We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean, modern, close to the airport, good reception staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Clean, modern, close to the airport, good reception staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

This hotel is modern, I stayed for one night on a layover. The hotel is large and has a corporate feeling to it, mornings and the evenings are busy at reception, with lots of people coming and going. I found the reception service very good. The room was large with a desk and internet, bed big, good pillows, TV with many channels with a clean new looking bathroom. I was quite impressed with the room. Breakfast has all the cold continental options and there is good coffee machine. The hotel does not have room service, but the reception does have a selection of local restaurant take away menus including Chinese, Thai, & Pizza. I choose what I wanted, Pizza and reception staff ordered for me. When the delivery came, I went down collected from the delivery guy and paid directly. This was easy. The hotel is close to the airport with shuttles every hr and close to the train station that goes to Amsterdam (5min walk from the hotel).
Note that the ticket machines at this train station (and most) take coins only and the hotel on the day had no coins (ticket approx 520euros RTN). So I had to go looking for euro coins, a little bit of a pain. Once on the train, Amsterdam is close approx 20min on the train. On the way back, I got the train to the airport and then caught the free shuttle bus to the hotel, because trains are more frequent from Amsterdam to the airport. If I was going to be in Amsterdam of any length of time, I would stay closer to the city, but for the layover this hotel it was really good, with nice reception staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AidanandLucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    328
    95
    28
    15
See reviews for
106
223
70
256
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
clarkesville, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Nice clean hotel, convenient to Schiphol Airport and trains. Good hot breakfast and other amenities at the hotel. Safe area, with free transportation to and from airport. Limited restaurants in area and rooms very small.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

It was beautiful. I took pictures of the room and reception areas to show to friends and family. I really loved the night I spent there and wish I could have stayed longer. The room was very fresh and clean and the quality of the bathroom products were excellent. The staff were just lovely, and so helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We were looking for a Hotel close to the airport and something that would not break the bank....We were very pleased with the location and the Hotel. It was close to the train and were able to get into Amsterdam very easily on the train. The shuttle service was get too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Super convenient to Schiphol with shuttle service and a top-notch staff. 5-minute walk to the Hoofddorp train station and about 10 minutes to lots of shopping and restaurant choices. I'm sure I'll be back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al-dough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This property opened in April 2013 and offers a nice alternative to the much pricier full-service Hilton hotels in and around Amsterdam. If you're a business traveler and Hilton loyalist, the price per night is easily justifiable on expense reports.

I checked in on the weekend and received excellent attention from the staff. It probably helped that the property was nearly empty! Internet was exceptionally fast, even for an international hotel -- I was pulling down close to 30Mbps on Wi-Fi alone, fast enough for me to watch a couple HD movies on Netflix through my VPN connection to the United States.

Breakfast was decidedly average, par for the course for Hampton properties, but certainly a step above nearly all continental breakfast offerings at U.S. hotels.

Once Monday rolled around, the hotel quickly filled up with guests. Sometime in the evening, the Internet connection inexplicably went out across the entire property. This lasted for over two whole days. The staff blamed the problem on KPN, but no one seemed particularly motivated to push KPN to deliver on its service contract and fix the issue quickly. Instead, a sign was placed at the front desk apologizing for the inconvenience. I watched the front desk for a 10-minute span one evening, and easily 70% of the questions they answered were related to the Internet being out. Hey guys, that should give you some idea of how highly most travelers prioritize that kind of thing.

Finding an open table at breakfast became a nightmare. The tour groups would come down at around 7:30, completely take over the eating area, then depart en masse 20 minutes later, leaving behind a disgusting array of used plates, dishes, napkins, glasses, and coffee mugs at nearly every table and bar seat. These would often sit for at least 15-20 minutes before housekeeping would clean them up. Those of us who ate breakfast later would often have to relocate used dishes to other tables just to clear out a place to eat.

The rooms themselves were very clean and neat, as befitting a new property. The hotel is located in a very quiet business park, and literally right across the street from the Hoofddorp railway station, so it's perfect for taking the train into the city for tourist-y activities. I just would have enjoyed my stay so much more if the hotel staff had proper hospitality training, including the courage to "throw your weight around" and get really assertive to provide the proper amenities to your guests.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank almaamulek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark W, Front Office Manager at Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for your review. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback, positive as well as constructive. Constructive feedback will help me to improve service and product on a constant base.

Thank you for staying at our hotel and sharing your comments with me. We will keep on the good work and I hope to welcome / see you soon again in our hotel.

Met vriendelijke groeten / Kind regards,
______________________________
Mark Welbers
Front Office & Reservations Manager
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in pristine condition - rooms are large and beds are super comfortable. Staff was attentive, gym is decent size for being a Hampton. Breakfast is plentiful and the overall atmosphere is warm and inviting. Location is 20 min from Centraal trains come every 30 minutes so if you can deal with planning ahead I say go for it. Disclaimer- we used points to stay here so it was definitely worth it not sure what the rates are normally.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
0.6 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2.5 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
0.2 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol

Property: Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Address: Neptunusstraat 1, 2132 JA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're catching a flight, you're here to discover Amsterdam, The Hague or Haarlem or you're on business nearby, count on Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol for a modern, comfortable base close to it all. Our Amsterdam hotel is located just five minutes from the airport and a 20 minute train ride from Amsterdam's city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing