We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stop for an overnight layover”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect stop for an overnight layover”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on overnight stops both ways to and from Tanzania from New York. Both times, we found it a welcome oasis from two 8.5 hour back-to-back flights, with clean rooms, very friendly staff, pleasant restaurant, and a punctual free shuttle that took us to and from the airport (a 10 minute drive) every half hour. We paid less than $100 per night, and for that cost, we really couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NESunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Eigenaar at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.
As we can see you have experienced the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities of Bastion Hotel Groep and you have summarized it in a great review!

Thank you very much for that.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,018 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    343
    292
    148
    106
See reviews for
142
258
132
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bemidji, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We chose this hotel primarily based on location and price. We went with an option that did not include breakfast. For the significantly lower price, we could easily eat somewhere else cheaper.

The airport shuttle worked out very well. It travels to/from the airport every 30 minutes.

The room and bathroom were clean and comfortable.

The exercise room looked OK with an elliptical and treadmill, but it didn't appear to have any upper-body equipment.

Good value for the price.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank hikertrash1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.

Bastion stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. Offering free Wi-Fi and a free shuttle service are good examples of this.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Clean room but not hot water. Bar no good service and not clean. Expensive prices for coffee and water. Nice transfer to airport every 30 minutes. Generally is an economic hotel but I will not visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Ioannis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.

We would like to apologize for the fact that you had no hot water in your room and the service wasn't what you expected it to be. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

The Bastion Hotel Groep wants to offer each guest personal hospitality and a high level of service.

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

This was a perfect hotel to stay at during a long layover. It is right by the airport, has a free shuttle that will take you there, and you can catch a train to the main city from the airport. Our room was very clean and even though we had booked just one, we got upgraded to a 2 room suite with a kitchen because ours wasn't ready or something (there were only 2 of us so it was a bit excessive but still nice!). Overall very clean rooms and a great price - I believe it was around 60 US dollars, which for a big European city, is a great bang for buck.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.
As we can see you have experienced the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities of Best Western and you have summarized it in a great review!

Thank you very much for that.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

So you get to the front desk after standing in the freezing cold at the airport for 45 minutes waiting on the shuttle (that runs every 30 minutes) and they have to stop checking you in to take phone calls and people who just walk up to complain about one problem or another. Finally after you fill out your life history to join the required "club" for Bastion, and get your room card, you walk down a hallway that smells like an ashtray with all rooms saying "non-smoking" on the door. When entering the room the 26C (78F) heat pours out. It's literally 4C outside and I have the air conditioner on to keep from sweating. Oh, I've attached a photo of the hallway. I hope there isn't an emergency and I don't need to get out the exit at the end of the hall because of all the laundry carts in the way. I won't stay here again or recommend it. I've already booked another hotel for when I transit back through Amsterdam on the way home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bintheloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear guest,

We have received your review regarding the Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel on Tripadvisor.

First of all we would like to apologize for the fact that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

We are very sorry to hear that the service of the staff was not what it should be and that the hotel overall did not meet your expectations.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

The Bastion Hotel Groep wants to offer each guest personal hospitality and a high level of service.

We are truly sorry and we hope you can accept our apologies.

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for three nights while on a weekend away with my dad and friends.
Pro's: friendly, great shuttle service, rooms clean enough, next to mcdonalds, cheap, comfortable,nice breakfast, clean pool area.
Cons: steam room was noisy and Luke warm (faulty?) , no instructions to work safe.
All in all was a nice stay. Would def use again

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for the review which you have posted on Tripadvisor.
As we can see you have experienced the personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities of Bastion Hotel Groep and you have summarized it in a great review!

Thank you very much for that.

For the next time you have an overnight stay at an hotel, please inform the employees about problems or complaints. They are willing to help you and solve the problems!

We are looking forward to welcome you again in one of our hotels!

With kind regards,

Team Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We recently stayed at the Best Western Amsterdam Airport for one night to catch an early flight. While we weren't expecting a 5 star experience, we certainly expected a non-smoking room. Especially since the hotel boasts of being a non-smoking property. However, when we entered our room, we were shocked by the strong smell of smoke. It was in the carpet, drapes, and bed. We immediately called the front desk expecting we would be offered a new room. No such luck. The employee showed up at the door with a can of air freshener. Needless to say we ended up smelling smoke and Summer Breeze. Furthermore, the service was unprofessional. We would not stay there again. Wish we had stayed at the Sheraton instead. More expensive but a better experience.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobo75007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear guest,

We have received your review regarding the Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel on Tripadvisor.

First of all we would like to apologize for the fact that the hotel did not meet your expectations.

We are very sorry to hear that the service of the staff was not what it should be. We acknowledge that a good service from the staff contributes to a pleasant stay in the hotel. The staff should have offered you another room where you could enjoy the room which you had expected.

Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

The Bastion Hotel Groep wants to offer each guest personal hospitality and a high level of service.

We are truly sorry and we hope you can accept our apologies.

With kind regards,

Bastion Hotel Groep
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
0.0 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Amedia Amsterdam Airport
6.5 mi away
Best Western Premier Hotel Couture
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel

Property: Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel
Address: Vuursteen 1, 2132 LZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel is a luxurious four star hotel that lives up to the Best Western standards. The hotel stands for personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. The hotel offers 24-hour front office, comfortable hotel rooms and an a la carte restaurant. Guests are welcome in our cozy hotel bar and special smoking lounge. The smoking lounge provides a LCD television screen with sports channels, air conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. Furthermore, the hotel offers free use of its fitness and swimming pool facilities available for all hotel guests, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. A computer is available at the lobby for hotel guests to use at no additional costs. The hotel is situated along the A4, across Schiphol Airport. By car, Schiphol Airport can be reached within seven minutes. Cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible. For the business traveler, Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel is ideally located near several business centers. Location / accessibility The hotel is situated along the A4, across airport Schiphol. The airport can be reached within seven minutes by car. A lot of attraction cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible. For business guests, the Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel is ideal. Airport Schiphol and a lot of business centres in Amsterdam are easy accessible from the hotel. Rooms The hotel offers 190 comfortable deluxe rooms and 5 Quads. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, modem, working desk, safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Quads are more spacious and additionally offer a kitchenette and a sleeping sofa. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and in weekends from 7:00 till10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 Hrs. Schiphol Airport Shuttle Service Our free shuttle bus departs from the hotel to Schiphol Airport every 30 minutes; on the whole and on the half hour. The first bus departs at 6.00 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.30 P.M. Our free shuttle bus departs from Schiphol Airport to the hotel every 30 minutes; quarter to and quarter past the hour. The first bus departs at 6.15 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.45 P.M. You may find our shuttle bus at Schiphol Airport at the area for hotel shuttle services at platform A9, located directly outside the arrivals hall. This bus may be recognized with the names Best Western Airport & Bastion Hotel stated on its side. A reservation is not required for the shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. A reservation is required for the shuttle service from the hotel to the airport and can be made at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel Hoofddorp
Best Western Hotel Hoofddorp
Best Western Hoofddorp
Hoofddorp Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing