We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cool, friendly hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Badhotel Bruin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Badhotel Bruin
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Vlieland
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Cool, friendly hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Cool design, very centrally located. A nice terrace on the main street. The service is friendly, and the staff very accommodating. The hotel owner himself was very flexible and helpful. The restaurant is good, but it tries a bit too hard, and is pricey when compared to hotel rates. But overall, a very good experience.

Room Tip: Our friends had a noisy room, and asked to change it. Avoid rooms facing the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    34
    11
    9
    3
See reviews for
22
47
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
224 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Couple of nights in this nice boutique hotel, right in the center of Vlieland. Very well located. Room was nice, reasonably large, cool decoration. I think we got upgraded. Shower a little too small. NO INTERNET ACCESS FROM ROOM.
The downside was the very poor organization: we booked an all-inclusive package with dinner and breakfast, and also bicycle rent. There is no staff at reception, was handled by waiters of the restaurant. They claimed that our rate did not include dinner and that there was anyway no table available before late.... Very disappointed we walked to a nearby restaurant and paid our dinner. Next morning, asked again bout dinner, they reconfirmed that it was not included. Asked for the bicycles, took them long minutes to finally tell us to go to the nearest bike-rental shop.
When checking out the next morning, we finally heard from the attendant that our bicycles had been waiting for us in front of the hotel, and that our rate indeed included two dinners for two... But too late. They gave us a 100€ rebate on the hotel rate which actually covers the equivalent of one dinner for two on the island (but definitely not two dinners).

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank matoux00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogis-Bossey, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Hotel Bruin in Vlieland is centrally located in the main street of the Vlieland village. It appearance is modern and stylish. The rooms however are small, just allowing to circumvent the double bed, and there was no view other than the paned roof of the next house. The double bed seemed of relatively poor quality with springs impressing on body surface and shy on bed size for two relatively tall adults. In contrast the bathroom seemed stylish and renovated recently (very nice). The rooms are not very sound insulated, and we had the pleasure to enjoy the noise that the hotel guests (predominantly dutch) cared to share ad libitum. Dinner at the restaturant was excellent, with a relatively adventurous menu presentment. The requested wine (Barbera) however was not served at the right temperature range. Breakfast could not be served before 10:30 hrs on the outside terras in front of the hotel (???). The hotel staff seems highly efficient and relatively knowledgable. Though staff was very friendly, I did not appreciate to be greeted informally as if we were friends, I am the client!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shogu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

It looks very nice but the food was far beneath every standard and when you have complains the service is even worst.

Room Tip: Learn how to handle complains that are reality
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jan willem h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ittre, Belgium
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

We only ate at the restaurant. The meal we had was fabulous. One of the best ever. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venlo
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights with our 2 daughters. Child friendly but not disturbing for other guests, professional and comfortable, excellent restaurant (even if menu is somewhat small) with matching great wine list. Outstanding service and atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2011

Excellent restaurant, super service, looks like a great hotel, I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esther1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vlieland
0.9 mi away
Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn
0.3 mi away
Hotelletje de Veerman
Hotelletje de Veerman
#2 of 7 in Vlieland
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vlierijck
Vlierijck
#4 of 7 in Vlieland
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
WestCord Hotel De Wadden
WestCord Hotel De Wadden
#3 of 7 in Vlieland
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel DoniaState
Hotel DoniaState
#7 of 7 in Vlieland
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
10.4 mi away
Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee
Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee
#2 of 6 in West-Terschelling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Badhotel Bruin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Badhotel Bruin

Property: Badhotel Bruin
Address: Dorpsstraat 88, 8899 AL, Vlieland, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Vlieland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Vlieland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Badhotel Bruin 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Badhotel Bruin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing