We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Rude, Hot, Overrated” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel De Beurs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel De Beurs
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rude, Hot, Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

When you book a hotel, you read reviews and look at ratings and then assume. "Ok, this place seems like it will be fine" This place is anything but fine. I don't know how other people had good experiences here.

The staff was incredibly rude to us our whole stay (with one exception). From the moment we walked in the door and checked in, the staff could barely be bothered to lift a finger to check us in. To the moment we left.

The listing mentions "Climate Control in Every room" This is a lie. There is a radiator and 1 small window that opens (in a 3rd story room). I hope you don't like sleep, because the hotel is on a fairly busy road, and if its warm and you have your window open, you will be hearing all of that road noise.

When we asked the person at reception for a fan we were told "I'll check and call up to your room" we never got a call, or a fan. When we asked for them to call a cab to pick us up, they looked at us like we were stupid. I don't know who this hotel is for, but obviously if you want to get to the airport in the morning, this isn't the place.

The pictures on their site and listings look reasonable, simple, and basic. In reality they are: shabby, threadbare, and grimy. The room wasn't dirty with surface dirt, just years of grime that needs to be renovated in order to get rid of it. The bed was tiny and lumpy.

The only good thing was the croissants, very fresh.

You can do better elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizz0r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    46
    24
    7
    17
See reviews for
16
28
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hellevoetsluis, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
139 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My third stay at this hotel and once again I had a great stay. Check in was easy. I was greated in a very friendly manner which definitely makes you feel welcome. The room was large as was the ensuite bathroom ( shower , sink and toilet ). I found the room to be very clean. The downside was the soft mattress and the lack of airconditioning. Apparantly due to the lay of the building it is not possible to install this.
I had dinner at the on site restaurant. The menu has a lot to choose from and the food was good.
Right now they are expanding so there is some construction going on. I am not sure how much noise comes with it, because I stayed there during the weekend. But when booking a room you might need to consider this. If it is a warm / sunny day the rooms facing the road are very warm ( uncomfortable ). The rooms facing the car park are cooler but that's where the construction is going on.
The new rooms should be finished in January 2013 ( if I remember correctly ). The lady at the desk was not sure about possible renovations on the other rooms.
For those of you looking for a hotel near Schiphol airport, this hotel is a great option.
When back in Hoofddorp I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Look at the remarks I have made in the review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nieb20475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for two nights, based on its closeness to the town centre. The entrance hall is quite large and clean, leading to the main restaurant and bar.

Staff were friendly and efficient and made all the arrangements I had requested quickly and efficiently.

The room was not so good, very old decor a TV from the 1980's and without any airconditioning. A fan is provided, but I was facing the main road and with the windows open, it was noisy with a combination of road traffic and airline noise.

Worse to come was the bathroom. Very old and as I was on the top floor, had a sloping room, so almost impossible to take a shower properly.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fareastender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont St Peter
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

In searching for an overnight place to stay, came across this pleasant hotel a few km from Schiphol. It's all that you would expect from a good Dutch hotel: clean, well appointed, but a bit quirky. This adds to its friendly charm. There's a pleasant terrace where a drink can be had and filing bar meals; breakfast the following day offered some of the best and freshest rolls and croisants that I've ever had.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnTiratsoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I stayed here while visiting a friend in the town. The staff were friendly enough but the room was unbelievably tired. Worn carpet, old paintwork and the bathroom suite was ancient. They also had a shampoo dispenser on the outside of the shower so you had to step out to use it. Very odd. I also could not turn the heating off in the room so it was very hot all the time. At £120 per night excluding breakfast I was not very impressed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RickyVilla32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
1.8 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
4.5 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
2.7 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel De Beurs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel De Beurs

Property: Hotel De Beurs
Address: Kruisweg 1007, 2131 CR Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel De Beurs 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We would like to wish you a warm welcome in our comfortable and cozy family hotel. On this website you can read all about our facilities and the area in which the hotel is located. Because a taste is often as fun as the experience itself! This hotel is situated right in the center of the North Holland Hoofddorp, ideally located a doorstep away from Amsterdam Schiphol Airport and with excellent connection to the main roads and public transport. Because of its ideal location in the outskirt, our hotel is also the ideal place to stay for your business trip and for trips in the region, such as a visit to Amsterdam, Haarlem or the bulb. Whether for one night before traveling by plane. We can even, if desired, drive to the airport with our luxury shuttle service. During an overnight stay in our hotel will lack nothing. Our rooms are equipped with all modern comforts, including free use of Wi-Fi. In the modern restaurant of our hotel you can enjoy a delicious breakfast, lunch or dinner. Are also the lounge bar, a cozy smoking bar and the sunny terrace at your disposal. You can also make free use of sports and wellness facilities, so you will relax after a busy day. Our hotel also features a spacious conference accommodation. Here you can meet in peace, organize a meeting or for example, celebrating a wedding or anniversary. Our professional and friendly staff will assist you in realizing your desires, both in planning and in implementation. We look forward to your visit and greet you like. Your host Hans de Jong Jr. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel De Beurs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing