We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Room service awful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Room service awful”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Even if on menu, not able to deliver a Caesar salad, end up with a chicken salad. Glass was dirty, mayonnaise already opened. And received a sparkling water instead of a still one as ordered.
And this for more than 20 euros.
Reception : quick and friendly
Room ok even if some of them are tired (paint)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gagabzh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Bzh29000,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience you have experienced and for the level of service provided during your stay that did not meet your expectations. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. I want to assure you that I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Thank you for all your comments as this is very helpful to us to ensure we are able to meet our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    596
    208
    97
    47
See reviews for
194
228
109
687
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Simple fact - font stay here thinking it is a fair business hotel if you haven't explicitly booked a club room. If you are unlucky due to any reason to be in a standard room the hotel's credo as a 'good' business hotel is decieving. Beds that sag, slow 'free' Internet, tired old rooms. Reviewers need to mention the type of room in their posts - trip advisor should make this a requirement. Now I am stuck in this mess for a few more days & what are the chances the hotel will pay for my orthopedist whom I will have to see soon ?

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FTL_DE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear FTL_DE,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. I am sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret you were not satisfied with the conditions of the room you received. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

I really enjoyed the stay at Crowne Plaza, and found the staff to be very nice and helpful. Especially their offering to have a bike for a quick downtown ride was one of the highlights of the stay.
The cleanliness of the rooms, one of the most important things to consider when choosing a hotel, is perfect.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank mmuellerwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear mmuellerwest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our clean rooms, the service of our staff and the bike ride to the city.

My team and I would welcome the opportunity to be your hosts once more in the future.


With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

When you afford a 350€/ per night hotel, you can expect a 350€ moment....seem obvious, but definitely not the case here.
Room are ok, people are very sympathetic, but restaurant and breakfast are just awful.
If you like to eat a too cooked small piece of meal with the highest price in NL, this is the place to go. If you are here for business with no time to eat outside....please go outside, there is nice other table 5min walking in Hoofdorp.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenoitDx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear BenoitDx,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We have taken good note of your comments, and really appreciate your sincerity. This will certainly assist us in achieving the high standards of service we are aiming for.

We are pleased that you appreciate our rooms and the service of our staff. I will discuss your comments about the quality of our food with my Food and Beverage Manager, since this is not the standard in our Restaurant.

Again I would like to thank you for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again as our guest in the future and receiving a next review.

With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuw Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

It was lovely!Unfortunately my stay was only for 3 days.I loved the food (especially the pizza!).Not to mention that the staff was so helpful and nice to me!I just loved everything but the prices are a little high.I hope that i will get the change in the future to come again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanineSch_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear JanineSch_13,

Thank you very much for your nice comments and compliments about our hotel. I am sure that my team has read your compliments which was much appreciated.

We look forward welcoming you again in our hotel, and receiving your next review.

With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecce, Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

a very beautiful hotel, the best thing is that near the hotel you can find a lot of beautiful quite places to visit like amstel park...
it's a little bit far from the centre but very close to the metro... and you can rent bikes by the hotel (only 20 minutes to stay in the centre). bikes for 16 euro a day.
it's better to sleep here than in the busy centre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iltrono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear iltrono,

Thank you very much for your feedback with regards to your recent stay in our hotel. Feedback like this gives us the possibility to adjust our services and products where needed.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and would like to welcome you again as a guest in our hotel.

With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night back in April. The hotel looks great and the staff were very accommodating. While it's true that the hotel is far from the city center, the staff were very helpful in guiding me to the tram which was very close. The restaurant is small but the food was decent and the bar tender was very friendly. I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlindse4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear jlindse4,

Thank you very much for your nice comments and compliments about the service from our hotelteam and our rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel and to receiving your next review on TripAdvisor.

With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
0.4 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
0.9 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
2.2 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
Address: Planeetbaan 2, 2132 HZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol is a luxury hotel at only a 10-minute drive from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The hotel is conveniently accessible from the airport via an airport shuttle bus service. Located only a few miles from the A4, both Amsterdam and The Hague are within easy reach. This hotel is also the ideal basis to visit the Keukenhof flower bulbs.The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol offers a complementary shuttle service to companies in Hoofddorp and the Schiphol area upon request. Hoofddorp train station with direct services to Amsterdam city center and Leiden is only an 8-minute walk.This 242 room hotel features a leisure club with gym and solarium for your well-deserved relaxation after a long journey. Looking for a place to meet? The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol houses 14 multifunctional meeting rooms.The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol is very proud to introduce its new stylish restaurant Aviator Cafe. In a modern yet sophisticated setting you can enjoy fresh culinary delights inspired by Dutch heritage prepared by our renowned chef.High speed Internet access is available free of charge in all guest rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol Hotel Hoofddorp
Crowne Plaza Hoofddorp
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hoofddorp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing