We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Delicious” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro De Pimpernel

Bistro De Pimpernel
Kruisweg 959, 2132 CD Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
023-5615970
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 76 Restaurants in Hoofddorp
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Dutch, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Bistro De Pimpernel opened its doors back in 1985. Over the years, the restaurant has grown into a true concept in Hoofddorp and the surrounding area, under the careful management of Raymond and Tanja Ruijg. The bistro is an informal French specialities restaurant with a menu which changes with the seasons. The restaurant also boasts a very extensive wine list. De Pimpernel is open every day from 17.00 pm except Sundays.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Quite a find - we were contemsting heading into Amsterdam city center for dinner whe staying at the NH airport hotel - pimpernel came out no.2 on trip advisor fir local restaurants - we fave it a try and were nit disappointed. Food excellent, service a little slow but charming. Fabulous!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mathew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    41
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, Ca.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Worth the Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

I recently overnights at Schipol Airport and stayed at a local hotel. I asked the front desk for some suggestions for dinner within walking distance as was given a list of local places. I had the great fortune to select Bistro de Pimpernel and was very, very happy indeed. Everything about this quaint place rates a 5 Star and you will just have see for yourself.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marobel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

First class hospitality from a wonderful owner. Service faultless, food wonderful and the most pleasant evening (s), yes it was that good we went back the next evening. Thoroughly recommend this wonderful restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Izz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A truly super experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I read the previous review on here (yes, I can read Dutch too) and am amazed. We too went to this restaurant as we were staying at the nearby Crowne Plaza and saw the great reviews on Trip Advisor app for De Pimpernel. These reviews are fully justified - the foods was excellent and exceptional value for money. The rose wine was superb and only 19 euros. And the service was wonderful. I recommend this place without reservation. .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, AZ
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

I visit Hoofddorp quite often as I have family there and we always have a meal (sometime 3 or 4 times) here. The service is top notch and you are usually welcomed and seated by the owner. The seating is cozy, but not cramped, and feels like your sitting at your own table at home. I can't say enough good things about the service, they are always there when you need them, but let you enjoy your meal and you never feel rushed. As an American traveling in Europe I alway miss having plenty of ice in my drink and they go out of their way to provide extra ice if you ask. The food is amazing, taste fresh, and the presentation is something they take pride in.
They make every guest feel welcome
Whether you are entertaining business associates or having a family dinner this place always seems to serve your needs

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank World_Jesse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro De Pimpernel also viewed

Hoofddorp, Haarlemmermeer
Hoofddorp, Haarlemmermeer
 
Hoofddorp, Haarlemmermeer
Hoofddorp, Haarlemmermeer
 

Been to Bistro De Pimpernel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing