We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail would make the difference..... and please don't say your sorry without action”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel previously and it was good, not brilliant but worth the budget price. So this time was a disappointment when the staff just couldn't get it right. The annoying thing is that the facilities are great - it's all there but not served up correctly.
On arrival they'd added the cost of breakfast to our quoted price (at 14 euros each per morning) - I think not. McDonalds do it for 5 euros just across the car park.
Our first and only meal in the restaurant resulted in undercooked pork and cold spinach (we told the waiter and he took it back - but it never came out again), when we complained he said he'd "taken 50% off the wine". Then he walked off and left us without the option for desert. That crap meal left us hungry and cost me 47 Euros.
The room was stone cold when we got in - someone had turned the radiator off. Once we turned that back on it was toasty (just as well as it was snowing outside - for 2 days).
My wife tried the swimming pool, the lights were off and the water cold, so she mentioned it to the staff and they put the lights on. We tried the pool again the following day and the temperature was still too low, just a couple of degrees would make it bearable, there doesn't seem to be anyone in charge of it or the gym. I tried the gym, the treadmill didn't work. I tried the steam room, it didn't work. Complained. Tried the following day - daylight - lights are on, pools cold, steam room producing less steam than the kettle at the Hilton, but eventually struggled up to sufficient heat to warm me from a dip in the cold pool.
We used the shuttle bus to get back and forth to the airport/train station. Out of six journeys we got turned away three times due to overcrowding. On the worst one we got turned away twice at the airport in the evening on consecutive buses because there were twice as many guests as seats and the bus still didn't come more frequently. We eventually (cheekily) got the NH Hotel bus and walked over the road (after having a guilty drink in their bar). The final straw was the last journey - when we had reserved seats (as advised) but still didn't get a bus and one of the drivers stormed off with no passengers .........
Don't bother filling out the online feedback form - they just email saying exactly the same as they've put at the bottom of each of the poor ratings below but I guess they'e got a captive audience of sorts so they can get away with ignoring the details.

Room Tip: Having been there twice I think they're all the same. Ask them to turn the heating on before you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MisterBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

633 - 639 of 1,131 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hotel is one of the better hotels I have stayed at. The location is outstanding with its proximity to the Schiphol airport. They have a shuttle that runs every half hour and the shuttle drivers are very nice. They are easy to strike up a conversation with which is a first for shuttle drivers in my experience. The staff at the front desk is incredibly friendly and they will always help you out. The rooms are very comfortable although mine was quite cold no matter how warm I set the thermostat. Other than that very minor detail, my stay was absolutely outstanding.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

There was certainly an inconsistency in booking this hotel. Best Western is a solid name yet the price you pay at this hotel is quite inexpensive. But here is my recent experience. This establishment is not typical of the Best Western name. The shuttle is too small for the demand and the front desk staff is over taxed. Service is quite poor. I found my room with no towels. I called the front desk and the woman said she would have them delivered. I called back after 40 minutes. She said come down and get them. I went down to the front desk and they did not have them, but promise they would bring them up. After 30 minutes, no towels. I went to the exercise room to get towels and called to tell them forget delivery. I suppose this is not a grand atrocity but, I prefer my hotel room with towels. So I will not return here. Ever.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MEATBALLMANNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I wanted to stay near the airport for a night and stayed there. It is a very nice and clean place and the staff was very friendly. The shuttle service was good, every ~30 minutes, as stated on their web site. Price was very good as compared to similar hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esgee5366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

First off, the shuttle was late, like three or four shuttles for the other airport hotels came by before the tiny one from Best Western. Having waited over 20 minutes, there were twice as many people as seats, so I didn't make the cut. Driver promised another van some time real soon... maybe. Ended up taking a cab- 15 euro fare but "so sorry, I have no change," from the driver- cost me 20 euros for what was supposed to be a hotel courtesy.

Checked in- my prepaid hotel reservation somehow didn't include the 5+ euro tourist tax. Made the reservation through Delta so maybe they're the ones screwed that up.

Finally got to my room after 90+ minutes for what should have taken 25-30: prison construction is all that came to mind. Dingy hallways, multiple security points requiring use of the "key," and the room tiny plastered-over concrete blocks.

I'd never recommend this place to anymore no matter what the price.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Conveniently located close to Schiphol airport, this hotel has all basic necessities.
The beds are twin sized.
Not bad, especially, taking into consideration the rate, convenience and proximity to Schiphol airport.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaribbeanExperienced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013
Google Translation

Geachte gast,

Hartelijk dank voor uw opmerkingen die u heeft geschreven op Tripadvisor. Dergelijke opmerkingen steunen mij en mijn collega’s in het geven van een goede service aan onze gewaardeerde gasten. Wij trachten altijd de verwachtingen te overtreffen van onze gast. Ik hoop u in de toekomst wederom te mogen begroeten bij Bastion Hotelgroep.

Met vriendelijke groeten,
Maik Willems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Must say I got the hump with this hotel. Airport location is handy but bus only comes every half hour. Little help from the driver, just got in and away we went.... eventually. Check in was appalling, simply not enough staff and not well organised. Was asked to sign for double the price I had booked at as well which did not happen. The guy that gave me the paperwork (manager) decided to go and do something else half way through the process leaving me without anyone to complete the process. Needed local info to pick up car from somewhere about 10 mins walk away… nobody had a clue or was willing to engage. Great!!! Tried again 3 times to get help but front desk overwhelmed with check ins. Just gave up. Room was average – standard airport hotel and waaay too warm. Devoid of character and everything screwed down or nailed down (e.g. TV, all lamps, etc)! Check out was just as disasterous. Went for a long walk around and your really are in the middle of nowhere here…. Nothing else around apart from a couple of other hotels, a MacDonalds and a gas station / convenience store about ½ mile away. Hoofdorp the airport town is about 3.5 km away but the route there is not exactly pedestrian friendly!!! Hotel bar was pretty small and very slow / poorly staffed as well so gave up on that idea too and went to bed. Hotel pool was tiny and unusable. I wouldn’t stay here again everl. If you want a cheap deal then go for it but otherwise, give this place a major body swerve. Staff were friendly - although there were simply not enough of them to be able to be helpful!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craigie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013
Google Translation

Geachte gast,

Hartelijk dank voor uw opmerkingen die u heeft geschreven op Tripadvisor. Helaas hebben wij niet voldaan aan uw verwachtingen. Ik bied hiervoor mijn verontschuldigingen aan en verzeker u ervan dat uw opmerkingen zullen worden mee genomen in de plannen. Wij nemen uw opmerkingen zeer serieus en ik hoop dan ook dat u mijn excuses accepteert .

Met vriendelijke groeten,
Maik Willems

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
3.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
0.0 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport
3.6 mi away
Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel

Address: Vuursteen 1, 2132 LZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range: $70 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel is a luxurious four star hotel that lives up to the Best Western standards. The hotel stands for personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. The hotel offers 24-hour front office, comfortable hotel rooms and an a la carte restaurant. Guests are welcome in our cozy hotel bar and special smoking lounge. The smoking lounge provides a LCD television screen with sports channels, air conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. Furthermore, the hotel offers free use of its fitness and swimming pool facilities available for all hotel guests, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. A computer is available at the lobby for hotel guests to use at no additional costs. The hotel is situated along the A4, across Schiphol Airport. By car, Schiphol Airport can be reached within seven minutes. Cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible. For the business traveler, Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel is ideally located near several business centers. Location / accessibility The hotel is situated along the A4, across airport Schiphol. The airport can be reached within seven minutes by car. A lot of attraction cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible. For business guests, the Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel is ideal. Airport Schiphol and a lot of business centres in Amsterdam are easy accessible from the hotel. Rooms The hotel offers 190 comfortable deluxe rooms and 5 Quads. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, modem, working desk, safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Quads are more spacious and additionally offer a kitchenette and a sleeping sofa. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and in weekends from 7:00 till10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 Hrs. Schiphol Airport Shuttle Service Our free shuttle bus departs from the hotel to Schiphol Airport every 30 minutes; on the whole and on the half hour. The first bus departs at 6.00 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.30 P.M. Our free shuttle bus departs from Schiphol Airport to the hotel every 30 minutes; quarter to and quarter past the hour. The first bus departs at 6.15 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.45 P.M. You may find our shuttle bus at Schiphol Airport at the area for hotel shuttle services at platform A9, located directly outside the arrivals hall. This bus may be recognized with the names Best Western Airport & Bastion Hotel stated on its side. A reservation is not required for the shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. A reservation is required for the shuttle service from the hotel to the airport and can be made at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel Hoofddorp
Best Western Hotel Hoofddorp
Best Western Hoofddorp
Hoofddorp Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing