We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Certificate of Excellence
Market Deeping
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Weekend Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Great Hotel , Staff very helpful

Had the pool area to ourselves over the weekend , with the exception of Saturday morning when they have Children's swimming lessons.

Rooms very large and clean. Great bus service from the airport. Local bus and train services excellent.

Drinks in the main lobby bar , in my view very expensive

Great selection at breakfast of both hot and cold foods.

Room Tip: Club rooms very good - club lounge excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JSD6228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear JSD 6228,

It is a pleasure to read about your positive weekend-break experiences within our hotel! I am sure that my team will be proud to read your compliments as well.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel and to receiving your next review on TripAdvisor or on our own review page of our hotel.

With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    591
    204
    95
    46
See reviews for
191
227
108
683
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is highly recommend for your next short or long stay. I used the hotel to catch my plane early in the morning twice now. Each time I experienced the very professional and kind staff and employees. These people make you feel at home. The hotel offers great luxury rooms at good rates. There is a free shuttle and if you need to get up more early, the hotel gets you a cab at a fixed price, plus they will hand out a breakfast box to you. I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ernie020213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Ernie 020213,

Thank you very much for your nice comments and compliments about our hotelteam and rooms.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel for your third stay and to receiving your next review on Trip Advisor or on our own review page at www.crowneplaza.com/ams-schiphol.

With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voghera, Italy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

is practically in Schipol airport, there is a shuttle that goes back and forth from the terminal to the hotel, but it's far from the center.
A few minutes is the Hoofddorp Train Station, which leads directly to Amsterdam Central, every 30 minutes.
the rooms and public areas are clean, and the service is good.
Good Lunch and breakfast.
Wi-Fi Free, staff courteous and helpful.
Beware of credit cards, many circuits are not accepted, We had some problem.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Enrico S,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay. I am sure that my team will be pleased to read your compliment about their service.

With regards to the credit card, I would like to inform you that we accept all major international cerdit cards. For security reasons it is however necessary to have a valid pincode for payment.

My team and I would welcome the opportunity to be your hosts once more in the future.


With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
304 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Except for its location, this hotel give all you need to stay in a very good hotel.
Very welcome staff, clean hotel public area, clean room and good breakfast.

So if you are not expecting to stay in the heart of Amsterdam, this is one
of a good place to stay.

Thank you and look forward to comeback again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gregorius S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Gregorius S,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay in our hotel.

As you mention the hotel is not located in the centre of Amsterdam. We are located within a large business area and close to the centre of Hoofddorp. Amsterdam City Centre is however only 20 minutes away by train and the shopping area of Hoofddorp is recently re-developed and offers many international shops within 5 minutes from the hotel.

My team and I would certainly welcome the opportunity to be your hosts once more in the future.


With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mojacar Playa, Spain
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Love this Hotel we stay there every time we are in Amsterdam, the service is Excellent (the staff all speak english). The view from the top floor lounge is wonderful. The breakfast is Excellent. The proximity to the airport is excellent.
We would rather stay a little out of the city and take the train in which is just a short walk away. Amsterdam is so busy at night ( and day too) it is nice to have the hotel away from it all. To relax and get a good nights sleep.

We will be back in the spring.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wenny1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Wenny 1959,

Thank you very much for your very nice comments and compliments about our hotelteam, the service they provided, the breakfast and our location.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel when you visit Amsterdam and to receiving your next review.

With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is my second time stay at CP Schiphol. Was upgraded to an executive room. The first impression again was really great. The airport pickup was just prompt. I did not try their breakfast but ordered for room service, though the time was give as 30 minutes, I got my food in 15 minutes. Club sandwich, Chicken and rice and soup. Was pretty good. The best part of the hotel is that it is 5 - 8 minutes walk to hoofddorp station, which I found out on this stay, which is just one station away for Schiphol aiport and 3 stations away from Amsterdam Central. The in room free internet is pretty good for just reading mails and browsing.. Dont forget to check the lake across the hotel..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Wanderlusttrokker,

Thank you for staying with us agian and for having taken the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you had such a pleasant stay.

My team and I would welcome the opportunity to be your hosts once more in the future.


With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Was a bit further away from the airport than I first thought, but in the scale of things, not really an issue. The shuttle service from Schipol is unneccesarily confusing and the info board at the airport could be clearer - as they dont charge on the way to the hotel, but do charge 7.50 Euros for the return trip. There is a different colour scheme on the airport timetable - but no real explanation as to what it means. Would make more sense if they just added a charge to the room rate so you dont get put off going to what is otherwise a decent hotel.

The room was well appointed and relatively clean, altough we did have to ask housekeeping to come and clean dried urine off the toilet seat, but things can get missed, so we didnt rate them down for that. The shower control seems a bit too complex for a jetlagged traveller - give me a simpe mixer anytime. Breakfast was excellent, good variety of things, fresh and tasty.

Facility wise, the pool and gym was well appointed and clean, and we had the place to ourselves. The jacuzzi didnt seem to work and the poolside showers seemed to be oddly controlled 15ft away from the shower heads in the high ceiling - which meant it turned off by the time you got under it or checked the temperature. Might be a clever design feature, but totally impractical. Otherwise, a nice facility.

On balance, we would use again, although with a little tweaking of their product and odd shuttle costs, it may get the volume of business it deserves.

The staff were very friendly and helpful

Room Tip: If you have booked a standard room and there are at least 4 of you travelling from the airport, its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaHoofddorp, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Jo D,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your comments regarding your stay in our hotel. We have taken good note of your comments, and really appreciate your sincerity. This will certainly assist us in achieving the high standards of service we are aiming for.

I have discussed your comments about hygiene with my Executive Housekeeper.
Furthermore I appreciate your suggestion about adding a charge for the shuttle to the roomrate. Because a lot of guests arrive with other transportation we prefer a separate shuttlebus charge.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our hotel and to receiving your next review.

With kind regards,

Maurice J. Jansen
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
0.9 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
0.4 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
0.3 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
2.2 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol

Property: Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
Address: Planeetbaan 2, 2132 HZ Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
#2 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#4 Luxury Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol is a luxury hotel at only a 10-minute drive from Amsterdam Airport Schiphol. The hotel is conveniently accessible from the airport via an airport shuttle bus service. Located only a few miles from the A4, both Amsterdam and The Hague are within easy reach. This hotel is also the ideal basis to visit the Keukenhof flower bulbs.The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol offers a complementary shuttle service to companies in Hoofddorp and the Schiphol area upon request. Hoofddorp train station with direct services to Amsterdam city center and Leiden is only an 8-minute walk.This 242 room hotel features a leisure club with gym and solarium for your well-deserved relaxation after a long journey. Looking for a place to meet? The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol houses 14 multifunctional meeting rooms.The hotel Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol is very proud to introduce its new stylish restaurant Aviator Cafe. In a modern yet sophisticated setting you can enjoy fresh culinary delights inspired by Dutch heritage prepared by our renowned chef.High speed Internet access is available free of charge in all guest rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol Hotel Hoofddorp
Crowne Plaza Hoofddorp
Crowne Plaza Hotel Hoofddorp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing