside lights. Old tv which crackled so sound was a bit difficult to hear. Bathroom was brilliant a nice big bath with a whirlpool system but be warned it is loud and at 7 in the morning i turned it off so not to dispurb other guests. Beds were very comfortable though so great to sleep in.

I did use the swimming pool and it was lovely didnt get to use the sauna though as not open at 7am and as on a coach trip you are limited to what time pool facilities can be used as our dinner time in the evening was set at 18.30 meant no swimming in the evening for safety reasons.

Meals are excellant we had set meals this trip but we did have a choice of either fish or meat as main meal, we had a starter, soup, salad, main meal and dessert.

Breakfast was buffet style scrambled egg or boiled, bacon, a selection of rolls, breads, cold meats, cheese and cereals and bite size pancakes with all the usual choice of jams and spreads.

The bar is operated on either cash payment or tokens which you prepay for at reception and have waiter service as buzzers are on tables if you go cash payment you have to get drinks yourself from bar but this is no hardship. All the bar staff are friendly and helpful and if you leave a tip they ring the bell.

This hotel is very close to the centre of town and has a canal running alongside of it. There is a super market across the square and well worth a look.

We had a lovely stay and all the staff worked so hard especially in the resturant.

A BIG THANK YOU TO ALL.

We look forward to visiting again sometime soon.

Room Tip: main part of hotel has air con. And if near pool you can hear motors running to keep the pool warm.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank whackyofdymchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We enjoyed our stay in Valkenburg recently, while visiting Floriade. Stayed at the BW Walram, the rooms were somewhat small, but the food was very good considering we were a tour group, although dinner was a little early at 6.45pm most days and 6.30pm on our last day. Some of the staff can enforce some strange rules, we were asked to vacate seats at a time when no-one else was sitting outside for eating icecream bought elsewhere, which was done in quite an officious way by a junior member of staff, and there is this odd rule about no tap water at the table, but otherwise the staff were pleasant and helpful. Valkenburg iteself is lovely. Absolute musts are to visit the gemeentgrot, there is a train running right through them and visit the Wilhelminatoren by way of the excellent Gondola ride. The castle is also well worth a visit.

Room Tip: avoid 625, pretty small and a small bath and bathroom
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank N345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

have just returned from a coach trip to the floriade and stayed at this hotel and cannot compliment it enough. Being a coach tour I wasn't expecting too much, we arrived at 7 pm after a long day and were asked to be down for dinner at 7:30 so immediately went to our room which was really nice, we had a large comfortable room (room 205), plenty of cupboard space and a nice sized bathroom we were delighted. We went down for our meal at 7:30 again we weren't expecting too much but again we were more than pleasantly surprised we had a 4 course meal soup, buffet salad, choice of main meal and dessert it was delicious. We had planned to eat out while we were there because of past experiences on coach tours the food always leaves a lot to be desired but we didn't bother here, the food was so good we ate here every night and the breakfast was just as good. The staff were all very pleasant and friendly and the reception staff were more than helpful. The hotel is in a good location just a 5 minute walk into the town. Thank you Walram Hotel you made our stay at Valkenberg very pleasant and we would definitely stay with you again cannot recommend you enough.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cama12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I booked a coach trip to go to the Floriade. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food offered. Often on coach trips the food is dire. I am a bit of a foody so I was really impressed with what was on offer. The staff were so pleasant , friendly and effiicient. The room was a twin bedded and had everything that we needed. The only comlaint is the a/c or lack of. It just did not work properly throughout the hotel. The bedroom and dining room were stifling. Maintenance and reception did their best to rectify the problem but the room was still 26 degrees. We did ask and get a fan. Kettles and coffee were free on request from reception. The only other niggle was that tap water is not served in the dining room. The hotel is in a good quiet location close to the center and with outside tables and chairs. I would stay here again. The little train trip in the caves of Vokenburg is worth doing although the commentry is only in Dutch. The chair lift up to the castleis fun.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 15travels15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dupuis
Hotel Dupuis
#14 of 46 in Valkenburg
50 reviews
1.6 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#1 of 46 in Valkenburg
1,686 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Tummers
Hotel Tummers
#4 of 46 in Valkenburg
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
Hotel Thermae 2OOO
#7 of 46 in Valkenburg
206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#6 of 46 in Valkenburg
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walram? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walram

Address: Walramplein 37, 6301 DC Valkenburg, The Netherlands (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Walram)
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Valkenburg
Price Range: $67 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walram 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Walram reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Walram
Best Western Valkenburg
Valkenburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing