We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumping music till 2.30 am”
Review of Le Bistro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Bistro
Ranked #6 of 28 Valkenburg B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I booked through bookings.com and nowhere on their website or that of the hotel itself does it warn potential customers that this is the nightlife capital of southern Holland and that this establishment is in the middle of the main street. (The wesite is only in Dutch although the owners are bi lingual)
We had a reasonably good dinner in the downstairs restaurant then I went up to my double glazed room about 9.30. By this time the music from surrounding establishments had not reached maximum volume but already the bass was causing the room to vibrate. The thought of sleep was impossible so I left and paid for another room in a quiet part of town at an additional cost of E75. My two colleagues who also had rooms here decided to stick it out. They said that the music got significantly louder and stopped around 2.30am. After that they were kept awake by groups of revellers for at least another hour. At 7am the local cleaning squad appeared which also woke them up.
Therefore if you want to come for a long night out and then collapse into bed at 3am this might suit but if you actually want to sleep don't bother.
The only reason I have not given it a 'terrible' rating is that the staff we met were charming and helpful and the rooms were clean. But on our floor there was only one shower and one toilet for five double rooms. Some superficial modernising of the rooms has been done but the rooms are small and the access stairs ar steep and narrow. The one shower on the first floor does not work.
I really believe that the owners should not be trying to flog rooms to the unsuspecting public in this location or at the very least offer them an alternative if, like us, we had no idea of the location. The charming member of staff I spoke to assured me that I would hear nothing through the double glazing - I suspect he doesn't live and has never tried to sleep on the premises.
We were there on a Saturday night which is obviously the busiest and noisiest night of the week. I don't know what other nights would be like.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back might be a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyNomad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (20)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 13 of 20 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Yelten T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017
Thank amnesya836
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alleen slapen en op doorreis, zeker een aanrader.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MarcKuijpers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017
Thank J O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Danny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Valkenburg hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Dupuis
Hotel Dupuis
#16 of 46 in Valkenburg
55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Geste Valkenburg
Geste Valkenburg
#2 of 28 in Valkenburg
12 reviews
0 mi away
La Casa
La Casa
#11 of 28 in Valkenburg
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pension Oranje
Hotel Pension Oranje
#18 of 28 in Valkenburg
18 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Lahaye
Hotel Lahaye
#22 of 46 in Valkenburg
13 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chateau St. Gerlach
Chateau St. Gerlach
#1 of 46 in Valkenburg
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bistro

Address: Grotestraat Centrum 3, 6301 CV Valkenburg, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Valkenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Valkenburg
Price Range: $62 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Le Bistro 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing