We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Bitter Balls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

2,799 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    1,289
    708
    166
    86
See reviews for
381
836
482
700
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Let me be Honest first, only reason i chose this hotel was because i couldnt find anything else :) Due to King's day everything was pretty much booked and so only Hotels availalble were near airport. Lets start with positive notes first

- A good Shuttle service: Last one leaves airport at 01:15 AM and first one leaves at 05:00 AM. the frequency varies across day with most travelling between 8-11 and then between 12-3 PM it decreases and then goes back to 3-4 every hour. The bus is a blue big bus has ample place to store luggage but is nearly always crowded, when you get out of airport head for A9 on your right and you will find the name of the hotel written near the Stop. Shuttle bus is white and blue and same bus goes to Ibis, Ibis Budget and Novotel.

- A good luggae storage facility, we came early morning and so our check in time was 1500, but they have a luggage storage facility where you can store your luggae and come back in and check in later. if you are going to be back from City late then better to ask them to block a room for you

- If you need to go to Rijkmuseum, then best thing is go out of hotel head straight and then on your Left, you will find a white storage facility of KLM walk on the road next to it, not the big two lane highway, its called caterinaweg and at the end of the road turn left. there are 2 stops there look for the one on the right side with angled road there it will be written Bus no 197, you can board this and it takes you directly to Rijkmuseum, very convenient in 15 mins or so. Its a connexxion bus so you will need to buy a ticket for 5 euros apart from your usual pass.

- Hotel Staff is very friendly and welcoming.

- There is free Wifi all around, works really well and have few stations as well on ground floor where you can surf internet, lots of seating areas all around.

- 24 hour service center where you can get some sandwiches, water, coffee etc. bar which is open till 1 AM and few other choice of restaurants

Now lets focus on negativities

- Really bad breakfast, dont ever ever pay for it. it costs 17 Euros and not worth it, its good but maybe for 8-10 euros. Nothing is warm its all cold breakfast and they shld really rethink prices

- Aweful restaurants, probabaly the worst Pizza ever, Dont eat here ever

- Not great connectivity to central, you have to go to airport in shuttle then take a train its always a pain and takes 2 hours out of your time in commuting. Not something you want to do when you are on a city break.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobeTrotterTales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadja R, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Ibis hotel Amsterdam Airport. We appreciate all of your comments, positive and negative.

We hope you had a great kingsday, as it is one of the biggest celebrations in the Netherlands each year.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We are sorry to hear about your experience with our breakfast and restaurant.
We treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and always learn from them.

We offer a standard breakfast to provide in everyones needs as good as possible. We are very sorry that our breakfast was not up to your expectations. We are currently reviewing our breakfast and we will take your comments into consideration.

We would like to know why the pizza you had wasn't up to the standards. Also we would like to know when you ate in our restaurant. This way we can investigate who was on duty that evening and discuss your issues with our staff.

As I said earlier Kingsday is a great feast in the Netherlands and many people travel from and to Amsterdam around the 26th of April. It is possible that your commute took a little longer because of this reason why usually it takes about 25 minutes to Amsterdam centre.

We hope that, following our improvements, we may count you among the guests of ibis hotels.
We hope to see you again soon,

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here as part of a group on 18th April. Had travelled a long way and our group leader was given assurances that some if not all of our group would be allowed to check in early. This did not happen and we were told to come back at 3. This we did and about 90 minutes later we checked in to an unserviced room. We eventually got a lovely room next to the air conditioning / heating just to ensure our opinion on the hotel didnt contain any ambiguity. Would have thought that the unsupervised luggage area, rude courtesy driver and poorly trained receptionist staff would have been enough.... Breakfast was average but again the staff training was poor. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudeboyireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadja R, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Ibis Amsterdam Airport. I am sorry that your experience did not totally meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Ibis we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer. Therefor we would like to have some more information. We will contact you directly.

We appreciate your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Badhoevedorp hotels

Pinellas Park, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

I have stayed in many tourist hotels throughout Europe but this hotel did not even provide little niceities such as a hand towel or box of Kleenex. All in all, the hotel was acceptable for my needs. There was a "budget Ibis" on the same grounds. Makes me wonder what the difference is between the two properties.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagwilltravel924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadja R, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the ibis Amsterdam Airport. I am sorry that your experience did not totally meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

The difference between Ibis Amsterdam Airport and Ibis Budget is the facilities. For example the Ibis Budget hotel has only a breakfast area and no restaurant.

We do hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Nice clean and modern hotel located quite near the airport. Shuttle busses that ride back and forth on a fixed schedule are always very full.
Nice clean rooms. The staff were all very helpful. This makes a hotel stay so much better.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shibaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadja R, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Amsterdam Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.


Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My only complaints were lack of towels ( you get two med sized thin towels... No wash cloths and no floor mat) and lack of instructions in dealing with self serve food. But other than that, screaming deal.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadja R, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Ibis Amsterdam Airport. It is always a pleasure to reciece positive feedback.

At your next stay, you can always call reception when in need for extra towels or assistance with our Take Away. Our staff is happy to help you at any time.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights while visiting friends in the area.
The hotel is situated at the northern side of the airport and easily reached from the airport (and its train/bus links) by the free shuttle bus.
My room was clean, well equipped (apart from no coffee/tea making facilities) and comfortable. The remote for the TV did not work when I arrived but this was sorted out within a few minutes.
The hotel does not have a cafe as such, but instead a "serve yourself" area in reception where you can get a variety of snacks, together with coffee from a machine. However, there is a quite reasonable restaurant on the top floor for evening meals.
The staff were friendly and helpful during my stay.
A few negative points - the hotel is in a remote location with (apart from the nearby McDonalds) nothing to do or see or facilities within walking distance. The above mentioned self service area is very expensive - 3.50 Euros for a small bottle of still mineral water for example.
By its very nature as a stop-over hotel for air travellers, expect certain guests (probably still thinking they are in a different time zone!) to make excessive noise in the corridors during the night and early morning.
It is also interesting that despite being an Accor cardholder, supposedly getting preferential room rates, I achieved a better deal by booking through a UK online agency, getting a better price INCLUDING breakfast than the room only rate offered via Accor.
Breakfast was plentiful and of good quality.

A hotel I will certainly consider on my next trip to the Amsterdam area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadja R, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Amsterdam Airport. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

We will share your comments with our team. We are sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services

We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badhoevedorp
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
1.9 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
3.8 mi away
NH Amsterdam Schiphol Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hilton Amsterdam Airport Schiphol
2.0 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#112 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,759 reviews
1.4 mi away
Steigenberger Airport Hotel Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport

Property: Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Address: Schipholweg 181, 1171 PK Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 644
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ibis Amsterdam Airport is is the largest hotel in the Netherlands, featuring 644 guestrooms. The hotel is close to Schiphol International Airport (free shuttle service to and from Schiphol from 05.05 to 01.15. Just 30 min from the centre of Amsterdam, it is ideal for a business trip or holiday visit. Close to the RAI Exhibition Centre and the central business district. Book one of our 644 airconditioned rooms and benefit from our facilities, 2 restaurants, bar, 5 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences, WiFi Internet access and private pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Amsterdam Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing