We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Investment object no hospitality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Burghoeve

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Burghoeve
Ranked #48 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Investment object no hospitality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

From the outside it looks nice and raises expectations. However it is clear that no one really cares about this hotel. Old fashioned rooms that need renovation. Staff that is just making their shifts and more ' warnings' than nice welcomes. E.g. Diner inly between 6 and 8 and you are allowed to stay in the restaurant until 10, is stated more then once.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    9
    19
    21
    13
See reviews for
6
39
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Fletcher hotel chain renovates run down farms, castles etc. to quite beautiful hotels on pretty good locations. Allthough well equipped, the rooms are more basic than the exterior and the public areas of the hotel as the rooms are furnished with rather cheapish materials. (e.g. a shower curtain rather than a walk-in shower, a curtain in stead of a bathroom door). Still: also the Burghoeve is worth its money, with very friendly staff, a good breakfast and good dinner. Fletcher: why not upgrade your service by offering wine-and-dine arrangements! Since almost all of your restaurants guests will also be your hotel guests, almost no one will have to drive after dinner anymore! This opens an excellent opportunity that not many restaurants can offer their guests.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. We were a coach party of 41 people, this hotel is not capable of looking after larger groups of people. The evening meal should have started at 7pm, it was late, one evening the second course was not served until 8.30m.The food was very often cold and they ran out of one of the choices(there were only 2 choices). The annex at the back of the site had a very steep, to my mind dangerous staircase. I found it difficult to come down the stairs, i would add that i am not infirm and regularly walk distances of 5 miles or more. I asked for a plug for the handbasin in my room and was told that they do not supply them (most of the other rooms had them). they provided me with a pyrex dish to put water in. Our tour manager could not get much improvement because there was no manager on site she had to telephone someone in Hanover(?)They did not have enough staff or staff with experience to run the hotel properly

Room Tip: Dont go to this hotel,i do not think that even if the rooms had been perfect the overall experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elwick11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Valkenburg hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

The worst hotel I have stayed in. food lukewarm and portions rationed. also ran out of food on one occassion. Rooms very small and stable blocked staircase very steep most unsuitable for the most people. Staff indifferent and unfriendly. lack of staff would possibly explain why rooms were not cleaned. Coach party to visit floriade. Valkenburgh has major road/pavement works at the moment so best avoided.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I stayed here for a couple of nights with my group of 39 adults.
From the description I was hoping for a more rural setting. However Valkenburg is a lovely small town.
Some of the rooms were quite small with sloping ceilings & the stairs were quite steep. There is a lift in the main block but doesn't operate before 07.30. Not a good arrangement in an emergency!
I felt we were told what we wanted to hear rather than the truth on a number of occasions which reminded me of being back in India/Africa/Middle East!
However i felt the food was good although we had a very limited 3 course set menu which didn't suit everybody.
Breakfast was excellent.
If I had been with a partner I think it would have been more suitable but not for a group of 39 adults.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IslandMichele007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Courteous, helpful staff, easy walk into Valkenburgm bbus stop outside to Maastricht.
Food plentiful, fresh and as eat as much as you want from buffet
Rooms a bit cosy but perfectly OK for a few days

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Valkenburg
1.0 mi away
Hotel Walram
Hotel Walram
#3 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Lahaye
Hotel Lahaye
#14 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 10 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Vroenhof
Hotel Vroenhof
#19 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel De Herberg
Hotel De Herberg
#15 of 52 in Valkenburg
4.0 of 5 stars 17 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt
Hotel Schaepkens van St Fijt
#26 of 52 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
1.3 mi away
Parkhotel Valkenburg
Parkhotel Valkenburg
#7 of 52 in Valkenburg
3.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Burghoeve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Burghoeve

Property: Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Burghoeve
Address: Broekhem 134, 6301 HL Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 52 Hotels in Valkenburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Burghoeve 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the edge of Valkenburg lies a splendid, traditional farmhouse that has been completely refurbished to become the magnificent Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Burghoeve. The old farmhouse with its chandeliers; a stylish sun lounge; an excellent restaurant and a delightfully relaxing bar. The hotel has every facility to make your stay carefree and soothing. You can also relax in peace on the large terrace in the quiet garden from the moment the sun rises! Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Burghoeve in Valkenburg is therefore an ideal base for a relaxing weekend or a midweek break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Burghoeve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing