We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel
Ranked #12 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Caribbean
Level Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Old World charm”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Conveniently located close to Schiphol airport, this hotel has all basic necessities.
The beds are twin sized.
Not bad, especially, taking into consideration the rate, convenience and proximity to Schiphol airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaribbeanExperienced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Google Translation
Geachte gast,

Hartelijk dank voor uw opmerkingen die u heeft geschreven op Tripadvisor. Dergelijke opmerkingen steunen mij en mijn collega’s in het geven van een goede service aan onze gewaardeerde gasten. Wij trachten altijd de verwachtingen te overtreffen van onze gast. Ik hoop u in de toekomst wederom te mogen begroeten bij Bastion Hotelgroep.

Met vriendelijke groeten,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    350
    302
    152
    108
See reviews for
147
263
136
326
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, Surrey
Level Contributor
189 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Must say I got the hump with this hotel. Airport location is handy but bus only comes every half hour. Little help from the driver, just got in and away we went.... eventually. Check in was appalling, simply not enough staff and not well organised. Was asked to sign for double the price I had booked at as well which did not happen. The guy that gave me the paperwork (manager) decided to go and do something else half way through the process leaving me without anyone to complete the process. Needed local info to pick up car from somewhere about 10 mins walk away… nobody had a clue or was willing to engage. Great!!! Tried again 3 times to get help but front desk overwhelmed with check ins. Just gave up. Room was average – standard airport hotel and waaay too warm. Devoid of character and everything screwed down or nailed down (e.g. TV, all lamps, etc)! Check out was just as disasterous. Went for a long walk around and your really are in the middle of nowhere here…. Nothing else around apart from a couple of other hotels, a MacDonalds and a gas station / convenience store about ½ mile away. Hoofdorp the airport town is about 3.5 km away but the route there is not exactly pedestrian friendly!!! Hotel bar was pretty small and very slow / poorly staffed as well so gave up on that idea too and went to bed. Hotel pool was tiny and unusable. I wouldn’t stay here again everl. If you want a cheap deal then go for it but otherwise, give this place a major body swerve. Staff were friendly - although there were simply not enough of them to be able to be helpful!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Google Translation
Geachte gast,

Hartelijk dank voor uw opmerkingen die u heeft geschreven op Tripadvisor. Helaas hebben wij niet voldaan aan uw verwachtingen. Ik bied hiervoor mijn verontschuldigingen aan en verzeker u ervan dat uw opmerkingen zullen worden mee genomen in de plannen. Wij nemen uw opmerkingen zeer serieus en ik hoop dan ook dat u mijn excuses accepteert .

Met vriendelijke groeten,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The room was spacious enough for 1 night. The free shuttle was a godsend as we had to be at the airport very early on a Sunday morning. The bed was very comfortable and there was a decent shower and bath. Overall what you would expect from a pretty cheap short stay hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Poppyycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Google Translation
Geachte gast,

Hartelijk dank voor uw opmerkingen die u heeft geschreven op Tripadvisor. Dergelijke opmerkingen steunen mij en mijn collega’s in het geven van een goede service aan onze gewaardeerde gasten. Wij trachten altijd de verwachtingen te overtreffen van onze gast. Ik hoop u in de toekomst wederom te mogen begroeten bij Bastion Hotelgroep.

Met vriendelijke groeten,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The free shuttle stops at 1130pm, so, you cannot use this as a base to experience the nightlife of amsterdam. The rooms are rather sparse, my phone did not work. Also, the cllimate is difficult to manage. On the plus side, there is a 24 hour McDonalds that shares the hotel parking lot.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank flyersfan252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Hotel has construction right outside and has a different name. Check in took a long time and we were finally given a smelly smoking room (we had asked for non smoking). Exchanged the room immediately for a non smoking room, which took another ten minutes. We had asked for one large bed, but got two smaller ones, which apparently is the only option in this hotel.
You'd think flight check in would be simple considering computer and printer in the lobby but alas, wrong again. Printer is not connected and computer needed to be rebooted twice to work. Staff suggested we email them the boarding passes but computer does not allow to save to pdf, to email attachments and even cut/paste removed barcode. Staff were completely ill equipped to help. After an hour, we gave up, and did flight check in from our own computer and emailed to front desk.
The only good points-there was a McDonalds close by and if you got your rental from Thrifty so called airport location, that is very closeby.
Never, never again...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Danidina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This place works for an overnight but that's about it. If you want to see Amsterdam real cheap I suppose you could stay here and take the airport train into town.

Room was large and clean, but was freezing cold when I got to it.

The restaurant in the hotel was really nice for a hotel restaurant. I had Dutch stew which was good. I paid the waiter in Euros and much to my surprise the next morning at checkout the tab was on my room bill. I forgot to grab the receipt from the table so I got stuck with paying twice. I was not a happy camper but lesson learned I guess.

The free shuttle service to the airport was excellent. It was less frequent than some of the surrounding hotels but I can live with that.

Overall not bad.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Pyow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathedral City, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel between connecting flights at Schipol. The staff was friendly but not experienced enough to properly set a wake up call. Thankfully I always program an alarm on my phone, so disaster was averted. The property is very old (circa mid-1980s) and the room decor needs refreshing in the worst way. That said, it was very clean, cozy and came with free high speed wifi, which was very fast. The airport shuttle is frequent and the location is good...if all you need is a good nights rest between flights, this hotel fits the bill nicely.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank OnePassPlatinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
0.0 mi away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Airport
0.0 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
3.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
1.9 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel

Property: Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel
Address: Vuursteen 1, 2132 LZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel is a luxurious four star hotel that lives up to the Best Western standards. The hotel stands for personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive price. The hotel offers 24-hour front office, comfortable hotel rooms and an a la carte restaurant. Guests are welcome in our cozy hotel bar and special smoking lounge. The smoking lounge provides a LCD television screen with sports channels, air conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. Furthermore, the hotel offers free use of its fitness and swimming pool facilities available for all hotel guests, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. A computer is available at the lobby for hotel guests to use at no additional costs. The hotel is situated along the A4, across Schiphol Airport. By car, Schiphol Airport can be reached within seven minutes. Cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible. For the business traveler, Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel is ideally located near several business centers. Location / accessibility The hotel is situated along the A4, across airport Schiphol. The airport can be reached within seven minutes by car. A lot of attraction cities like Zaanstad, Haarlem and Leiden are well accessible. For business guests, the Best Western Amsterdam Airport hotel is ideal. Airport Schiphol and a lot of business centres in Amsterdam are easy accessible from the hotel. Rooms The hotel offers 190 comfortable deluxe rooms and 5 Quads. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, modem, working desk, safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The Quads are more spacious and additionally offer a kitchenette and a sleeping sofa. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 6:00 till 9:00 hrs and in weekends from 7:00 till10:30 hrs. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 till 23:00 hrs for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open till 23.30 Hrs. Schiphol Airport Shuttle Service Our free shuttle bus departs from the hotel to Schiphol Airport every 30 minutes; on the whole and on the half hour. The first bus departs at 6.00 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.30 P.M. Our free shuttle bus departs from Schiphol Airport to the hotel every 30 minutes; quarter to and quarter past the hour. The first bus departs at 6.15 A.M. And the last bus departs at 11.45 P.M. You may find our shuttle bus at Schiphol Airport at the area for hotel shuttle services at platform A9, located directly outside the arrivals hall. This bus may be recognized with the names Best Western Airport & Bastion Hotel stated on its side. A reservation is not required for the shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. A reservation is required for the shuttle service from the hotel to the airport and can be made at the reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Amsterdam Airport Hotel Hoofddorp
Best Western Hotel Hoofddorp
Best Western Hoofddorp
Hoofddorp Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing