We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington
Level Contributor
150 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Okay place to stay”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We took a "Best of Europe" tour through Cosmos and this was the hotel we stayed at while in Amsterdam. It was an okay location to get to the center of Amsterdam by using the train at the airport, which the hotel had a free shuttle to/from. The only thing you have to be careful about on the free hotel shuttle is there is only room for 8 people in the bus, so sometimes you have to wait to get on the shuttle. They served a great breakfast that was included in our price. There was an in-room safe and an ice machine down the hall. Overall a good hotel although it was a bit older, but I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fishman620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    498
    655
    337
    137
    75
See reviews for
209
369
138
745
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Starting with a truculent and argumentative manager, via poor quality food to a dirty and dilapidated room, this has to be one of the worst hotel experiences in the Netherlands.

Avoid if you can, there a much much better places to stay just a few miles away from the airport

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
975 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 498 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Our KLM flight was cancelled and the airline put us up in this hotel. The lobby is attractive and looks new. The room was spacious but showed some age. The bathroom tiles were worn looking. The bed was comfortable. No fancy slim tv - the tv was an old fashioned box type.
All meals were buffet style. Though the food was simple, we did find it tasty. Dinner had two main dishes, a fish casserole and spaghetti bolognese. There was a salad bar and desserts and doughnuts. The coffee maker was a fancy one and you could make your own cappuccino. No one swept the crumbs from the dining room floor. Maybe because it was a weekend and they perhaps had fewer hands in the dining room.
It was what one would expect in an airport hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coellum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingoer, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

When I entered my room I was greatly supriced to see the room decorations in this, fairly expensive and old fashioned hotel. My room was filled up with heavy hanging spider webs all over the ceiling. Not really a great experience. I appreciate that I only need to be a few hours. This will definately not come into my file of great hotels to stay in, in the bigger cities.
And just for reference.......I ended up with another guys passport after check in in reception. Wow, that must not happen, so a bit to learn for the, polite and smiling receptionist.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
132 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Check-in was quick and friendly, although just about any other moment we walked past the reception their seemed to be people queuing.

The standard room was clean, yet with outdated furniture. The king size bed actually had two mattresses. This isn’t very comfortable at all. The bathroom (with bathtub and shower combination) was acceptable, though water temperature and pressure varied. Also here: a larger shower nowadays is much more appreciated than a shower/tub. Amenities where standard for NH.

Swimming pool and health club are acceptable but look more like a 1960’ Russian bathouse than anything else, moreover the majority of the lockers had no keys and there were no amenities nor towels. Also in order to get to the pool, one needs to go past the lobby.

The hotel offers a (paid) airport shuttle (mainly due to their third party offerings) for €5return. Nearby public transport is cheaper (€2 one way) and also travels very frequently.
We didn’t try the food options at the hotel, but the nearby Mc Donald’s seemed to do pretty well. Vending machines in the hotels offered soft drinks at relatively steep pricing (€3.50).

Sound Isolation is not 100% and one could clearly hear departing airplanes every two minutes up and until the last flight departed around 11 PM and arriving ones from 6AM.

I Booked this hotel through a third-party website and as such did not specifically chose this property, but I was looking for a cost-efficient stay. For the rate I paid (€47) there is not a lot to wish for. The hotel is clean, although a little outdated and offers a no-frills stay. The hotel does try to upsell a lot with different “packages”, but I am not sure the prices of those extra’s (€30+) are still in-line with the offerings of the property as a whole, as too many of the public spaces are outdated and service is merely OK.

When paying more (€80+) I would probably stay at CitizenM, when paying much more (€130+)Steinberger, Hilton or Sheraton are better options. For the price I paid this is an acceptable offering although how long regular guests are willing to accept the outdated feel remains the question.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRMARKV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I would never stay here again, beware!!! My handbag was stolen from under my table as my family ate breakfast! Shocked this could happen! There CCTV showed nothing conveniently! As I had to leave for my tour immediately, there were no follow up phonecalls or emails from them. Poor customer service! I had to chase them when I got home! Unsafe!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank renanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appenzell, Switzerland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed for one night. Typical NH hotel, old but clean, terrible internet connection, no flat screen TV. Quite silent as it is close to the runway. A lot of 'I cannot because I don't want to' like impossible for a coworker to order a cab at the front desk one day in advance or putting the shift rotation in the busiest time the day, when people want to check out. So no recommendation especial if you consider the price you pay for your stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lena0010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
1.9 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
1.0 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Property: NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Address: Kruisweg 495, 2132 NA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport is a four-star hotel conveniently located just ten minutes from the Amsterdam Schiphol Airport. This location offers great connections to the rest of the country by car and public transportation, as well as fast access to numerous tourist and business sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Hoofddorp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing