We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice staff, poor kitchen service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice staff, poor kitchen service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

As per my job I stay in this hotel around 6 to 8 night per month, I have to say that I don't get to choose the hotels, the comany does.

The hotel it's ok, very nice and friendly staff, the gym is just 1 minute walking and it's really good.
The rooms are basic but they have all you need.

The really bad point is the kitchen. I have my breakfast to go in many occasions and I order it vegetarian. Of all the times that I have ordered only one I got it properly, the staff in the kitchen allways put ham on my breakfast but the have the nerve to writte vegetarian on the box. Why bother if you obviously don't really care.
Extremely poor service from the kitchen. Not to say that at the restaurant the only vegetarian option is a plate of pasta. Of course i never use the restaurant for anything.
It would be a better hotel if the staff in the kitchen would actually listen what people ask for, not just writte it on the outside of the box.
If younstay at this hotel and have any dietary requirements forget about it, they won't listen. I have complaint about it in many occasions and I still get ham on my breakfast. Not very impressed.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 0_valen_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    398
    202
    54
    24
See reviews for
161
270
109
238
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Location OK if you just want an overnight stay at Schipol airport. Free bus approx every 35 mins to and from the airport. Hotel worth the extra cost compared to Ibis. this stupid site won't let me close without writing at least 200 characters!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

I've stayed here several times, The staff are freindly and helpful, dinner and breakfast were fine. The rooms are basic but functional. The shuttle bus is punctual and regular.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

The hotel is approximately 15' away from Schiphol airport by a shuttle that is quite reliable. The frequency of the shuttle depends on the time of day. During rush hour it is about every 20'. The rooms were good enough and clean but rather old. However the service in the restaurant was beyond expectations since we encountered many shortages. For example the dishes in the buffet were empty and they were not frequent refilled even if we asked for, there was shortage in the cutlery and in glasses. There were also problems in the conference room. We experienced Internet connection disruptions, the coffee breaks were poor and the conference room was cold. Even in the checkout we encountered many problems in order to have the invoice in the format we wanted.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yboul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2011

The good: location ok and good shuttle service
The bad: Poor rooms, windows that let the cold in, heating system not working properly, non-requested wakeup call, poor breakfast (not even coffee they had), rude people.

The price is cheap of course, the this Novotel is wayyyy bellow standards. This is not a 4* hotel as they claim, I would considered it not better than the Ibis.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joao_Amorim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tukwila
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

We stayed at this hotel twice - were so pleased with the quality of the hotel that we booked it again for the night before our flight from Schipol. The staff are very pleasant and efficent, the hotel was clean and nicely decorated, and our room was incredibly quiet - we got an excellent night's sleep during both stays.

The only "negative" and this is minor, is the 10 Euro early check-in fee, as check-in is not until 2:00p.m. Because this hotel caters to patrons of a huge and busy international airport, people are coming and going at all times, so it just seems a bit odd that the hotel is not prepared for this.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

I stayed in Novotel Amsterdam Airport last Month and I was verry happy with everything.
Hotel staff very nice and polite- will do their best to help you. Clean and quiet rooms, swimming pool, sauna and the pub downstairs make our stay even more plesent !!!
I am sure if I come bact to Amsterdam I will stay there again.
And the best thing- their`ve got their own bus going from the Airport to the hotel every 15 mins from 5 am till 1 am !!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bejbicka90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badhoevedorp
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
1.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
1.8 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#128 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,106 reviews
2.4 mi away
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
3.6 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam

Property: Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Sloterweg 299, 1171 VB Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands (Formerly Dorint Novotel)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The recently refurbished Dorint Airport-Hotel Amsterdam is a 4 star hotel ideally located in a quiet area around Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, which is only 5 km away. In our hotel, not far from the centre of Amsterdam, a good night sleep is guaranteed. The Novotel is an ideal base for guests on a business trip. All hotel rooms feature free WiFi and airconditioning. The hotel offers 10 meeting rooms, a lobby bar, pub, restaurant, swimming pool, sauna and hamam. Adjacent to a sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorint Airport Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Amsterdam Airport Hotel Badhoevedorp
Novotel Hotel Badhoevedorp
Novotel Badhoevedorp
Badhoevedorp Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing