We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“GOOD STAY FOR THE PRICE... CLEAN AND TIDY” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Hoofddorp
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“GOOD STAY FOR THE PRICE... CLEAN AND TIDY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Me and my wife took a short halt at Amsterdam and stayed in this hotel. Firstl, the negative. The hotel is located far from the city and after 11pm the connectivity is limited.... so if you intend to spend time in the city centre be back before 10.30pm or be prepared to hire a cab for 70-80 Euros.

The Hotel is nice, excellent ambience, friendly staff and neat clean rooms. They gave a good breakfast buffet and were efficient both on checkin and checkout as well as in response to our needs. A nice experience except the distance..

Room Tip: Choose the higher floors and airport facing rooms ... you can get a good view of the picturesque Sch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AAYKAY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    270
    77
    26
    9
See reviews for
48
175
57
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
352 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We choose the Holiday Inn Express near the airport in Amsterdam due to a very early departure. Check-in was fine reservation was found. We arranged for a 4:30 AM wake-up call and a 5 AM taxi. Set my mobile for 15 minutes earlier. Went Into the shower no hot water upon receiving the hotel's call I informed the desk that we had no hot water he said that he was alone and that he could not help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsbyrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear travelsbyrail,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had with the lack of hot water. Kindly be assured that this will be taken seriously as we always strive to meet every guests' needs. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenya
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have stayed at Holiday Inn Expresses in several countries and expected this would be the same. NOT so........we found the two young ladies at reception when we checked in to be helpful and nice however after having just flown 8 hrs and been in transit for 12 we had hoped to have a good night sleep! We found the bed very uncomfortable, the drain in the shower was clogged and the soap dispenser in shower was empty. We didn't report this to reception because it was 10pm and we were heading to bed very exhausted! Breakfast was your usual buffet, nothing exciting but adequate. The gentleman at reception gave us directions to the train station. Just as a side note: It would have been nice to have been told the machines at the station only accepted coins or that we could have ordered our tickets on line at the hotel before heading to the station. They shouldn't assume that every guest is familiar with the train system in the Netherlands. Thankfully another traveler at the train station helped us out! Compared to other Holiday Inn Expresses.......the overall experience was not as nice! I would definitely check into other options on our next trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank livinlifeinKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear livinlifeinKenya,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not what you expected. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you had with the bed and some bathroom fixtures. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Guest comfort is of the utmost concern to us and our hotels are committed to making every possible effort to provide a comfortable environment. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk/Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you think this is just another business hotel in the middle of an industrial estate, your right. However that would be a little misleading also. Yes this hotel is in the middle of a business park but it is well worth considering if you are visiting Amsterdam. The hotel is new and the rooms are excellent with superb bathrooms. The free breakfast is great with plenty of choice to allow you stock up for a days sightseeing in Amsterdam. The train station is 10/15 minutes walk from the hotel and the journey takes about 25 min to the centre of the city. Another plus is that the hotel provide a free shuttle bus from the airport and if you need to use it to get back to the airport the charge is €7 per person. Try getting a taxi for €7. Whilst it would be more preferable to stay in the city centre you will pay much more than at this hotel and you may not get the value for money you will receive at the HIE.

Room Tip: Request a corner room when booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank franDundalk_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Well we took a long time to check in as our name was not listed. While we waited we had access to free coffee from the complimentary breakfast buffet. The room was tiny and apparently clean. However there was a sesame sead on the pillow which had an irritating smell.
When I needed an iron I was told to go down to second floor where the service room was located.
The water reservoir of the iron was broken which spilled rusty water on my clothes. Sink in service room had no water in it.
Breakfast choice was ok.
Being very close to Hoofddorp station was its only asset.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Egyptiantravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Egyptiantravellers,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us.

I am saddened to hear that your stay with us did not live up to your expectations. I sincerely apologize for our level of cleanliness in some areas fell below your standards. We deeply regret that your experience was not ideal and sorry for the lapse in service.

It is only through valuable feedback we receive from our valued customers that we would be in a position to know where we go wrong and rectify the circumstances or incidents, in order to ensure that we do not repeat the same in the future. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothell, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Be sure to stay at theHoliday Inn Express near Schiphol Airport. We had a group of 6 women who all were very pleased with the very clean pleasant rooms, great beds and super showers. The self service breakfast was fabulous, good bakery goods and juices. Well informed English speaking staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOanM56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here 4 weeks ago. The hotel looks recently renovated and the staff is friendly. The rooms were small but comfortable and the bathroom was clean. My only complaint is that the work of the maids is lacking. We stayed 5 nights and 3 days the room was made up but not thoroughly.
Towels were left in the room and the bed spread was barely put back on the bed. Other than that its a nice place--away from City center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rick11nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoofddorp
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
2.3 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam Schiphol
1.0 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol

Property: Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol
Address: Jupiterstraat 162-200, 2132 HH Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Hoofddorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hoofddorp
#1 Family Hotel in Hoofddorp
#2 Business Hotel in Hoofddorp
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hoofddorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting to our Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam - Schiphol hotel is easy. Only a short drive from the Airport Schiphol in our hotel shuttle bus will bring you directly to the hotel (we only offer the ride from the Airport to the hotel for free, back to the Airport the fee is € 7,50 per person), the rail station from Hoofddorp is a short stroll away and takes you from the hotel to Amsterdam Central Station in only 20 minutes. The hotel is also easily accessible by car from the A4, midway between The Hague and Amsterdam. Inside the Holiday Inn Express hotel Amsterdam Schiphol you will find a welcoming interior, full of natural daylight and plenty of room to enjoy a drink and connect with colleagues. The hotel offers complimentary breakfast and free wireless Internet throughout the hotel! The rooms have everything you need with great bedding, walk in shower, LCD TV, coffee & tea facilities and working space.Looking for a hotel for your next city break or stopover? Downtown Amsterdam is only a short journey away from our hotel, with the famous canals, the house of Anne Frank, the Van Gogh museum, the Red Light District, but also the windmills and Keukenhof with its famous tulip fields are close to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Schiphol Hotel Hoofddorp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing