We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic hotel, perfectly located.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel and Residence De Draak
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bergen op Zoom
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic hotel, perfectly located.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was my second stay at this hotel, i had previously stayed in the main building but this time in the annex due to refurbishment. The hotel is a short walk from the train station. The annex has excellent character not unlike Hogwarts (as joked by myself and my colleague). The hotel is located on a quaint market square which comes alive at night offering fantastic food and drink. I will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    81
    22
    12
    3
See reviews for
15
77
9
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

The good: Excellent location right in the heart of Bergen op Zoom Friendly service, free and fast WiFi, the odlest hotel in town. They set me up in an apartment because I was staying for more than a week and on business travel. Decent room, newer furniture, quiet, and great shower. Many local restaurant's, decent but some are over priced, breakfast is free if you decide to eat at hotel. The breakfast is the same everyday including the weekend. Don't expect an omelete made on demand or even a Belgium waffle machine. There are plenty of places within walking distance. Parking a rental car is an adventure. Great place for the wife or girlfriend to shop while working during the day. Overall, I enjoyed my stay.

Room Tip: If you are planning to stay for more than a week. Ask for the apartment as it is very spacious with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Piresm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Portugal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

old hotel, rooms very strange distribution, hotel hallways smell like old, rooms with average dimension, the age of the rooms already being felt, is not a very clean (problems with the cleanliness of bathrooms), did not replace consumables (shampoo, bath gel, etc.) every day, breakfast very good (quality and quantity), good location, helpful staff, good wifi, for those who like old palaces a good choice. I do not know if would come back here.
prices for 4 star hotel but quality of 3 star hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Grove, IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Charming hotel in beautiful Bergen Op Zoom square. Rooms were comfortable and didn't have drafts that can be typical of older hotels. bathrooms were well appointed with heated bath towel rods, nice powerful shower, etc. There are several different wings to the hotel so navigation was tricky at first. Unfortunately, I was in town for business and did not have time to explore the town. Free wifi was a plus

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DewieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The de Draak is reputedly the oldest hotel in the Netherlands, first receiving guests in the 1500s, I believe. The rhombus shaped elevator, uneven floors and stairs and meandering hallways attest to its vintage. It has been beautifully restored and kept. The staff are helpful and multilingual. The breakfast is outstanding. It's the location that's the niggly. Located in the Grote Markt, it is central to everything; however, the square is apparently the gathering site of many festivities one of which, in our experience, went long into the night and made sleeping impossible. The staff did accommodate us by moving us to a wing quite removed from the square. Parking can be a problem. A fitness centre is located in another building across the square

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs and check ahead to see if there are major activities in the square. If so, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is apparently the oldest hotel in Holland, and you can tell. The reception looks like the Addams family, and the rooms are full of ancient furniture that belongs at the Bates Motel. It's just creepy, and I didn't sleep at all. If you like historic hotels with "character" you'll love it. Otherwise, steer clear.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has been renovated since 1600!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yarbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our weekend stay and liked the historic hotel from the 1390ies. There is history everywhere. The location is nice, at the market place of this small town. The service could be better, e.g. The breakfast dishes were not removed and there were no waiters, for a nice breakfast go somewhere else. We chose this hotel to spend the weekend on the beaches of Zeeland and we preferred Domburg which has an amzingly large sand beach and also small shops, bars, restaurants.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergen op Zoom
0.4 mi away
Tulip Inn Bergen op Zoom
Tulip Inn Bergen op Zoom
#4 of 6 in Bergen op Zoom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Stadspark
0.4 mi away
Hotel Old Dutch Bergen op Zoom
Hotel Old Dutch Bergen op Zoom
#5 of 6 in Bergen op Zoom
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel Central
Hotel Central
#1 of 5 in Roosendaal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
6.4 mi away
De Volksabdij
De Volksabdij
#1 of 3 in Ossendrecht
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
19.9 mi away
Hotel Princeville
Hotel Princeville
#3 of 15 in Breda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel and Residence De Draak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel and Residence De Draak

Property: Grand Hotel and Residence De Draak
Address: Grote Markt 36-38, 4611 NT Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Bergen op Zoom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bergen op Zoom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel and Residence De Draak 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel and Residence De Draak is on the central Grote Markt in Bergen op Zoom. The hotel features free Wi-Fi throughout and is decorated with antique silver, paintings and tapestries. De Draak is the oldest hotel in The Netherlands, dating back to before 1397. All rooms and suite are unique in style and have characteristic details. Restaurant Hemingway serves classic French-orientated dishes with world influences. You can drink your favorite beer or soda on the terrace. De Draak is a 10-minute walk from the train station. You can also relax on the nearby beaches or take a city tour past the Markiezenhof and the Gertrudiskerk. There is a private parking area available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel and Residence De Draak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence De Draak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing