We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shuttle bus tries to make up for location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I had a one night layover in Amsterdam. Never having been thee I thought it would be most convenient to stay close to the airport and take public transportation to the city center to make my morning commute to the airport simpler.

The airport is where the trains and buses are for the Doofddorf area. The hotel is not walking distance and the shuttle runs ~ every 45 minutes from the hotel/airport on Saturday and Sunday (more frequently during the week).

I share all these details because I might have stayed closer to the Amsterdam city center had I known all this.

The hotel is very clean and well managed.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmak4man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear jmak4man,

Thank you very much for your stay and your review on Tripadvisor.

Courtyard has been designed to offer a competative rate and offer an attractive range of features to add to your stay. For those who want easy access, we offer a travel pack to Amsterdam City Center with 24h access to all public transport in the city for just under 15 euro. 24 h bus service available with a bus stop across the road from the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back with us soon.

Best regards,

Roger Langhout, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

327 - 333 of 532 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012

I recently had a 4-day Canada to Amsterdam trip - due to time constraints I wanted to be close to the airport so chose a hotel connected to the airport - the Hilton. Well, what a dive! Do not stay at the Hilton, unless you have points to burn.

My 2nd night I stayed at the Marriott Courtyeard near Schipol Airport for 1/2 the price of the Hilton. And was I impressed. After staying in tiny hotel rooms with uncomfy beds for the last 4 nights in Holland - this Marriott was a treat. Much nicer then the Hilton. The hotel is not conncected to the airport but provides a very frequent (free) shuttle to and from the airport. It's only a 10 min ride. The hotel is very clean, friendly staff all the things you like, and is also connected to a beautiful park and lots of green space with running paths etc. I think there was even a dog park near by. The room was huge, even for Canadian standards, and the bed was super comfy. My favoriate hotel chain is the Fairmont - and although this hotel is not a Fairmont, it was much closer to that standard then the Hilton by a long stretch.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank arrbarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear arrbarr,

Thank you very much for your excellent review on Tripadvisor, a perfect score! You landed in the greenest hotel and the hotel with the largest standard bed rooms in the area. We have recently replaced all beds, guaranteeing a good night’s rest, only 12 minutes away from the sounds and smells from the airport.
Thank very much for staying with us, we would be honored to have you stay with us again. We are looking forward to it.

Warm regards,

Roger Langhout, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

This new, clean, nicely sized hotel is very convenient to the Amsterdam airport. The rooms are comfortable, Wi-Fi works well, and the food is pretty good. Airport shuttle service is regular and reliable. The only downside is that the gym equipment could really use an upgrade. two old crappy bikes one elliptical and two treadmills is not enough for a hotel of this size.

And hey, with a bowling alley and nightclub next-door, there's even something to go do. The park behind the hotel is great for walking or running or strolling. On all a pretty good airport hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DinoTheDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear DinoTheDiver,

Thank you very much for your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport.

Your Tripadvisor review is greatly appreciated and I have some great news, we have just ordered some equipment which we expect to arrive early 2013.

I look forward to welcoming you back with us soon and that you have the opportunity to experience our new equipment.

Best regards,

Roger Langhout, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

For our last night in Amsterdam we stayed at the Schipol Courtyard using a Free Night Certificate. There are 5 of us (2a/3c), and the room was big enough for us all. My biggest complaint was the lack of breakfast options - the restaurant offered a breakfast, which was pretty expensive. There was a coffee machine (2 euros), which made bad coffee, and the market didn't offer really anything to eat.

On the positive side, there was a free airport shuttle.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank CrazyMaestro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear CrazyMaestro,

Thank you very much for your stay with us. Also thank you for using Tripadvosir to rate your stay.

Our breakfast buffet offers a variety of hot items like scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, pancakes, veggies, boiled eggs and eggs cooked to order. Our cold items include cereals, 4 kinds of milk, 5 juices, smoked salmon, mackerel, a wide variety of cold cuts and chesses, freshly baked French butter corissants and other variety of bread and danish, fresh fruit yoghurts etc. We offer a selection of freshly brewed Italian aspresso, latte,caffe lungo and cappuccino. I am sorry that you were not able to make a choice from this layout.

Our 24 hour the Market shop offers a range of snacks, Ben & Jerry's Ice cream, sandwiches, yoghurt, fresh fruit and a beverage selection incl beers, wines and mix drinks. I will instruct the responsible person to make sure the Market is restocked more often.

Thank you for your feedback, we will continue to improve our offerings and services to serve our audience.

Best regards,

Roger Langhout, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked an accessible room at this hotel for a one night stay after a cruise before flying to the US. The accessible room was the most complete we'd ever seen. You walked into a bathroom with a double sink counter, bathtub, and separate shower stall. On the other end of the bathroom was a door into an completely accessible bathroom with a roll-in shower and handicap toilet. The staff was polite, everything was sparkling clean, and you could only access the elevators with your room key card. The hotel is adjacent to a large park with excellent walking paths.

The hotel is at least 20 minutes drive from the airport and the first shuttle does not leave until 6:05 AM. There are no taxis available nearby. The shuttle driver did his best -- we were the second drop-off but at KLM instead of British Airways. So we had a long walk to get to the proper airline --then another long walk to get to the gate. We almost missed our flight.
So I would suggest using a different hotel if you have a very early morning flight.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bepaged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear bepaged,

Thank you very much for your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that you have had a great stay with us. I will review the shuttle schedule for the weekend. On weekdays we start driving at 5.15 AM. The drop off at the wrong terminal at the airport was obviously not very convenient for which I opologize.

I do hope we will have the oppertunity to welcome you back with us one day.

Kind regards,

Roger Langhout, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed here for a few nights during a business/vacation trip. The hotel is conveniently located near the Schipol airport (took me less than 10 mins to airport by car) and is not too far from downtown Amsterdam. The rooms are very spacious and modern. The internet service is reliable and has both LAN and wireless available in the rooms. The hotel has a mini-market that is a little expensive, but is nice to have around when you need a quick snack. The fitness room has a couple of treadmills and machine weights, but not much else. The price is reasonable and the staff was friendly. There is no ATM at the hotel, but you can exchange money (only Euros and USD). Next to the hotel is an "event center" that has a few restaurants and a bowling alley, which is nice if you don't want to go far for food. The hotel is surrounded by a park that has a lot of running trails, which makes it a nice, quiet, and serene place to stay. I would definitely stay here again if in the Amsterdam area.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hammerdroogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear Hammerdroogs,

Thank you very much for your stay with us.

Also a big thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor. You have described our features so well, we could copy it for an advertisement!

Thank you for being our guest, we look forward to having you back with us soon.

Warm regards,

Roger Langhout, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have been visiting this Hotel for over 10 years and it just keeps excelling. Terrific Management and awesome employees. It is amazing how many of the personnel are still working there and they work hard at making your visit special. The area is unbelievably beautiful with all kinds of outdoor things to do. 15 minute shuttle ride from Schipol and you feel like your in the country. Nice lake, jogging tracks, horses working out on the horse track, the beach not mention the Claus facility.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lakeside have spectaular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hurricane48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmsterdamCourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Dear hurricane48,

Thank you so much for your stay and excellent review on Tripadvisor.

We are all looking forward to your return!

Warm regards and safe travels.

Roger Langhout, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
2.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
3.3 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam - Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
4.1 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
3.9 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport

Address: Bosweg 15, 2131 LX Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Green Hotel in Hoofddorp
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
#5 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range: $135 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When staying Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport, 4-star Amsterdam airport hotel located in Hoofddorp, Netherlands, you would never imagine you are just 12 minutes from the airport. Set within a serene park near a beautiful lake, we are in good reach of Amsterdam and Haarlem. Our hotel offers first-class spacious rooms that include luxury bedding and free Internet access. After a busy day, take a walk in the park and catch up with friends and colleagues in our onsite restaurant or bar. Next door you will enjoy a game of bowling at Claus Bowling or you can place your bets at the casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Marriott, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Amsterdam Airport Hotel Hoofddorp
Courtyard Hotel Amsterdam Airport
Courtyard Hotel Hoofddorp
Hoofddorp Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing