We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Ok for business” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
GreenLeadersSilver level
Warwick
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ok for business”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Ok if you're travelling on business. Stayed here for 4 nights on training. Training / meeting facilities very good. Still can be quite noisy with planes whilst in your room trying to rest.
Food not bad at all and very friendly staff, particularly in the restaurant and bar.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Scaramanga1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    537
    300
    124
    69
See reviews for
174
297
119
604
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

When I booked this hotel, it was solely because it was close to the airport. We were not expecting anything other than a basic airport hotel. Check in was very easy and staff very friendly. The room was bigger and cleaner than expected. The directions on the website from the airport are somewhat lacking. If you take the bus from the airport, it is the 2nd stop then go under the bridge towards the McDonald's sign. It is really easy to find using McDonald's as a landmark, otherwise the hotel is not visible from the bus stop.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tomt48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Hoofdorp is right outside Amsterdam Schiphol Airport. I needed a place to overnight and selected the NH. The rooms were clean and well appointed and the staff was friendly. There was plenty of toiletries. Hoofdorp is used for the overnighters and businesspeople as there are many businesses there so it can be a longer stay hotel. If you are going to be in the heart of Amsterdam, you should look for something in the heart of the city. For one night and leaving by midday, there is no better alternative. The free shuttle bus takes you from the airport and brings you back. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
190 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Arrived to check in at 11 at night and realised a slight problem.. I hadn't booked a room. At that time of night, they could have simply said "rack rate" but they didn't, which I really appreciated.
Rooms are spacious but slightly basic, the air con isn't great, but the staff are incredibly friendly.
The shuttle back to the airport is now free. Not at all bad.
Breakfast pricey and hot food limited, although they will do you an omelette if you ask.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swindoneric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ginevra
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

Very kind and punctual service, from the breakfast in the room to the reception, however just average room as quite old, thankfully big, with heating not working mid October. I called and got instructions, however it still did not heat no matter which program I would use, at 10 pm I did not want to get people in the room to check it so I just accepted it.
Breakfast and dinner a bit pricey for a 3star hotel but very good quality.
10 mins drive from the airport with free shuttle, far from the center if you go for visiting, ok to transit.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silvia_battocchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was expecting a typical airport hotel and was very pleasantly surprised by the quality of the room- not a 5 star but definitely a high 4. My room was spacious with tasteful decor, a large tub with lots of hot water, huge towels and decent citrus based toiletries. It was certainly extremely clean and the staff I had interactions with were all courteous and professional.
The wireless internet was strong, fast and reliable and I only heard one plane in the 24 hours I was there and it was not loud.
I did ask for the new building as I had read about differing experiences so perhaps the more disappointed reviewers were put elsewhere.
The wireless is free and I am also pleased to report the airport shuttle return fee has been revised and both ways are now FREE. There is also now a reservation system in place for the shuttle so you must book ahead for the return but this insures there is no longer any pushing and shoving for a seat and no one gets left behind.
Also a good tip - when waiting at the airport for the shuttle to the hotel, if the Best Western/Bastion shuttle bus comes first you can hop on that, as I did and it will take you a stones throw from the NH Schiphol next door, which will enable you to be the only person at the check in counter.
The only down side for me was the breakfast service - they only have 2 options - a 21euro set price or a 25 euro room service meal. They ask you at check in your preference and I opted out as there is fresh coffee (free) in the lobby all morning as well as instant in the room and decent restaurants at the airport serving breakfast. I had some fruit and nuts with me until I got back to the airport but there is also a McDonalds across the street. Hopefully in the future, if there are enough requests, they will start an a la carte breakfast menu in the hotel restaurant.
Otherwise it was all good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new building. Also the airport shuttle is now free both ways. Have free coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keepercoming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karmsund
Level Contributor
79 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a typical airport hotel. Though the rooms are rather old-fashioned and quite poorly cleaned, especially the bathroom (at least in my case).

We arrived late and just in time to have the buffet in the restaurant before it closed. The food was ok, but considering the price not worth it.

Check in was done fast and I received a code for the wifi without having to ask for it.

Since we had an early flight from AMS the next morning I went early for breakfast. What to say about the breakfast? Nothing really, just another plain hotel breakfast without any special treats.

Checking out was also fast and without any hick-ups.

We intended to take the airport shuttle bus to Schiphol. However the first and second one were filled up with groups of tourists, and by that time we actually realized that we were going to be late if we had to wait for yet another shuttle, hence had to take the first available taxi instead. So the shuttle bus arrangements did not turn to be a big success.

The best thing about this hotel is that the room I got had a really nice and comfortable bed, apart from that not much positive to say

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vibran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
1.9 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
2.6 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Property: NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Address: Kruisweg 495, 2132 NA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport is a four-star hotel conveniently located just ten minutes from the Amsterdam Schiphol Airport. This location offers great connections to the rest of the country by car and public transportation, as well as fast access to numerous tourist and business sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Hoofddorp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing