We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for last night in Amsterdam”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good choice for last night in Amsterdam”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night after 3 nights in the city due to an early AM flight. We caught the free shuttle bus which was about 5-10 min ride to the hotel. Upon arrival there was no wait to check in. The room itself was nice and clean although a bit dated. The bathroom was large with a separate tub and shower. We had a king size bed which was very comfortable. The only complaints about the room was the old tube TV and the lights in the bathroom went out.
We were very excited to use the pool and hot tub, however were quite disappointed as the hot tub was rather cool and the sauna did not work at all. The pool was nice as was the steam room.
There is not much for food choices (McDonalds next door) unless want to eat at the hotel. When we went to check out we were told that there was a 5 Euro charge per person for the shuttle back to the airport. When we booked with Expedia it said the shuttle was complimentary. Thankfully we had printed off our booking which showed there was free. We showed the reception who did eventually give the tickets at no charge.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    677
    346
    140
    78
See reviews for
231
390
144
756
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at the NH hotel for 3 nights and it was quite a good experience. The rooms were clean and the service very good. The noise of planes taking off doesn't really come through. They have a small gym, a tiny swimming pool, sauna etc. The tennis court wasn't open during our stay, but there are a couple of squash courts which were open.

Now, the bad stuff: The parking costs 18€ per day and we were even charged 5€ per person for the airport shuttle which was supposed to be free. The last shuttle leaves at 11:45pm from the airport, so we had to take the airport taxi a couple of times which costs around 15€. The reception is crowded most of the time as they don't have enough staff to attend to the guests.

Overall, it's just a standard airport hotel. The prices were quite good as well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mateo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed overnight during the start of a Cosmos tour on March 30 with my wife and young daughter. Our room was nice and clean. Location was not in the center of town but we were on tour and needed the hotel just for the night. They said though that it was easy to take public transport to town from the hotel. Did not really have time to interact with any staff to know how efficient they are. Internet was free with adequate speed for emails.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We staty 2 night . Neer AirPort , beautifuĺ rooms good location Amazing service , room Věry clean and good ,come back again.we enjoyed the hotel,the hotel excellentt friendly staff.good location for peace and quiet.,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monji R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed in another hotel in Amsterdam while touring and just stayed here one night. Rather than having to go back to the hotel in Amsterdam to get our bags, we stored them at the Centraal Station on our last day which costs 5 Euro for 24h (Only takes cards - NO CASH). After touring we caught a train to the airport which stops near the hotel shuttles and caught the shuttle. This worked out brilliantly as we had a morning flight. Doing it this way saved us time and worry as we didn't have to get a tram and then train in the morning. The tram drivers were polite and helped with bags.

The hotel itself was nothing special - upon arrival there were apples and fresh water complementary. Check in was relatively quick - the front desk person was okay, she wasn't overly friendly or helpful but wasn't rude either. When we got to our room, it wasn't quite what we expected - the room was quite dated, the king bed had two single blankets on it for each person. The TV was from the 1900's and didn't work well. The internet was slow - way slower than the other hotel we stayed in. The beds were okay. The bathroom was nice, however the ceiling had an inch gap around it - had no idea what was above it...I thought it was a little creepy myself. The shower and tub were separate - worked great.

After a touring Amsterdam for 4 days I was really looking forward to the hot tub however I was sadly disappointed. It was terrible - rather than a hot tub it was a whirlpool in the shape and size of a hot tub. The water was cold - the same temperature as the pool but with jets which made the water even colder. I honestly don't understand the point in this. The steam room was my alternative and quite enjoyable. The sauna didn't work - well we couldn't get it to work. In the ladies change room I couldn't get the hot water to work so I had to use the common area and just rinse off. I ended up walking through the hotel with a towel around me so I could properly shower in my room.

Upon check out the person tried to charge us to take the shuttle back to the airport however Expedia advertised this to be complementary. When we said this, the lady got her manager who requested to see our reservation - we showed her where it said this. She did honour it so we didn't have to pay however she blamed it on Expedia. My understanding its the hotel who give Expedia the information?!?! If you book with Expedia and it says complementary print off the info and keep it with you - as they will want to see it. It saved us 10 Euros - 5 pp.

We didn't have breakfast due to the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCat1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had previously stayed at NH Museum Quarter three years ago, so we chose NH Schiphol Airport for our last night in the city. Again, we thoroughly enjoyed the ambience at NH Hotels. We had a very nice, comfortable room. The shuttle van to Schiphol is quite convenient and runs every 15 minutes.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexislouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Internet is a disaster and restaurant is rather expensive for what it offers.

Room is comfortable and very clean. Location is not ideal, only Mcdonalds available as an alternative to the Hotel restaurant.

Good sleep quality and friendly staff.

A/c was pretty noisy

Room Tip: Book the free shuttle bus early if you are going to the business areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
3.8 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
1.9 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
2.0 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
3.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport

Property: NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Address: Kruisweg 495, 2132 NA Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Green Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 419
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport is a four-star hotel conveniently located just ten minutes from the Amsterdam Schiphol Airport. This location offers great connections to the rest of the country by car and public transportation, as well as fast access to numerous tourist and business sites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Hotels Hoofddorp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing