We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and noisy room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg
Ranked #47 of 47 Hotels in Valkenburg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old and noisy room”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

About 15 minute walk from Valkenburg centre. The reception was situated at an unexpected corner and there was no one to check us in, no response when we rang the reception bel. We could smell the staf, they were seem to be smoking at a private room. When there was finally someone present and we got the key to our room, the room turned out to be rather small and very out dated. The toilet had some problems flushing and the room has very thin walls. No need for breakfast or dinner at the hotel, Valkenburg has plenty of restaurants and you do want to have a taste of the atmosphere at the centre, not at your hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnRaGoSi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    23
    50
    56
    32
See reviews for
19
101
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel reception, bar area, lounge and garden were pleasant enough, probably modernized within the last couple if years. However, the 70's feeling started in the lift - it made an awful racket and seemed to have a tremendous problem hoicking 2 people with two hold-alls up to the first floor! First and last time used! The room was small, had two chairs and a little table, the beds were comfortable, the Tv minute although it had BBC1. These are the good aspects! Now the 70's feeling - washable (but not washed) wall covering aged to yellow, greenish/brownish thin/worn carpet covered in stains, duvets covers with plenty of holes, doors and thin fake beams made from dark brown ply wood and a bathroom that made us claustrophobic to say the least although it had a nice shower. The best thing was: your neighbours seemed to live inside your room! So jolly, you could hear them talk, walk around, cough, etc. etc.
Redeeming factors: the staff - very helpful and cheerful, station with trains to Maastricht, Heerlen (both with easy access to Aachen in Germany, Liege in Belgium) etc 10 minutes walk, centre of lovely Valkenburg about the same. Would we come back? If Fletcher Hotels would offer a good deal, as they
frequently do, yes, we could relive the 70's!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at the Fletcher hotel as part of a Xmas Market trip organised by Leger Travel. Having used Leger before on several occasions, we were very disappointed with their choice of hotel. We've paid a lot less in the past and stayed in much better accommodation, and I know this was the general consensus of our entire group, having listened to others during our 3 day stay.

On arrival at 9.30pm, not having stopped for an evening meal due to driver hours being limited, we were informed that the hotel bar, which normally closes at 11pm, was not open that evening, leaving those with medical conditions unable to even get a glass of water to take their medication.

The hotel is situated just a few yards from a railway crossing with its regular alarm bell whenever a train approached. There is an Aldi supermarket about 100 yards or so down the road but little else unless you walk into town, around 20-30 minutes. Taxi fare into town is €6 each way and worth every cent. Hotel Reception will book one for you if requested.

The public areas of the hotel are pleasant and modern, but once you go through to the residential areas it becomes very dated, with cheap cord carpeting and 'Contiboard' wall panelling. Our room looked as though it had previously been a storage area, as the door was only an inch or so away from the door of the next room, and opened outwards onto the corridor.

The room was small, as others have commented, with two steps leading up into a bathroom. Large cupboard, which had a hole punched into the door, with a couple of shelves and hanging space. Twin beds were comfortable, one saving grace, although the duvet cover on one bed had a hole in. The cord carpet had a large red wine stain on it. TV was provided, one chair and a small table. No tea-making facilities. Although the general decor was poor the rooms were cleaned well.

Breakfast consisted of scrambled omelette, which unfortunately was burnt black on every one of the three days; hard boiled eggs, bacon lardons which would have been OK had they not been floating in grease, cheeses, cereals, breads and rolls. There were no toasters.

The evening meal was a real let-down. This may be due to the fact that we were an organised party and therefore subject to a set menu, but after the first night's meal of soup, a very small wafer thin pork escalope with potato croquettes and mixed veg, followed by a piece of cake we ate out on the second evening, especially after finding out that the kitchen staff still weren't aware of what was on the menu just a couple of hours before it was due to be served.This led us to think it was going to be a 'boil in the bag' meal, which it turned out to be - chicken curry! Hardly surprising then that we weren't the only people seen in town for dinner! It was a shame, as their normal menu looked much more inviting.

Once the bar is closed at night the area is secured by doors being locked and lift access suspended until the staff re-open for breakfast the next morning. You can exit and re-enter the residential area by way of stairs and side entrances only. As we had to be down for a 6am breakfast on our departure date, we saw quite a few elderly travellers struggling down stairs with suitcases as the lifts weren't operational, very dangerous as the stairs were narrow and fairly steep, without the addition of heavy luggage being handled.

It seemed that the hotel was being run on skeleton staff the weekend we were there; the receptionist was also the bartender, restaurant waitress and cleaner. If you wanted a drink, you rang the bell at the reception desk if she wasn't around.

I can honestly say that although the staff were very friendly and the public areas modern, the remainder of the hotel was very dated and needs a total revamp. My husband's first foray into the world of Xmas Markets - and although all in all we had a fantastic weekend it was overshadowed by a much lower level of accommodation than we felt we had paid for, given previous experiences.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chatterbox3110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Valkenburg hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
swindon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed here during a christmas market coach tour. Ledgers. The room was warm we needed to keep our windows open. Bed was comfortable , but we would have liked a double bed, but it seemsthey do not have them, only twin beds , so would not recommend for couples but would for friends holidaying together. We only ate one evening meal in hotel , good simple food. The other nights we ate in town, plenty of choice of good restaurants . It took us about 15mins to walk to the christmas caves, a must . The sand sculptures were fantastic, we even took the cable lift up to the tower. Breakfast continental , plenty of choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkdolphinSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Part of Ledger Christmas Markets 5 day trip and the stay in this hotel really helped make the trip a great experience. The hotel was clean throughout and although the bedrooms were on the small side they were adequate and the beds were really comfortable. Hotel was about 20 Minute walk from the town centre and the caves where the Christmas Markets are held. Would visit this hotel again given half a chance!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed here in September. The hotel is a little on the dated side in terms of decor and layout but is typical of a continental village hotel. Staff are pleasant and helpful and like to look after the guests.

The dining room downstairs is clean and bright with plenty of space and breakfast was a good continental breakfast buffet with the addition of bacon lardons and scrambled egg for those who wanted it. We did have dinner one evening and whilst the menu was set, the food was good, well presented and plentiful.

The rooms are adequate in size and whilst requiring an update to the decor they are warm, clean and linens are fresh. I have stayed in a couple of the Fletcher hotels now and whilst the other was much more decor friendly this one in Valkenburg was by far and away the better of the two hotels.

The hotel is on the edge of the village in a pleasant location with the addition of its own garden with ample seating. All in all if you are looking for a standard 4 star Hilton you are not going to come here. If you are looking for friendly, cosy and safe place to stay where you are recognised by the staff then this is a great little place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BClub1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

As expected for such low price (kruitvat voucher 25 euro 2 persons) we stayed in Valkenburg.
the hotel was rather outdated and worn out, but ok for a night sleep.
Against better kwowledge we did buy the breakfest package (higher cost as staying hotel. I would not recommend to take this option. Very basic and for this type of money better breakfest options available in Valkenburg. Diner we did'n't even try since good restaurants options in the village
But reason for booking is the nice walking areas in the GEUL river area.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuurtje75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
1.4 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Geulvallei
0.7 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 47 in Valkenburg
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dupuis
Hotel Dupuis
#10 of 47 in Valkenburg
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Atlas Hotel Valkenburg
Atlas Hotel Valkenburg
#41 of 47 in Valkenburg
104 reviews
1.0 mi away
Grand Cafe Hotel Huis ter Geul
Grand Cafe Hotel Huis ter Geul
#37 of 47 in Valkenburg
24 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Botterweck
Hotel Botterweck
#12 of 47 in Valkenburg
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg

Property: Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg
Address: Bosstraat 2-6, 6301 HM Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 47 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by hills and located only a few kilometers from the 'drielandenpunt' (three-country point), where the borders of the Netherlands, Germany and Belgium meet, the town of Valkenburg has an atmosphere distinct from that of more typically Dutch towns. In the midst of all this beauty, lies Valkenburg's lovely Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg. The perfect place to spend a few days away from it all. This hotel lies within walking distance of the city center of Valkenburg. And also the cities Luik and Aken are close by. Whether you want culture, nature or want to go shopping, Flecther Hotel Valkenburg is the right place to stay. The rooms of this hotel are modernly furnished. There is a lounge with fireplace, a restaurant where you can enjoy delicious dishes and of course a bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Valkenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing