We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low expectations exceeded” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Bogotá
Level Contributor
112 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Low expectations exceeded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I mean my title in the nicest possible way, I wasn't expecting much from the cheapest hotel I could find at AMS but to the hotel's credit

+ I got a discount of 10% at the bar next door in the Ibis proper which was nice
+ Shuttle service was excellent and timely
+ Check in was efficient and friendly
+ Room was quirky but clean and quiet

I only stayed at the hotel for one night and had an early escape back to AMS for an onward flight to Frankfurt. So I "borrowed" a luggage trolley and just left it next to my bed all night.

All in all a happy and cheap stay, Thanks Ibis Budget @ AMS

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyBogota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RondeGraaf, Manager at Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. Very much appreciated. Look forward to welcoming you back. With kind regards, Operational Manager Inge Beek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,728 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    807
    489
    123
    55
See reviews for
413
575
270
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I had read some reviews about the smelly drain in the shower and hoped that the problem had been solved by the time we would be staying there. Unfortunately it was not. The air smelt like dead rat. It was tolerable for one night, but only because we could open the window for some air. Fortunately there was not a lot of noise from the nearby road that night.

Definitely a budget hotel but okay for one night on a layover or early flight. You get what you pay for: hard bed, flat pillows and a tiny, basic room. The free wifi was a bonus, given it is budget, and it wasn't slow as one might expect either! I have to say though, that while the room was clean enough, it was not *that* clean. There was a collection of dust and grot forming on the baseboards by the bed.

We skipped breakfast, opting to have breakfast at Schiphol before our flight so I can't comment on that. The free airport shuttle was very handy and the drivers were friendly. Fast check-in and no need to check out given that you don't get a key, just a passcode on a paper for the room.

Acceptable price at €50 but in retrospect I should have just paid €20 more and gone to the Ibis next door, as I get more of a kick out of having a pleasant experience than saving a few bucks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which doesn't reek like dead rat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RondeGraaf, General Manager at Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport. We are really sorry to hear that your stay wasn't up to expectations. We have noted your comments about smell in the shower. Unfortunally it is a recurring problem. We have taken the necessary measures and hope that the problems stay away.
With kind regards, General Manager Ron de Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

i have stayed here quite a few times and this is a great cheap place to stay for a amsterdam trip ,you get a free shuttle to the airport which takes 10-15 mins and then get a train to the centre which is another 15 mins.
i would stay at any accor hotel and reccomend to all .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kezyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RondeGraaf, Manager at Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Nice to hear that you recommendour hotel and all the other Accor hotels. Thank you for that. Look forward to welcoming you back.
With kind regards, Operational Manager Inge Beek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was really disappointed with the service in this hotel. All staff from the reception were highly rude and did not help me at all. A smile is almost impossible and they think they are doing a favour to you. However, the drivers and the cleaning staffs were really sweet and were working in a really good modd. When it concern to cleanliness and accommodation overall, I was really satisfied. The major problem was the service given by the reception people.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Poliana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RondeGraaf, General Manager at Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, we treat all comments with the utmost seriousness and will be investigating the matter accordingly. Kind regards, General Manager Ron de Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

pleasantly surprised at this hotel.... cost us 102 pound for 3 of us for 2 nights so wasn't expecting much. very clean an comfortable only problem we had was trying to get a duvet for the top bunk bed as it only had a blanket. hubby went down twice an got the reply hotel is full we have no spare duvets.... after a little rant they managed to get us one. never had breakfast there as it didn't look too good but free transport to and from airport was great

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelsbels76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RondeGraaf, Manager at Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We really value your feedback. With kind regards, Operational manager Inge Beek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
344 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here for a night during transit through Amsterdam. Hotel offers shuttle service from Airport - but the shuttle does round of various group hotels before reaching here. Took about 20 minutes from airport.

Checkin was smooth -as there were no other people when I checkedin. The room was quite basic and is just enough to sleepin. Like a typical European hotel, the room size is quite small. There is free breakfast, but I did not have it as I had an early morning flight to take.

the place is somewhat remote with nothing interesting to do anyway. Choose ONLY if your purpose is to spend the night close to airport.

Room Tip: You dont have much choice here, rather than just sleep overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank indiavoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RondeGraaf, General Manager at Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I have to correct your comment about the free breakfast. This is not included in the room rate but available for 7,50 each person, children under twelf years are for free. Best regards, Ron de Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We needed a room to stay in for 4 hours between a flight in from Turkey landing at 2 am and a flight at 8 am to the UK. This hotel was perfect. Really low price (42 E for a double room), good bed, shower, breakfast if you wanted it, near the airport and shuttle bus available.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RondeGraaf, General Manager at Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you very much, it's always good to hear when my hotel suits our guests needs. I hope to see you again when you are back in Amsterdam, maybe for some longer time. Best regards, Ron de Graaf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badhoevedorp
0.1 mi away
Hotel ibis Amsterdam Airport
1.9 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
7.4 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Zaandam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
3.8 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
1.0 mi away
Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport

Property: Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
Address: Schipholweg 185, 1171 Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Etap Hotel Amsterdam Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Amsterdam Airport
Etap Hotel Badhoevedorp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing