We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go here if you don't have option”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in Valkenburg
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Go here if you don't have option”
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I went here in the 20's December 2013 because I wanted to visit Christmas market in Valkenburg.
The location of this hotel is not in walking distance from Valkenburg city center. However, you can take train in the nearest station (5-10 mins walking) to go to Valkenburg center.
The receptionist is nice, polite, and able to speak English but not fluently.
The room is okay and clean, but at the time I booked the room, I couldn't book room with double bed.
So I had to book the twin bed room.
It has small TV in the room. I guess you don't want to watch it all day with that size of TV.
The bathroom is also clean.

I had a breakfast in this hotel and it's a buffet breakfast. It has various of options. I think you can enjoy it to start your morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    16
    48
    48
    28
See reviews for
16
83
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

just back from a Christmas market trip with Leger,stayed at Fletcher hotel reception areas was okay small reception desk only one person dealing with us,lift was okay could take5 people and was quiet.Rooms were on the small side and I think you could have a conversation with next door through the walls,a bit thin!Beds were brilliant no complaints
my main complaints were no lounge after ten but you could take your drink to your room,as the lift is in the lounge area this was switched off until 0800 the next morning not good enough.It was stated about 10 to 15 minutes would take you to the town centre,don't you believe it, nearer a half hour unless your a fast walker.LEGER get a hotel more central.Never the less we had a good trip.

Room Tip: Pot luck all rooms small 2nd floor probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

About 15 minute walk from Valkenburg centre. The reception was situated at an unexpected corner and there was no one to check us in, no response when we rang the reception bel. We could smell the staf, they were seem to be smoking at a private room. When there was finally someone present and we got the key to our room, the room turned out to be rather small and very out dated. The toilet had some problems flushing and the room has very thin walls. No need for breakfast or dinner at the hotel, Valkenburg has plenty of restaurants and you do want to have a taste of the atmosphere at the centre, not at your hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnRaGoSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Valkenburg hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel reception, bar area, lounge and garden were pleasant enough, probably modernized within the last couple if years. However, the 70's feeling started in the lift - it made an awful racket and seemed to have a tremendous problem hoicking 2 people with two hold-alls up to the first floor! First and last time used! The room was small, had two chairs and a little table, the beds were comfortable, the Tv minute although it had BBC1. These are the good aspects! Now the 70's feeling - washable (but not washed) wall covering aged to yellow, greenish/brownish thin/worn carpet covered in stains, duvets covers with plenty of holes, doors and thin fake beams made from dark brown ply wood and a bathroom that made us claustrophobic to say the least although it had a nice shower. The best thing was: your neighbours seemed to live inside your room! So jolly, you could hear them talk, walk around, cough, etc. etc.
Redeeming factors: the staff - very helpful and cheerful, station with trains to Maastricht, Heerlen (both with easy access to Aachen in Germany, Liege in Belgium) etc 10 minutes walk, centre of lovely Valkenburg about the same. Would we come back? If Fletcher Hotels would offer a good deal, as they
frequently do, yes, we could relive the 70's!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at the Fletcher hotel as part of a Xmas Market trip organised by Leger Travel. Having used Leger before on several occasions, we were very disappointed with their choice of hotel. We've paid a lot less in the past and stayed in much better accommodation, and I know this was the general consensus of our entire group, having listened to others during our 3 day stay.

On arrival at 9.30pm, not having stopped for an evening meal due to driver hours being limited, we were informed that the hotel bar, which normally closes at 11pm, was not open that evening, leaving those with medical conditions unable to even get a glass of water to take their medication.

The hotel is situated just a few yards from a railway crossing with its regular alarm bell whenever a train approached. There is an Aldi supermarket about 100 yards or so down the road but little else unless you walk into town, around 20-30 minutes. Taxi fare into town is €6 each way and worth every cent. Hotel Reception will book one for you if requested.

The public areas of the hotel are pleasant and modern, but once you go through to the residential areas it becomes very dated, with cheap cord carpeting and 'Contiboard' wall panelling. Our room looked as though it had previously been a storage area, as the door was only an inch or so away from the door of the next room, and opened outwards onto the corridor.

The room was small, as others have commented, with two steps leading up into a bathroom. Large cupboard, which had a hole punched into the door, with a couple of shelves and hanging space. Twin beds were comfortable, one saving grace, although the duvet cover on one bed had a hole in. The cord carpet had a large red wine stain on it. TV was provided, one chair and a small table. No tea-making facilities. Although the general decor was poor the rooms were cleaned well.

Breakfast consisted of scrambled omelette, which unfortunately was burnt black on every one of the three days; hard boiled eggs, bacon lardons which would have been OK had they not been floating in grease, cheeses, cereals, breads and rolls. There were no toasters.

The evening meal was a real let-down. This may be due to the fact that we were an organised party and therefore subject to a set menu, but after the first night's meal of soup, a very small wafer thin pork escalope with potato croquettes and mixed veg, followed by a piece of cake we ate out on the second evening, especially after finding out that the kitchen staff still weren't aware of what was on the menu just a couple of hours before it was due to be served.This led us to think it was going to be a 'boil in the bag' meal, which it turned out to be - chicken curry! Hardly surprising then that we weren't the only people seen in town for dinner! It was a shame, as their normal menu looked much more inviting.

Once the bar is closed at night the area is secured by doors being locked and lift access suspended until the staff re-open for breakfast the next morning. You can exit and re-enter the residential area by way of stairs and side entrances only. As we had to be down for a 6am breakfast on our departure date, we saw quite a few elderly travellers struggling down stairs with suitcases as the lifts weren't operational, very dangerous as the stairs were narrow and fairly steep, without the addition of heavy luggage being handled.

It seemed that the hotel was being run on skeleton staff the weekend we were there; the receptionist was also the bartender, restaurant waitress and cleaner. If you wanted a drink, you rang the bell at the reception desk if she wasn't around.

I can honestly say that although the staff were very friendly and the public areas modern, the remainder of the hotel was very dated and needs a total revamp. My husband's first foray into the world of Xmas Markets - and although all in all we had a fantastic weekend it was overshadowed by a much lower level of accommodation than we felt we had paid for, given previous experiences.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chatterbox3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here during a christmas market coach tour. Ledgers. The room was warm we needed to keep our windows open. Bed was comfortable , but we would have liked a double bed, but it seemsthey do not have them, only twin beds , so would not recommend for couples but would for friends holidaying together. We only ate one evening meal in hotel , good simple food. The other nights we ate in town, plenty of choice of good restaurants . It took us about 15mins to walk to the christmas caves, a must . The sand sculptures were fantastic, we even took the cable lift up to the tower. Breakfast continental , plenty of choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkdolphinSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Part of Ledger Christmas Markets 5 day trip and the stay in this hotel really helped make the trip a great experience. The hotel was clean throughout and although the bedrooms were on the small side they were adequate and the beds were really comfortable. Hotel was about 20 Minute walk from the town centre and the caves where the Christmas Markets are held. Would visit this hotel again given half a chance!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valkenburg
1.4 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Geulvallei
0.8 mi away
Hampshire Hotel – Voncken Valkenburg
0.5 mi away
Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt
Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt
#30 of 47 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Amsterdam Fauquemont
Hotel Amsterdam Fauquemont
#19 of 47 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Dieteren
Hotel Dieteren
#1 of 47 in Valkenburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
20.0 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant La Ville Blanche
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg

Property: Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg
Address: Bosstraat 2-6, 6301 HM Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 47 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by hills and located only a few kilometers from the 'drielandenpunt' (three-country point), where the borders of the Netherlands, Germany and Belgium meet, the town of Valkenburg has an atmosphere distinct from that of more typically Dutch towns. In the midst of all this beauty, lies Valkenburg's lovely Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg. The perfect place to spend a few days away from it all. This hotel lies within walking distance of the city center of Valkenburg. And also the cities Luik and Aken are close by. Whether you want culture, nature or want to go shopping, Flecther Hotel Valkenburg is the right place to stay. The rooms of this hotel are modernly furnished. There is a lounge with fireplace, a restaurant where you can enjoy delicious dishes and of course a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing