We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Courtyard - Middle of Nowhere- Not at airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard Amsterdam Airport
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Pierce, Florida
Level Contributor
477 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 447 helpful votes
“Excellent Courtyard - Middle of Nowhere- Not at airport”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

MARRIOTT COURTYARD-AMSTERDAM AIRPORT APRIL 2013

This is a pleasant Courtyard in great condition, near, but not actually at the airport. This is an important distinction because you can find several reputable hotels right on the airport property and within walking distance to the terminals.

The up-graded room we had was on the top floor with great views of the parks and farmlands nearby.

Next door is an events center with two restaurants and a museum that covers the history of the entire area, which once was a huge lake.

There is nothing else of consequence near the hotel, so this is not a good base if you are visiting Amsterdam, but it is a satisfactory overnight hotel for arriving and departing flights from Schipol Airport. The hotel restaurant didn't open until 6 pm and we wanted an early dinner, so went to the one open restaurant in the events center, which opened at 5pm. This points up one of the problems: if you arrive at an odd hour, there is nowhere to eat anything. If you stay at one of the on site airport hotels, you have a vast choice of places to eat.

As in the Marriott Renaissance Hotel in Amsterdam where we spent six previous nights, there were problems with internet access here at the Courtyard. Even with tech help, I was unable to get access with my laptop or phone. A common problem perhaps, but still annoying.

Adjacent to the events/conference center, the hotel has plenty of parking (with a fee).

Quiet and comfortable. Plan on allowing an extra 20-30 minutes if you take the hotel shuttle to and from the airport. Great front desk staff.

Also be aware that the hotel charges a fee to take you back to the airport, which is a bit deceptive because there is no mention of it when you go from the airport to the hotel.

This is perhaps the cleanest, best maintained Courtyard I have stayed at in Europe. Because it is not in the city, the usual slease factor, such as in Munich near the haupbanhof, is not present.

Everything in the room and rest of the building was spotless and well cared for. Bedding was great.

Recommended for a quiet and refreshing overnight stay.

Room Tip: Good accomodations for an overnight layover.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjstives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear jjstives,

Thank you very much for your stay and using Tripadvisor to share your experience with the world.

Thank you for the nice review and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Kind regards,

Roger Langhout, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    205
    83
    34
    14
See reviews for
118
112
39
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here for one night as we were having a business meeting at Schipol airport relatively early the next morning otherwise I would have probably stayed in Amsterdam; to be honest though even if you stayed here you are not that far by taxi to get into town etc.
My room was extremely spacious and clean to the usual Marriott standards.
The staff are very helpful and friendly too and the quality of the food and service in the bar and restaurant area was excellent as well.
I would certainly consider staying here again even if I had business in Amsterdam / Utrecht.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishmaninSouthKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear EnglishmaninParis,

Thank you very much for choosing Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport for your business meeting.

The best comment one can receive is the promise of a return visit. We are deeply grateful for that.

Thank you for using Tripadvisor to rate your stay.

Best regards,

Roger Langhout, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Decided to extend our layover in order to rest and tour Amsterdam. Chose the Courtyard for free stay on points
Very different from what we expected. This hotel is not close to the airport (as we expected) This is good. It is situated in a park with a lake, walking and biking trails, quiet and close to Hasrlem (which we wish that we had visited instead of Amsterdam)
Get a superior room (25 E extra) which includes free wifi and free shuttle. Definitely worth it.
The hotel is extremely comfortable, located next to an entertainment facility with several restaurants
The shuttle is 15 to 25 min from Schipohl where you can get train or bus to Amsterdam or other sites. We were jet lagged first day and only went to Keukenhof Gardens (disappointment due to late blooming this year) Next day was a full tour of Amsterdam
The desk clerks and drivers are extremely helpful, the room is comfortable, warm, excellent bath facilities. The bus to Haarlem passes right in front of the hotel. We regret not taking the drivers advice and visiting Haarlem rather than Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuikAg80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear QuikAg80,

Thank you very much for your stay with us.

It is a delight to read that you have enjoyed so many aspects of what we have to offer. You have described it all with great detail and it will be very helpful for those that read it.

Thank you for taking the time and effort to share your experience on Tripadvisor. Your kind comments will be shared with the team. Greatly appreciated.

Take care, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back with us one day.

Warm regards,

Roger Langhout, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Uppsala Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Comfortable and spacious rooms with good view. Big, nice beds in the family room, one can get extra pillows. Both bathtub and shower cabin in the bathroom. Breakfast is really good. Another plus is frequent airport shuttle. Only two things – one needs to purchase internet in the room and if you miss the airport shuttle, transport is really difficult. Taxi is not only expensive (30 – 35 Euro), they refuse to come there as well. The location is quite far from Amsterdam central and every time you want to go somewhere you have to cross via airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suparna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Suparna S,

Thank you very much for your stay and nice review on Tripadvisor.

Safe travels.

Kind regards,

Roger Langhout, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

You have all amenities you need for an airport hotel with friendly and competent service. Good breakfast buffet too. However I was unfortunate enough to find a very dirty toilet seat in my room...which was the only negative point.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laetiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Laetisz,

Thank you very much for your stay and using Tripadvisor to rate your stay.

Nothing beats a good start and I am glad to read that our breakfast buffet has served you well. I also would like to express my appreciation for the nice comments regarding my staff. They work hard to keep everybody happy. I am sorry that we lost some points on your bathroom.

Thank you and safe travels.

Best regards,

Roger Langhout, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham
Level Contributor
124 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Courtyard Marriott 18th March following a KLM flight cancellation. We noticed that a previous guest only the night before was also booked in for the same reason! I also noticed that the hotel management do read these reviews and try always to improve things. Well done! After our flight ordeal we really enjoyed the luxury of the room given to us and the evening dinner and breakfast were just great. No problems at all and all the staff were very friendly and efficient. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dwplucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear dwplucas,

Thank you so much for your excellent review on Tripadvisor.

It is a delight to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us although it was unintended.

We would be honored having you back with us in the near future for maybe a longer stay to explore the area with the flower fields, they are so beautiful right now, and the beach or a visit to Amsterdam.

Once again a big thank you.

Warm regards,

Roger Langhout, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Conveniently located near the Amsterdam Airport, located on lovely grounds with friendly staff, nice rooms and decent food. Dining options and access to town are difficult except by taxi. Haarlem is a short drive away, but nice to visit.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Woodbury729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Dear Woodbury729,

Thank you very much for your visit.
Haarlem is indeed a really nice town to visit, we call it little Amsterdam.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us in the near future.

Thank you for using Tripadvisor to rate your stay, we wish you safe travels.

Kind regards,

Roger Langhout, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
2.5 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
3.3 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
3.9 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Amsterdam Airport

Property: Courtyard Amsterdam Airport
Address: Bosweg 15, 2131 LX Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
#5 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Amsterdam Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying at this 4-star hotel, you would never imagine you are just 12 minutes from the airport. Set within a serene park near a beautiful lake, the hotel is in good reach of Amsterdam and Haarlem. The hotel offers first-class spacious rooms that include luxury bedding and free Internet access. After a busy day, take a walk in the park and catch up with friends and colleagues in our onsite restaurant or bar. Next door you will enjoy a game of bowling at Claus Bowling or you can place your bets at the casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Amsterdam Airport Hotel Hoofddorp
Courtyard Hotel Amsterdam Airport
Courtyard Hotel Hoofddorp
Hoofddorp Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing