We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inexpensive Pit-stop near Schipol that ticks all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
bangalore, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Inexpensive Pit-stop near Schipol that ticks all the boxes”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Located about 10 km from Schipol, Bastion Hotel offers everything that one requires in an overnight pit-stop, in between busy work days:
i) decent breakfast
ii) very clean, decent sized rooms (largish for Europe)
iii) decent food
iv) considerate service.
Nothing is excellent except for the value which was amazing - Euro 74 including breakfast - can't be beat.

Room Tip: Insist on rooms on the ground floor (Ist floor in US terminology) as the hotel does not have an elev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firstcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    106
    90
    41
    25
See reviews for
35
106
36
84
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

this hotel is in my view an average hotel, the staff are very pleasant and very helpful they give good advice and seem to work long hours.The hotel is about 3km away from the airport on the edge of a small town this can be a problem because most of the large cities such as Amsterdam, haarlem and the hague are reached by train from the airport ,however there is a regular free shuttle to and from the airport which picks up and drops off at the hotel entrance.the rooms in the hotel are quite small with ensuite facilities and are kept clean and tidy there is a kettle and fridge in the room and tea/coffee provided for brewing up.The room we stayed in seemed to be opposite the one that staff used to take their breaks in so there was a door opening and banging shut quite regularly, the beds were long and not bad comfort wise, again these were clean and tidy, The rooms have a tv in them.....only small but not a problem for a short stay,outside the hotel is a motorway to various destinations but it is far enough away not to be a problem with traffic noise, there didn't seem to be many local facilities such as pubs and restaraunts but there is a tennis centre right next door to the hotel.I would recommend this hotel to people that are not bothered about a bit of travel disruption or to those who prefer a bit of peace and quiet away from the city centres.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the one that staff use for their breaks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kev1262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our employees in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you can accept my apologies.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Basic and OK as an overnight location. However, beware the shuttle. There is a two stage shuttle from the Bastion to the Best Western and then a change to get to Schiphol. Twice in three trips I ended up with a wait of 20 minutes+ at the connection so a trip that you would think would take 12-15 minutes, took 45+. Probably safer and more reliable to take a public bus!
When I complained about it at reception, I was told that "Yes, it used to be good, but we need more written complaints". An unusual concept in staff complaint handling and customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobr666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our employees in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you can accept my apologies.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

This is a new hotel, next to the old Bastion/ Best Western near Schiphol and it improves little. Airport hotels run around the clock- people want to sleep, so silence/quiet is essential. Why then do hotels insist on wooden floors?? The guy above my room was moving his chair radomly every few minutes- it was like the proverbial left boot.....but continuously.....
Carpet works for me- it may give housekeeping a bit more work but it does keep the noise down!
On the plus side? Good windows- not only do they keep the aircraft at bay when closed but they actually open and the bathrooms are new- so they work better than the old Bastion!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our employees in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you can accept my apologies.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Bastion was selected as the only available and affordable accom near Schiphol, all others were booked. Was not prepared for "reserving" shuttle when departing hotel. No instruction. Comfortable sleep, not made for long stay or seasoned traveller. Front desk was curt and polite but not welcoming. Electronic front door is a bit discerning having to ring bell to be let in. Will not likely return if my other accom places become available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We chose this hotel to save money while visiting Amsterdam with my parents. The daily stay prive was good, and including free parking and wifi in the rooms. To get to Amsterdam proper, we took the hotel shuttle to the airport, which ran often and was easy to book (reservations suggested but not required), and took the train to Centraal Station. The cost of 4 return tickets Schipol Airport-Centraal Station made the stay a little less cost-saving than planned.

My biggest complaint is that it took two days to convince management that the cold water was not functioning in my parents' room; management tried to convince us we didn't know how to use the knobs correctly. Dissappointing, that.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rsteele15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our employees in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you can accept my apologies.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

The hotel is not bad for the room price and availability of free parking and wifi. Cleaning is also ok for a 3 stars hotel, close to the airport and to the nice town of Hoofddorp and also not far from the beach of Zandvoort and also from Amsterdam and Harlem. The breakfast is really too expensive for the price of 14 Euro a person. The reception personnel is really arrogant and give the impression to the guest of not being welcome to the hotel, of course if you ignore this, the hotel overall is ok, there is no lift so the place is not easily accessible to disabled people. Necessary is a car to get to the hotel, public transport is available, but the location is quite peripheral.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afnium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
2.9 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2.9 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
5.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
2.9 mi away
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp

Property: Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp
Address: Adrianahoeve 8, 2131 MN Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotels stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. For relaxation and a nice ending of the day guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an lcd television and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also has free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility: Because of its location along the road around Hoofddorp, and its location near the A4, makes this hotel ideal for guest who have to travel to Schiphol. By car this airport can be reached within 20 minutes, but the hotel also offers a free shuttle service from en to Schiphol. The shuttle departs from platform A9/13. Please inform at the hotel for the exact time schedule. The centre of the young and cozy Hoofddorp is well accessible the same for het Haarlemmermeersen Bos. Rooms: The 80 comfortable rooms in the hotel are equipped with two twin beds, a television, a telephone, a modem, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with a shower and toilet. Food & Beverage: At Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp guests can enjoy an extensive continental breakfast buffet, on weekdays from 06.00 till 09.00 and in weekends from 07.00 till 10.30. the atmospheric hotel is opened from 11.00 till 23.00 for lunch and diner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bastion Hotel Schiphol Hoofddorp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing