We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Review by a Londoner” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of I Am Hotel Amsterdam Airport

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hoofddorp
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
I Am Hotel Amsterdam Airport
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Review by a Londoner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

I recently stayed at the I Am Hotel and overall was not terribly impressed. Although the hotel decor is sleek and modern, the actual check-in and reception was located in a different hotel and what seemed like a different building. The staff were moderately friendly. I was shocked that there was only one ironing board available in the whole hotel and had to wait an hour before one could be sent to my room. Given that I was only in Amsterdam for one night and had a taxi waiting downstairs this was an unecessary hindrance. I then had to take my clothes to reception, obtain the keys to a generic laundry room and iron my clothes there before returning to my room. I travel for business and stay in good quality hotels all over Europe and the US so this was an annoying experience. The staff could have been more approachable and friendly. However, on the upside the rooms were excellent and very modern and welcoming. The hotel is far from the town centre and the cost of the taxi to and from central Amsterdam was another negative factor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    28
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
21
4
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
98 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

I have stayed at I Am Hotel for one night on a business trip to Amsterdam. I was going to have meetings at the airport and while this is not a Airport Hotel, it is nearby and offer a shuttle service to and from the airport. The reception of the hotel is not that cosy (a bit old-fashioned) but the rooms are quite modern and comfortable. This was a strange week (right before the queens day) and all hotels were pretty packed - maybe because of this the price (150€+) was this high. This is not a hotel for this kind of price tag

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PepitoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in hotel A4 on 15th December 2012. I have stayed in this hotel earlier as well. Though this hotel is away from the city but I found it very quiet and comfortable. Rooms are very clean with all amenities like free Wi-Fi. I did not get chance to eat in the Restaurant, so have no idea about the quality of food. A free shuttle to and from the airport after every 40 min. This hotel is the best bet for those who want to stay away from city noise and have early morning flights.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DahiyaR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed at the back-site, free view. Quit and surprisingly not that many noise from motorway and airport.
Only issue with noisy airco, which cannot switched off.
Rooms are spacious and comfortable, breakfast in van der Valk hotel had a big variety.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for a layover. Free transfer to and from airport. Rooms were new, modern, and so beautiful. We booked online, last minute, just to have a place to sleep and we were so happy that we did. It was a nice treat to sleep in a luxurious bed after spending all of our nights in one hostel after another. The price was great and the staff were so kind. We had a late night flight the next day but we were told we could store our luggage and use the spa for the day even though we were officially checked out...the spa is fantastic. We only wish we could have stayed longer. We skipped the breakfast...looked nice, but was pricy. Across the street is a great food court...nice Dutch market style restaurant upstairs. Excellent food and prices. If there was an easy way to get into he city, this would be our go to place for any future visit to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Check out Vincent's ear on the artwork in your room...clever. The lobby artwork has some quirky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverVikingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

This hotel is part of the Van Der Valk A4/Schiphol hotel. It's comfortable, directly at the motorway, near the airport and brand new. Lot's of facilities, comfortable, nice restaurant and bar, and a free shuttle from/to the airport. Free wifi. Spacious rooms with balcony.

Another restaurant within walking distance too, as well as a KFC and a big 24hr service station for goodies.

Large parking, which is payable. Book a Park/Fly arrangement to save parking costs!

Bad: No coffee/tea and no fridge in the room, waiting times at reception (1 reception for the two big hotels)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RolandBNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Location is more to travel by schipol than to visit the city!
But this hotel is just great for the value!
Opening was in september so everything is new and clean!
Bed are amazing for Holland!
Design is very nice based on dutch stories....its really nice.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissAdeline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
0.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
2.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2.6 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
2.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to I Am Hotel Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about I Am Hotel Amsterdam Airport

Property: I Am Hotel Amsterdam Airport
Address: Rijksweg A4 nr 3, 2132 MA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — I Am Hotel Amsterdam Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
I Am The hotel is light and bright with a lobby designed to relax. Forget boring and traditional and experience a new kind of hotel.The I Am Amsterdam hotel is for those who seek a place with• space to live your life• rooms to relax and enjoy• bedding to dream your dreams.Experience the meaning of the new overnight: "Hip, contemporary, trendy, spacious and light." with award winning beds for the perfect night.Be surprised by the space and experience the luxury feeling. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing