We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outrageous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
GreenLeadersGold level
Tallinn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Outrageous”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Arrived at 1 in the night. Had a prepaid room (not to mention I am Platinum level client who sometimes perhaps could expect good service) but got no room at all when arrived.
The receptionist claimed he had tried to call me in advance to inform me about the issue but had not reached me (and for some unknown reasons, they did not leave message at my voice mail).
No compensation as such was offered, they did arrange me a "free night " at Ibis Budget which really is a very basic type of accommodation). The (probably existing) difference in room rates in those two hotels was not reimbursed. Overall expression - big disappointment!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TarmoThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly P, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest,

I am sorry that on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and I am currently investigating this matter. Please feel free to contact me directly on H0649-SL@accor.com to discuss this further and to find a solution togheter.

kindest regards,
Kimberly Peters
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    1,534
    808
    192
    100
See reviews for
467
1,042
550
816
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wyoming, Michigan, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The bus was late by 20 minutes, both to and from hotel. Ironing board is useless, iron was dirty and no steam. I was unable to connect to internet in my room, #2112, and after 30 minutes and numerous phone calls to front desk, finally it connected but only for several minutes and it was extremely slow, frustrating to say the least. The floor in room was sticky, as well as the desk. Towels were not soft, and seemed to be worn out. The wake up button on phone did not work. TV programs minimal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly P, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to ibis Amsterdam Airport.
We treat all of our comments with the utmost seriousness and we will be investigating this matter accordingly. Kind regards,

Kimberly Peters
Sales Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

They never let you down, you know exactly what you're going to get with these Ibis hotels. I've used them in Milan, in Paris and many more close to the airport. Very convenient, all taken good of, smaal but clean and all you need is in there rooms. Fast internet all over the hotel and it's free! Good breakfast which gets you going in the morning. It's just what you can expect, nothing spectacular but great price / quality relationship, you know what you're going to get.. good service!

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room they put you at the end of the hallway, it's quiet a walk to get there but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frans C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nites in Jan 2013. The last leg of my 2 weeks travel in Europe so needed to stay somewhere near the airport as not to miss my flight back home. The hotel is average, small rooms and definitely been used a lot. The shuttle runs every 20min and very reliable. Without the shuttle it will indeed be a hassle as there is nothing nearby. Though there is a McD but still quite far to walk especially with children. The shuttle make 3 stops usually, ibis, ibis budget and novotel but the ibis and budget is just beside one another. The airport have many eateries and even a supermarket. Train to Amsterdam is readily available for a short trip into the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aimantakkisah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
313 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Location
Hotel is located about 10-15 drive from Schipol airport, there is nothing in the immediate area other than McDonald's which is about 10 minute walk away. The shuttle bus comes every 20 minutes back and forth to the airport. Despite what other people are saying, I found the service fine but maybe I was lucky as the large coach was always there when I needed or at least 5 minutes later. It drops off and picks up right outside the right side of the exit of schipol airport. Be warned the bus also shows Novotel on the side, they use the same bus in which to goes to afterwards.
Room
The room is your standard ibis room dingy with no luxuries but was ok, it was clean, quiet and had enough plugs and adequate lighting. The bathroom was quite Japanese hotel style as in a raised unit all very plasticky with a shower and toilet. Plenty of towels but no real amenities, only shower gel attached to the shower and soap by the toilet. There was a very small TV but controller didnt work, I believe you have to purchase a card and insert into the remote to use it. Wanted to check this but kept calling reception in which nobody answered in ten minutes.
Facilities
There are 3 restaurants I believe did not use any of them as decided to have dinner in Amsterdam after the horrendous reviews on here about food, did not want to risk it. The only facility I used is WIFI in which is not secure but works fast.
Staff.
Staff at reception were very nice upon check-in, it was smooth process as booking already made on Accor website. Nobody at reception though answers the phone in which is poor service.
Overall the room was 64 Euros without breakfast and TV, which is expensive compared to most parts of the world but then again other nearby airport hotels were more. It is a simple hotel for one nighter only, I was thankful I stayed here because just behind the building is IBIS budget which looked horrible plus it was convenient to get to the airport early. Would have been 3 stars if the TV worked.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Due to my British Airways flight being cancelled. I stayed there for one night. The buffet in the Caribbean restaurant is very limited and at one point people started getting really annoyed and shouted "food, food, food" as all the trays were empty. I believe that this hotel deals on a regular basis with flight cancellations, but they seemed to be quite unorganised and one member of staff was actually quite rude, probably cracking under pressure from the two coaches of cancellations. But should they not be better prepared or trained? And also, why is it that dinner is only served at a specific time? If I had to pay to stay in that hotel ,they would never get my money as the rooms didn't have any coffee/ tea facilities, shower and tv were basic and room quality very poor. For the rate they are charging customers, not good value for money at all.

Room Tip: Their rate is too high!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zltm089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly P, Director of Sales at Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry on this occasion that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and am currently investigating the matter. Please note that I will contact you personally once my investigation is done. Of course feel free to contact me on h0649-sl1@accor.com as well if you prefer to discuss this further.

Kind regards,

Carola van der Linden
Commercial Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badhoevedorp
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Amsterdam Airport
1.9 mi away
citizenM Schiphol Airport
6.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Schiphol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sheraton Amsterdam Airport Hotel and Conference Center
2.0 mi away
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
Park Plaza Amsterdam Airport
#130 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,143 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport

Property: Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport
Address: Schipholweg 181, 1171 PK Badhoevedorp, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Haarlemmermeer > Badhoevedorp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Badhoevedorp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 644
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel ibis Amsterdam Airport is is the largest hotel in the Netherlands, featuring 644 guestrooms. The hotel is close to Schiphol International Airport (free shuttle service to and from Schiphol from 05.05 to 01.15. Just 30 min from the centre of Amsterdam, it is ideal for a business trip or holiday visit. Close to the RAI Exhibition Centre and the central business district. Book one of our 644 airconditioned rooms and benefit from our facilities, 2 restaurants, bar, 5 meeting rooms for seminars and conferences, WiFi Internet access and private pay parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Ibis Schiphol Amsterdam Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Accor Amsterdam Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing