We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem close to Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Amsterdam Airport
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
GreenLeadersSilver level
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A gem close to Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

While the hotel is a bit away from Amsterdam, it is a good option if one wants to see Amsterdam as well as the nearby places. The surrounding is amazingly green. The hotel as a water body/ beach, recreation area within its vicinity. The rooms was very spacious, ideal if you are travelling with the family. Our room had two large beds to take care of four people. There is a small shop in the lobby where you can buy food on the go which is really helpful. The staff was knowledgeable and very helpful.

Room Tip: Go for a higher floor which will help you appreciate the beautiful surrounding area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SHVISH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    180
    73
    31
    11
See reviews for
105
99
33
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very nice Courtyard by Marriott. Some distance from the airport (full half hour on the shuttle). My experience with shuttles in the US has always been free, so was surprised at 5 euro fee. Very nice breakfast, but not cheap. It is next to a park with walking/biking trails. Setting very nice. If you want to be away from the jet noise but close to the airport the Courtyard is a good choice. Lago Bistro next door has good (not great) pizza.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ERKA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
282 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The biggest asset of this hotel is its nice location, sitting at the edge of a recreational area. It's just perfect for outdoors!

Unfortunatly this is a summer's asset, during winter time the hotel becomes as average an hotel as there could be. Rooms are nice but heating a mess (only a/c and rather loud).

The biggest cons are the restaurant and the (not existing) friendliness of the staff: If your stay falls on a sunday don't expect to get dinner, the restaurant will be closed, the adjacent restaurant at the sportsclub likewise and next open dinner place will be out of walking range for sure.
Breakfast is limited, what's gone is gone and if you dare asking for some replacement the staff will regard you as an offender.
I would suggest to hire some people from out of the country for the restaurant as well as the reception as this would definitly enhance service mentality!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank globusat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Globusat,

Thank you very much for your feedback via tripadvisor.
We appreciate every feedback receiving.

I have forward your comments with regards to the A/C towards our maintenance, they will check what happened, we have not received this complain so far. so I am sorry for that.
It dissapoints me to read that the service provided wasn't up to the standard we are expecting to give to all our guests.

I have forward your comments to the responisble managers and I will promise improvements.

With kind regards,


Jordy Smit
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FO
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This hotel is located in a beautiful location but it is 15-20 minutes from the airport by hotel provided shuttle. During the morning and from 1800-2399 the shuttle runs every 30 minutes but between noon and 1800 the shuttle runs from 60-90 minute intervals. If you want to ride back to the airport to be a tourist they charge 5 Euros per passenger even though the bus is going anyway and is empty. You have to look hard to find the place where they say there is a fee for transport to the train or bus station (I could understand it if they set up a separate shuttle but not their scheduled runs!!!

The hotel is 12 years old and needs renovation which, apparently, is planned. The room was quite comfortable, however

We ate at the bar/restaurant. We asked for tap water but our server said she could not do that and tried to sell us bottled water.

When I checked in (I am a Gold member with Marriott) I received a letter from the GM apologizing for not having a free continental breakfast but offering a free NY times International. They provided a website and instructed me to follow the directions; I did and it didn't provide instructions. I asked the desk agent to please arrange to have the paper for me I the AM; it DID NOT happen. I did receive an apology from the desk agent this AM when I checked out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geowmeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater NJ USA
Level Contributor
608 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We needed a hotel for the day before our cruise out of Amsterdam. We found this hotel on line mostly because of the value compared to downtown Amsterdam. You can catch this shuttle right outside the airport by the signage for hotel shuttles. It is about 12 miles away from the airport in a grassy, park atmosphere because the hotel is part of a park and entertainment and conference complex. the room was great and there were 3 of us, so we had plenty of room for all of us. The shuttle runs to the airport, but be sure to make an appointment/ reservation, esp on the weekdays. We arrived at the hotel, dropped our bags and caught the next shuttle to the airport from which we took the train to Central Station and were in downtown Amsterdam in no time. My husband is a Marriott Elite member so there was no charge for the shuttle Don't know how it works for just being a guest. We did not eat at the hotel so cannot comment on the food although there was a little restaurant and a bar and a little place to buy snacks, etc, in the lobby. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful even finding a translation for magpie for us. The hotel is adjacent to a park and a lake all just a few steps off the hotel pathway. We took a long walk to stretch our tired legs and to start the next day, so it has a very bucolic feel before you go to the city. The shuttle was able to handle all of our cruise luggage and got us to the airport where we started our adventure. The 12 mile drive takes about 10 or so minutes so it's not a real inconvenience. Not sure if I would stay if I had meetings, etc.,in downtown Amsterdam, but it was great for a pre or post stay from a European adventure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giftedelaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This Marriott Courtyard is situated in a rural area with wonderful walking paths and excellent accommodations. The rooms are large and clean with comfortable bedding. After spending a day in central Amsterdam it is so refreshing to return to a lovely hotel surrounded by grass and trees with little noise and traffic. The staff is very friendly. The restaurant has excellent food. we found the trip into Amsterdam by train easy and interesting.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heidy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, October 26, 2014
Dear sir/madam,

Thank you very much for the comment on the tripadvisor website.

It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us as this is the reason why we come to work every day.

Hoping to be able to welcome you again in our hotel soon.

With kind regards,

Martijn Beekhuis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Unlike the Airport Sheraton and Hilton which were within the airport itself, this hotel was a distance from the airport and hard to navigate to at night (signage could be improved). A bit misleading to call it an airport hotel. While my colleagues staying in those other hotels could walk to airport meetings and the terminal, we needed transport.

On check-in, there was nobody available for approx 15 mins while the seemingly only staff spoke at length on the phone behind the counter.

The price was a bit expensive in comparison to other AMS hotels.

As a Marriott Rewards Platinum Premiere member, I was upgraded to a very nice room with a jacuzzi and balcony. Instructions for the jacuzzi would have helped, since I couldn't figure out how to turn it off. I called downstairs and was promised they would send someone. After around 15 mins and before anyone arrived, I finally figured it out myself.

Shuttle bus driver was friendly and breakfast was very good, but not included in the price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Jim,

Thank you for sharing your stay with the tripadvisor followers.
I am sorry to read that your stay wasn't satisfying.

With regards to the signage, unfortunately we can not change this as for the government in Holland we are not autorized to do this.

I would like to adres my apologies for the fact that there was nobody available directly for you during the check in proces, I will check with my associates how to improve this.
I have forwarded your comment with regards to the jacuzzi to our maintanace, thank you for sharing this !

Thank you for sharing your stay Mr. Jim.

With kind regards,


Jordy Smit
Front office manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
12.0 mi away
Courtyard Amsterdam Arena Atlas
4.5 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
2.4 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
3.4 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Amsterdam Airport

Property: Courtyard Amsterdam Airport
Address: Bosweg 15, 2131 LX Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
#5 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Amsterdam Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at this 4-star hotel, you would never imagine you are just 12 minutes from the airport. Set within a serene park near a beautiful lake, the hotel is in good reach of Amsterdam and Haarlem. The hotel offers first-class spacious rooms that include luxury bedding and free Internet access. After a busy day, take a walk in the park and catch up with friends and colleagues in our onsite restaurant or bar. Next door you will enjoy a game of bowling at Claus Bowling or you can place your bets at the casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Amsterdam Airport Hotel Hoofddorp
Courtyard Hotel Amsterdam Airport
Courtyard Hotel Hoofddorp
Hoofddorp Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing