We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The sound of the sea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Vlieland
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Our room was excellent, clean, functional and enjoyed a wonderful view across the beach and seemingly endless sea. The beds and couch corner were embraced by sufficient room to easily move. The bathroom with its jacuzzi like bubbly system and spacious separate shower (allowing for stretching) provided a sense of splendour. The fitness, requiring additional pay, is not worth the effort, as the devices our outdated. I preferred to physically condition my self on the beach and dunes, and in the sea. Personnel is friendly but not very proactive. The restaurant Seeduyn has been described as a poor experience in a separate review. The hotel is nicely located on the quiet side of Vlieland and can easily be arched on foot from the Harlingen Vlieland ferry. We would definitely return to this hotel, but dine and wine elsewhere.

Room Tip: Get top floor sea side room
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shogu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (323)
There are newer reviews for Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 323 reviews

Reviewed April 10, 2014

Last week we've stayed for some days in the Strandhotel Seeduyn. It was a good stay.
The hotel is well maintained, the rooms are quit and spacious and very clean. So was the bathroom. The hotel staff is friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is really good. Having fresh coffee and breads overlooking the dunes and the sea.
If you want you can explore the whole island from here on your feet. But it's advisable to rent a bike. Don't forget to ask for your discount vouchers at the reception desk at check in if they forget it. Also, for hotel guests the public transportation (one bus line) is for free.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PimDeWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We were staying in apartment 152 which is privately owned, but maintained, booked and cleaned by the hotel. No complaints (spaceous, clean, good free WiFi)
Swimming pools are okey. Spa a bit dissapointing as it does NOT have access to a swimming pool. Swimming is free; spa reasonably priced; breakfast/diner expensive. Hotel personel is friendly. The village is a 15 minute walk. Free bus service but only runs a five times a day. Beach and dunes are astonishing beautifull. Vlieland is worth a visit, but there might be better deals available.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank Bert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

The location of this hotel in incredible. In the middle of the dunes, you only need to step outside to walk onto the beach. We had booked the valentine's package, which resulted in an upgrade of the room to a suite and added a 4-hour use of the wellness facilities to our stay. The suite was spacious, even had a small fridge and kitchenette. The wellness facilities - 3 types of sauna, steam bad and bubble bad - were very nice. There was a towel and bathrobe, free tea and water available. One point to improve - there are clear instructions on what a sauna routine looks like. Unfortunately, this does not state that after a sauna, one should shower first before going into the cooling bath or bubble bath. When we were there, we noticed a couple that went straight from the sauna (all sweaty) into the cooling bath.... not very hygienic.
The breakfast is rather standard - they offer late breakfast option (till 10.30) on Sunday, but when arriving at 10, a refill of juice glasses, empty coffee cups, scrambled eggs and croissants was needed - a shame you had to ask for a number of things instead of them being filled automatically by the staff.
As for hygiëne - we stayed there for 2 nights and I had a stain on my pillow after an evening shave - this pillow cover was not replaced, just moved backwards on the bed.... disappointing.

And finally - there is a shuttle from the boat to the hotel supplied by the hotel (free of charge) and you can get a free ride with the bus back as well. It was a pity that the Luggage transfer was not clearly explained (that the Luggage in the hotel trolley would be transported back to the hotel so you did not have to take the Luggage out in the harbour).

So overall, a nice hotel with excellent location - but still room for improvement!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IvesDB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is definitely a hotel with the best location on Vlieland as it is the only hotel that is located directly on the beach. When you sit on the terrace outside you have a lovely view over the sea. Unfortunately the management also knows this hotel has the best location and it doesn't hesitate to overcharge for its services. The staff is very friendly which partly makes up for the fact that the price/quality of the rooms is not up to scratch. You pay too much for what you get. Some rooms have been renovated but they still have a "overused" feel to it. The suites on the other hand are amazing. Restaurant is quite nice although you do know the menu after 3 days. Reason we do come back time after time is the location and the friendliness of the staff.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on one of the higher floors with seaview.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctg004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

On October 10th we got married on the beautiful and quaint island of Vlieland, in the province Friesland (The Netherlands). We booked the wedding package deal at Hotel Seeduyn where we stayed in the bridal suite with spectacular views over the beach and the North Sea. The staff were utmost accommodating and helpful. Our guests also enjoyed the spacious, clean rooms and the good quality breakfast. We had a very pleasant stay at Seeduyn and we would return there any time.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a beachfront view. It is really worth that extra fee.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Limoncellita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We have been coming to this hotel - owned by a family operating more hotels, for a few times.

On the good side, the hotel has a great location, 2 pools, and all potential to be a great place.
But there is a big down-side. The ownership of the hotel seems to be rather opportunistic. The rooms were not clean and are smelly. The toilets smelled like they have not seen any cleaning for a long time. There is lots of "sand" in the pool (meaning the pool does not get cleaned frequently) and the furniture, curtains and carpets are dirty and too old. The restaurant is over priced and serves medium food (better options are available on the island).

It is the top property on Vlieland in terms of facilities but you may want to reconsider and find yourself a cleaner place to stay - with less facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlyingPlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vlieland
1.0 mi away
WestCord Hotel De Wadden
WestCord Hotel De Wadden
#4 of 7 in Vlieland
68 reviews
1.1 mi away
Vlierijck
Vlierijck
#3 of 7 in Vlieland
78 reviews
1.0 mi away
Badhotel Bruin
Badhotel Bruin
#5 of 7 in Vlieland
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotelletje de Veerman
Hotelletje de Veerman
#1 of 7 in Vlieland
46 reviews
8.3 mi away
WestCord Hotel Schylge
WestCord Hotel Schylge
#1 of 6 in West-Terschelling
399 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel DoniaState
Hotel DoniaState
#7 of 7 in Vlieland
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn

Address: Badweg 3, 8899 BV, Vlieland, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Location: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Vlieland
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Vlieland
Price Range: $128 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing