We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Certificate of Excellence
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have stayed at The Crown Plaza, every time we come into Amsterdam. It is the perfect place to stay, close to the airport, but not too close. Close for train connection to downtown. Excellent check in experience. Lovely breakfast. Helpful and friendly staff.
Would never stay any where else while visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wenny1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Wenny1959,

Thank you very much for this wonderful feedback.It is highly appreciated and we hope that you will be able to enjoy more stays at the Crowne Plaza.

Kind regards,

Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    573
    194
    95
    46
See reviews for
186
224
102
661
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Vallarta, Mexico
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed just for one night but the hotel was great! Beds were amazing, tons of pillows and super comfy. Staff was super friendly and helpful. The hotel has shuttle transportation from and to the airport. From the airport to the hotel was free, and from the hotel to the airport there was a fee of $7.5 euros per person. 5 minutes walking from the hotel is a metro station that will get you to central station. Internet signal was strong and I did not get charged for that. I would definitely stay here next time I am in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vannylo82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Vannylo82,
We highly appreciate your kind review about our hotel. Positive feedback from satisfied guests is our greatest reward!
Kind regards,
Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed three nights in the hotel last month in room number 310 with my husband, our daughter and our baby son and we really liked our stay there

The room was very clean, the service was excellent! the staff very friendly and helpful
We enjoyed the swimming pool and jacuzzi .
The train station is about 15minutes walk,
We will for sure return back to crowne plaza amsterdam schipol in our next visit to amsterdam

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolina_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear DOLINA_002,
Great to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-Schiphol. Thank you for your positive review and we are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again.
Kind regards,
Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Good location if you are flying out of schipol or have work in the hoofsdorp area. Hotel is nice but the service and staff are excellant. Reception was extremely helpfull in providing me directions and shuttle to the airport since the trains into centraal were not plying that weekend. Enjoyed my 2 nights here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shyam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Shyam R,
Thank you for sharing your experience about the service and our staff at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-Schiphol.
We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel.
Kind regards,
Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Planned a short weekend in Amsterdam and want a good quality place to stay.
The room (551) on the Club floor was excellent, big, clean with everything required.
I knew that the hotel was a distance of the centre of Amsterdam and still chose it. There are regular trains just 10 mins walk to the station but what we found worked best was to take the bus.
Bus 145 takes 40-50 minutes to get into the Centre and you can get a 14 euro day ticket if you ask - this also covers you on any other bus journeys you need to take. (The last bus back was just after midnight.) Train can be quicker but is about 19 euros each. Just watch out for trains not running due to rail repairs.

The breakfast was really good and service friendly. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P3t3186400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear P3t3186400,
Thank you for taking the time writing a review about your stay at the Crowne Plaza Amsterdam-Schiphol. It is great to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Clubfloor and the breakfast.
Again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back.
Kind regards,
Martijn Fritsen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I was sent here after spending 30 euro to go out to the Courtyard Marriott only to be told they had overbooked the hotel and would not honour my reservation. This was supposed to be a 5 star hotel but it had less in the way of comfort and amenities. The rooms are ok. Windows were dirty. The food at the restaurant is overpriced and the quality should be much higher. I had an appetizer that cost over 15 euro, contained four pieces of veal, and two of them were pure gristle and fat. I couldnt even chew and swallow it. Despite the evidence on my plate that half of it was inedible, I was charged for it. I was served two glasses of wine with fruitflies in them, which they did replace. Still, when it happens twice, they should offer one of them free. The breakfast buffet was good, but not great. Scrambled eggs tasted like they were powdered, beans were cold, no salmon or fish, no milk but whole fat. There are virtually no public area amenities, no comfortable lounge area or outdoor seating areas. Hallways are low ceilinged, dark and smell a bit dank. Right on the highway.

Room Tip: If you like morning light choose an odd numbered room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliasToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear AliasToronto,

Thank you for the review of our hotel. We just want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. We are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this particular day. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world class service to our guests.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great
our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Due to a cancelled flight I was put up here by the airline. It was only ok, no feather pillows just lumpy foam things and a lumpy duvet. Dirty toilet under the water line which is unusual in a hotel considering how often they are being cleaned. Good breakfast though excellent choice and proper coffee.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madmade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear madmade,

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast.

On the other hand, I sincerely apologize for the dissatisfaction you had with the pillows and the bathroom cleanliness. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

Your feedback is not only essential but is also a helpful tool to measure the level of service we extend to our guests and at the same time provides us with an opportunity to improve our standards. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. To better assist you on your next stay, please do not hesitate to approach the manager on duty.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
0.9 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2.2 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
Address: Planeetbaan 2, 2132 HZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
#2 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol is a luxury hotel at only a 10-minute drive from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The hotel is conveniently accessible from the airport via an airport shuttle bus service. Located only a few miles from the A4, both Amsterdam and The Hague are within easy reach. This hotel is also the ideal basis to visit the Keukenhof flower bulbs.The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol offers a complementary shuttle service to companies in Hoofddorp and the Schiphol area upon request. Hoofddorp train station with direct services to Amsterdam city center and Leiden is only an 8-minute walk.This 242 room hotel features a leisure club with gym and solarium for your well-deserved relaxation after a long journey. Looking for a place to meet? The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol houses 14 multifunctional meeting rooms.The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol is very proud to introduce its new stylish restaurant Aviator Cafe. In a modern yet sophisticated setting you can enjoy fresh culinary delights inspired by Dutch heritage prepared by our renowned chef.High speed Internet access is available free of charge in all guest rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol Hotel Hoofddorp
Crowne Plaza Hoofddorp
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hoofddorp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing