We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldest hotel in Netherlands, rooms are clean and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel and Residence De Draak
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bergen op Zoom
Certificate of Excellence
Long Grove, IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Oldest hotel in Netherlands, rooms are clean and comfortable”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Charming hotel in beautiful Bergen Op Zoom square. Rooms were comfortable and didn't have drafts that can be typical of older hotels. bathrooms were well appointed with heated bath towel rods, nice powerful shower, etc. There are several different wings to the hotel so navigation was tricky at first. Unfortunately, I was in town for business and did not have time to explore the town. Free wifi was a plus

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DewieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    83
    24
    12
    5
See reviews for
16
83
9
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

The de Draak is reputedly the oldest hotel in the Netherlands, first receiving guests in the 1500s, I believe. The rhombus shaped elevator, uneven floors and stairs and meandering hallways attest to its vintage. It has been beautifully restored and kept. The staff are helpful and multilingual. The breakfast is outstanding. It's the location that's the niggly. Located in the Grote Markt, it is central to everything; however, the square is apparently the gathering site of many festivities one of which, in our experience, went long into the night and made sleeping impossible. The staff did accommodate us by moving us to a wing quite removed from the square. Parking can be a problem. A fitness centre is located in another building across the square

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs and check ahead to see if there are major activities in the square. If so, ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

This is apparently the oldest hotel in Holland, and you can tell. The reception looks like the Addams family, and the rooms are full of ancient furniture that belongs at the Bates Motel. It's just creepy, and I didn't sleep at all. If you like historic hotels with "character" you'll love it. Otherwise, steer clear.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has been renovated since 1600!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yarbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

We enjoyed our weekend stay and liked the historic hotel from the 1390ies. There is history everywhere. The location is nice, at the market place of this small town. The service could be better, e.g. The breakfast dishes were not removed and there were no waiters, for a nice breakfast go somewhere else. We chose this hotel to spend the weekend on the beaches of Zeeland and we preferred Domburg which has an amzingly large sand beach and also small shops, bars, restaurants.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HannahAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The good:
Excellent location right in the heart of Bergen op Zoom
Friendly service, flawless free and fast WiFi, unique.
Decent room, quiet, great shower.
The So so:
Local (French) restaurant is decent but over priced, same with breakfast. There are plenty of places within walking distance.
Parking a rental car is an adventure. Seems like a wild goose chase because of one way streets. You finally end up close to the hotel at secure parking but it costs you like 15 Euro's a night.
Bathroom got very warm (hot water heaters close?), needed airco to cool room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sqrt-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for two nights in May, when we experienced reasonable spring weather. It is in a lovely old building overlooking the main town square.The square is very pleasant. You are in the centre of things, so are able to quickly access restaurants, shops or merely wander around the old town. Parking is in an open area enclosed by buildings away from the main property, so you will have to haul your luggage through and over the cobblestones to get to the hotel. The common areas downstairs are quite pleasant, with interesting decor and period features.

Breakfast was had in a small, windowless room behind reception. The food was reasonable with typical dutch continental style food and a few hot items, but it wasn't an exceptional experience. The main restaurant has expensive, but nice food, in a traditional style, with a lovely outdoor eating area for better weather. We ate out for five meals while we were there and this was probably the best food we had.

Our room was reached via a meandering corridors and a couple of very small lifts. The room was one of the better ones, large and on the top floor, but it wasn't of the same ambience or standard as the main reception rooms. It tended to be a little dark, the furnishings and carpet seemed a bit old and grotty and the beds were not particularly comfortable. People could be heard through the walls. While I appreciate the restrictions of the older building, furnishings are definitely due for an update. The bathroom was reasonably appointed.

Wifi was either complementary or included in our rate, and could be accessed from the restaurants in the square outside, which was much appreciated.

Staff were mixed. While I can understand the reference to Fawlty Towers, most of the staff are approachable, although they don't necessarily exhibit the notion of "service", where all things can be done for a guest, as one understands it in more international or cosmopolitan places.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
161 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

The hotel is situated in a pretty historic building on picturesque Grote Markt in town that has a lot to offer in terms of architecture, museums, etc. The rooms are not quite as pretty they appear on the pictures, bathrooms in particular. I had to laugh reading the previous review about the receptionist as I was there that morning and saw her giving that sort of warning about breakfast. Its an element of local style of being 'honest'....

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank caledonian_nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bergen op Zoom
0.4 mi away
Tulip Inn Bergen op Zoom
Tulip Inn Bergen op Zoom
#4 of 6 in Bergen op Zoom
79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Stadspark
18.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Goes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Old Dutch Bergen op Zoom
Hotel Old Dutch Bergen op Zoom
#5 of 6 in Bergen op Zoom
22 reviews
8.2 mi away
Bastion Hotel Roosendaal
Bastion Hotel Roosendaal
#2 of 5 in Roosendaal
88 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel Dekkers
Hotel Dekkers
#2 of 3 in Ossendrecht
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel and Residence De Draak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel and Residence De Draak

Property: Grand Hotel and Residence De Draak
Address: Grote Markt 36-38, 4611 NT Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Bergen op Zoom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Bergen op Zoom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel and Residence De Draak 4*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hotel de Draak is the oldest company and hotel in the Netherlands. We have been hospitable for over 600 years and you can find us in the city centre of Bergen op Zoom on the square (Grote Markt). During your stay you will be indulged in the medieval ages with modern comfort. The city Bergen op Zoom has a nice shopping area, lots of monuments and it is a cultural treasure of the province Noord Brabant. Grand Hotel de Draak consists of 62 hotel rooms, 6 meeting spaces, Restaurant Hemingway, Spa – Well and Fitness. Grand Hotel de Draak has 62 hotel rooms equipped with luxury and comfort, most of the rooms have a 14th or 15th – century construction and have all the modern equipment you can expect from a four star hotel. We have a wide variety of hotel rooms from deluxe to (junior) suites and superior suites. Every room in our hotel is unique, in its shape, size and diversity in decoration. Our Residence Dagmara has 16 hotel rooms decorated in Empire style. The 15 rooms in “De Gouden Leeuw” (literally it translates into The Golden Lion) are decorated in a traditional British style and the other 31 rooms in the main building of Grand Hotel de Draak are decorated in a modern style. The oldest hotel of the Netherlands has all the modern day comfort which the modern traveller needs. Throughout the entire hotel all our guests can make use of our free Wi-Fi and of course our spa – well and fitness. Besides that we have 32 spaces on our parking lot where our hotel guests can park their car for a fixed rate per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel and Residence De Draak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residence De Draak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing