We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Ok hotel but really far from Amsterdam city” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ok hotel but really far from Amsterdam city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is one of the cheapest option in Amsterdam but you need to consider what are your expectations.We felt really misguided because the hotels page & all the review I've read did say that you need to take a shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel but no one taught to mention that it is actually 2 SHUTTLE BUSES YOU NEED TO TAKE TO GET TO THIS HOTEL.So the minimum is 1 hour to get into the city in case all buses& the train is in time.When we arrived to the hotel we asked the gentleman at the reception if there's any other way to get into the city he wasn't very helpful,however later on when we had any other questions he helped us.
The rooms were ok not extremely clean but fine for 3 days.We didn't take breakfast as it was overpriced for our budget-we had breakfast at the airport & McDonalds as the second shuttle was late half an hour.No shops/restaurants in the area.Beds were really comfortable and our room was really quiet.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Ramona M,

Whilst we are pleased with the good comments, we really value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. We are sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we always strive for excellence in customer service, we are keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. We have taken note of your comments and have shared these with our management team for further development.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    88
    81
    36
    22
See reviews for
30
91
33
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
chandigarh
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

On my way back from Rabobank World Cup Hockey Tournament in the Hague, I chose to spend a night in the vicinity of Amsterdam Schiphol area. Quiet, neat and clean this hotel was an excellent transit point. With Wi Fi facilities, hotel has also set aside a computer with internet facilities in the lobby for free use by guests. Rooms are excellent. Staff is cooperative and helpful. Bar at the Reception and adjoining restaurant on the ground floor are run well by the hospitable staff. It was so relaxing that I decided not to go out the whole day though the Hotel has an excellent half an hour free shuttle service to Schiphol from where one can take trains to any part of Amsterdam or rest of the Netherlands.

Room Tip: Located in quiet zone, rooms are comforting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prabhjot416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear prabhjot416,

Dear guest,

Firstly, we wish to take this opportunity and thank you for your time and effort to inform us about your experience during your stay at the Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

My friend and I were trying to travel on a tight budget so weren't expecting such a nice hotel for what we had paid!

We had got in several hours before check in, and due to the lack of sleep we got on the coach (which dropped us in central Amsterdam at 6am) we just wanted to check in and crash. The staff were incredibly nice and let us nap in their reception until a room was ready for us, at 12, so 2 hours before check ins start!

The rooms were clean and spacious and a safe was provided which was helpful. The only downfall really was how far it was from central Amsterdam, though not really the hotels fault, I guess. It was a cheap tram ride that lasted roughly about 20mins to half an hour.

Overall would definitely recommend this place, actually hoping to go back there in a few weeks myself!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear KatieFry,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us at the Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a great experience at our hotel.

We are pleased to find out that you loved your stay and that the staff contributed to a better stay! The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to provide an excellent service by trying our hardest to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again in a few weeks!

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
202 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Very decent priced hotel, we came in late (22:30) staff was friendly and helpful. Room is clean decent and perfect price/quality balanced. Complimentary coffee/tea is included!

However the sports field next to the hotel had a party that night and with loud music it kept us awake till 3 AM. Of course the hotel could not help this but it was a bad start for our holiday! We had to catch a early flight so that is why we booked a hotel near the airport in the first place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxPeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Firstly, we wish to take this opportunity and thank you for your time and effort to inform us about your experience during your stay at the Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

However, we deeply regret any inconvenience it may has caused you regarding the party from the sports field. We do hope you are enjoying your vacation and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

With sincere regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

She is so polite, and the greatest cutomer service i have seen anywhere in the world. She helped us checking in early, stored our luggage, and helped us a lot.
Awesome service, great hotel, best for the price. I will definitely stay again. And recommend strongly. The room has fridge, electric cattle, safe, nice bathrooms, etc.

Room Tip: Ist floor is ideal, since the second floor doesnt have an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shahraam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you very much for sharing your experience with us. We highly value opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

Thank you again for your review and we are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here on a short break to amsterdam for 4 nights. We were on a budget so chose this hotel as it was very cheap. The main reason for the visit was to go to Amsterdam every day and explore the city. The room was nice, basic and quite large with working tv with couple of english channels on. The bathroom was clean but flooded a bit when you ran a shower! You have to get shuttle bus from the airport to the hotel which are pretty regular, most we had to wait was maybe 25 mins once. Its 10 mins to the first hotel, where you change to another shuttle bus and then its 10 mins again to this hotel. Probably overall a 15/10 minute journey to/from airport didn't feel like a long journey and the drivers were really friendly. Also if you have an early morning flight don't worry as the first shuttle bus was like 5.45 or 6am which we got to the airport.
To get into Amsterdam you have to get the shuttle busses to the airport then purchase a train ticket 4,50 euro single to Amsterdam central then go down to the platform and get the train. This takes around 20 minutes to reach the city.
The only complaint I have about the trip is that there were repairs going on the train line into amsterdam from the airport so we had to get a bus to sloterdijk station then get a train from there to the city which made getting to amsterdam a pain and took a lot longer.
I've learnt that when coming again, i will book way in advance as all the central amsterdam hotels were very expensive, hence choosing this one, however getting busses and trains just to get to the centre each day wasn't practical and meant we had to plan our nights and days around the public transport etc. For a short stay i would recommend this, it was a nice hotel, just the location wasn't great for what we needed.
Also there is a restaurant here to eat in at night but it seemed to just be expensive steak and burgers so we actually brought food back from the days in amsterdam or went to the supermarket in the airport and bought food there which was a lot cheaper, thats the only thing i'd say they could improve on :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Millie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel. We are pleased to find out that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We hope you had a nice stay in Amsterdam. I recommend you to book early indeed, because then the prices are very reasonable.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Convenient to the airport with free shuttle bus to and from Schiphol Airport once every half hour for the 10 minute ride. The hotel room was very basic but clean and the staff was efficient. Would recommend it if you have an early morning flight.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbo004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BastionHotelGroep, Eigenaar at Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear guest,

We want to thank you very much for your stay at Bastion Hotel Schiphol/Hoofddorp . We are pleased to see that you have enjoyed the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities and all of this you have translated in a nice review!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team of the Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
2.9 mi away
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel
2.9 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2.9 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2.1 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
5.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp

Property: Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp
Address: Adrianahoeve 8, 2131 MN Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotels stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility: Because of its location along the road around Hoofddorp, and its location near the A4, makes this hotel ideal for guest who have to travel to Schiphol. By car this airport can be reached within 20 minutes, but the hotel also offers a free shuttle service from en to Schiphol. The shuttle departs from platform A9/13. Please inform at the hotel for the exact time schedule. The centre of the young and cozy Hoofddorp is well accessible the same for het Haarlemmermeersen Bos. Rooms: The 80 comfortable rooms in the hotel are equipped with two twin beds, a television, a telephone, a modem, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. Food & Beverage: At Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 till 09.00 and in weekends from 07.00 till 10.30. the atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 till 23.00 for lunch and diner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing