We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel! Totally recommended if you are travelling by car, moto or bike”
Review of Stayokay Noordwijk

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stayokay Noordwijk
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The hostel is cute and clean.
The sheets are provided and they are sealed: you have to prepare your own bed which can be a little difficult if you are arriving late, but like this you are sure that the sheets are clean. I loved this policy!

The personal of the hostel was so sweet and kind!!! They help us out a lot, one guy from the check in waited for us until 20 past midnight even if the check in close at 10 pm and Tessa has been so sweet and kind giving us all the information we need and all the possible help! Tessa, you have been our saviour!

We haven't had time to spend lot of time in the hostel but it seemed to us a lovely place to spend some hours.

The breakfast is good, and they offer also the possibility to have dinner there.

When we went there there were a lot of family, fact that make the hostel quite and safe. Even though the 2nd night a bunch of young (I would say also drunk) boys made some noise (at 3 am) in getting to their room.

You can rent a bike for 9 euros which is good if you want to go around or visit Keukenhof (totally worth it!).

The only downside is the position: it is quite islated so if you are travelling by train/bus be prepared to walk for 3 km to reach the bus station and to go there think about taking a taxi from Leiden.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EryAlice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 61 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2014

Second time at this hostel, the same situation as before: very basic building (though this time the room on the ground floor was on the dark side), good food, adequate staff, great location for bike rides (you can rent one at the place) and visits to the nearby beach.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank Longcityisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This Stay Okay Hostel is right outside of Noordwijk, West of Noordwijkerhout and North of Lisse (Keukenhof).
The Hostel is conveniently located for both bikes and cars, with a large (free) parking lot directly off the road.
The building itself appears to be completely renovated and has a nice clean, colorful and modern feel to it.
The staff is multi lingual and very helpful.
The rooms are basic, with bunkbeds, a sink with hot and cold water, a small storage area for each occupant, a shower and a bathroom.
Outside of the building is a wonderful play area for younger children, as well as a plethora of grassy fields and fruit trees to roam around in.
Bicycles can be rented on a daily basis, both for children and grown-ups alike.
Right across the hostel a walking path leads straight towards the beach through the dunes. Beautiful both by bike and by foot (only 1.6 km).
Breakfast is included with the nightly rate and is buffet style, with typical Dutch items like daily baked bread, boiled eggs, chocolate sprinkles, cheese and some yoghurt and cereals.
All organic and super fresh.

To be complete a few drawbacks or "room for improvement".
The shower only has a pressure button, which needs to be pushed in every 30 seconds to keep the water running. This gets kind of annoying after a while.
The water in the shower drained at a very slow rate which was a bit nasty.
The downstairs room can get a little cold at night, but wall heaters were present if needed.
There was no separate smoking area and despite smokers being banned to the outside, cigarette smoke constantly entered the building through open doors and windows which is no fun for the non-smoking crowds among us.
Every morning, right after the breakfast bar opened, a staff member would start vacuuming the area in front of the dining room with one of those industrial size vacuum cleaners. Not my idea of a quiet little breakfast experience.

Other than that - we really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tinymoonbeams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Too cold for camping, we booked this hostel at the last minute and now we are hosteling converts! The common areas are bright, clean and functional. The restaurant served a very good buffet style breakfast included in your room price and evening meals if you book by 4 pm. There are board games and books, a computer and a bar, a tv and lots of local info upstairs and downstairs are the bedrooms. These are very basic but clean and sufficient. All rooms have a toilet and a shower we learned from the friendly, English speaking staff. You can hire bikes there and there's free wi-fi. The real joy is the location. You step out of the hostel directly opposite the path through the dunes to the blue flag beach. The road outside is quiet and runs through lovely countryside and bulb fields towards Haarlem. Leiden, Haarlem, Amsterdam and The Hague are all within an hour's drive. Keukenhof is about 15 minutes drive at most. And all for €90 in a private room for a family of four for two nights! We could easily have spent a week or more here.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Snickets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hostel has a welcoming staff, rooms are functional, clean, quiet and very basic. The location is interesting with the sea, beach and dunes next to the hostel. What deserves special mentioning is the food in the restaurant, diverse and tasty. The hostel has a little bar where you can have drinks. We have no complaints about the hostel, the price/service deal is solid.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Longcityisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Thank Saar_d83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Robin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noordwijk
3.3 mi away
Hotel Van Oranje, Autograph Collection
3.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach
Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach
#11 of 27 in Noordwijk
284 reviews
3.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin
Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin
#3 of 27 in Noordwijk
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Witte Raaf
3.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Hotel, Noordwijk Aan Zee
2.2 mi away
NH Noordwijk Conference Centre Leeuwenhorst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Noordwijk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Noordwijk

Address: Langevelderlaan 45, 2204 BC Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Noordwijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Specialty Lodging in Noordwijk
Price Range: $45 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Noordwijk 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stayokay Noordwijk is situated directly adjacent to the dunes and the woods. Groups can have a wonderful time here, pursuing a wide range of sports activities. In the intimate hostel, it’s a constant to-and-fro of guests, either readying themselves for the next activity or otherwise coming in for a breather. Are you looking for a space to hold a meeting or a creative workshop? There are several quiet halls at your disposal in the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stayokay Noordwijk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing