We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel,But...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great hotel,But...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is a great hotel if you have to catch a flight the next day. I had to catch a flight at 7AM on a Sunday, I left the hotel at 6AM and they already had the breakfast ready for us.The normal time on weekends is 7AM.There is one good restaurant nearby but it is somewhat costly in the $$$ range.There was no hot water at 4 AM.I called the front desk manager , he came up right away and took care of the issue.Very helpful staff and I would definitely stay here again.
Now the But... part.
There are free shuttle busses from the airport to the hotel.I took a bus that said`Hampton Inn & Holiday Inn Express`.The driver dropped a couple at the Hampton Inn and told me that `I told you that this bus does not go to Holiday Inn as they have their own bus`. He had not told me anything. When I asked him as to what do I do now- he said that as a favor he will drop me off.He just drove me to the very next building which was the Holiday Inn express. I paid him 5 Euros for his `Favor`.
After entering the hotel the front desk person told me that he was supposed to have dropped me at the Holiday Inn , as he IS the dedicated driver .Apparently the driver knew how to extract money from helpless hotel guests.
My date of arrival at the hotel was November 30,2013 in the afternoon - in case the hotel staff wants to investigate this driver.If contacted I will be happy to provide a description of the driver.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same as there is no view in the office complex where the hotel is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sene4454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    286
    81
    28
    9
See reviews for
53
189
61
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

H.I Express Hotels sometimes come in for criticism as being basic.This Hotel definitely does not fit into that category. You do not get value for money you get more value for your money. I stayed here in the first week it opended and when I stayed there this week you would have thought it was a new hotel.The rooms have maintained their high standard, the staff are first class and for a transit hotel it has a warm feel about it. It is in an excellent location for the airport and within a 5 minute walk of the station so ou can be in downtown Amsterdam within 30 mins.Whilst it does not have a restaurant at night there are numerous excellent places to eat with in 20 mins walk. I have staed in alot of hotels that cost alot more but not had the same high standard.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Had stayed there with friends in september on a weekend. The hotel is very good and all the furniture are brand new. The location is also good, few minutes away from railway station. Only car park was a bit pricey.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank fabio l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I had a comfortable and relaxing stay in this hotel. We arrived in Schipol airport and picked up by their shuttle to the hotel. The driver was polite and helped us in carrying our belongings. And at the reception, Brandon immediately did the express check in, gave us the city map and explained us everything about the hotel (breakfast/bus/nearest food outlet).
Our breakfast the next day was mainly consist of European breakfast foods.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank iam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kobe, Japan
Level Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night. Parking is a bit steep at 15 euros a night. Be sure to take advantage of the parking package offered on the hotel website. It makes parking much cheaper. I checked in late at night and the gentleman that checked me in was very courteous.
The room was spotless but the mattress was very soft. Internet is free and the speed is somewhat decent.
I didn't have time to try the complimentary breakfast.
Platinum members of IHG are offered a 300 point voucher or a beverage and snack as part of the welcome amenity.
I'd return definitely as this is one of the better HI express hotels I've stayed at.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Critic999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed at the Holiday Inn Express with some friends visiting Amsterdam to see an Ajax football game. We arrived at Schiphol at 9am and took the courtesy bus to the hotel, where we explained that we were going to the football and expected to return very late in the evening. We were expecting to just drop off our bags, but were given the keys to our rooms - which were clean, spacious and very comfortable.
The friendly, courteous (an excellent-English speaking) staff advised about the nearby train station (5 minutes walk) and changed notes into coins as the ticket machine at the station doesn't accept notes/cards.
A very good nights sleep was followed by an excellent breakfast, with plenty of choice and efficient staff keeping it well supplied.
Overall, I found only one minor niggle, which was the 7.50 Euro charge to take the shuttle bus TO the airport - but this would not stop me returning to this hotel if I return to Amsterdam (I would just walk to the station and get the train!!)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sbakenilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, MN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2013

Updated hotel offering a great stay for access to Amsterdam Airport. Sleek rooms with friendly service. Quiet with black-out curtains. Free airport transfer upon arrival, small charge for return to airport.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BevBurnsville_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
0.4 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
1.0 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
Address: Jupiterstraat 162-200, 2132 HH Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hoofddorp
#2 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting to our Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Schiphol hotel is easy. Only a short drive from the Airport Schiphol in our hotel shuttle bus will bring you directly to the hotel (we only offer the ride from the Airport to the hotel for free, back to the Airport the fee is € 7,50 per person), the rail station from Hoofddorp is a short stroll away and takes you from the hotel to Amsterdam Central Station in only 20 minutes. The hotel is also easily accessible by car from the A4, midway between The Hague and Amsterdam. Inside the Holiday Inn Express hotel Amsterdam Schiphol you will find a welcoming interior, full of natural daylight and plenty of room to enjoy a drink and connect with colleagues. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast and free wireless Internet throughout the hotel! The rooms have everything you need with great bedding, walk in shower, LCD TV, coffee & tea facilities and working space.Looking for a hotel for your next city break or stopover? Downtown Amsterdam is only a short journey away from our hotel, with the famous canals, the house of Anne Frank, the Van Gogh museum, the Red Light District, but also the windmills and Keukenhof with its famous tulip fields are close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol Hotel Hoofddorp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing