We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Standard conference hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Van Oranje, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Van Oranje, Autograph Collection
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Noordwijk
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Standard conference hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I attended a conference at this hotel over four days, but only stayed at the hotel for one night due to lack of availability. The hotel is a bit of a maze and it was easy to get lost, but it had a good location on the beach front.

The rooms were pretty standard, but generally well maintained and clean. However, I had a nicer room at the other hotel I stayed at. Over the four days of the conference I had all my meals at the hotel. The food was OK, but nothing to write home about.

The staff were usually pretty helpful, although I did encounter a few surly staff over the conference period.

I would stay here for a conference again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CG_London45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    166
    71
    17
    17
See reviews for
77
129
9
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Located about half hour from Schiphol in the quaint city of Noordwijk, Hotels van Orange stands prominently across from the statue of Koningin Wilhelmina. The city is breathtaking especially if one visits in mid to late Spring when the tulip fields are in bloom. The rooms at the hotel are very spacious and clean, but nothing too exciting when compared to any other ordinary hotel room. If you happen to get room with a view of the ocean, you will notice that the corridor to the rooms in that area seem very maze-like. On the plus side, visitors are only a step away from the lovely North Sea with many diverse restaurants lining the area. If you prefer less adventure, the hotel boasts of 2 or 3 restaurants that serve Dutch food. My husband and I usually ate breakfast at Orangerie, which provided THE BEST and most delicious breakfast spread we've ever seen.

All in all, a great hotel with a great location.

For the adventure-seekers, the bus stop Vuurtorenplein is right outside with the 20 bus taking you straight to Leiden where you can hop a train or another bus to all the major cities. (http://9292.nl/en helped us out a lot!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JHGor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We booked a room with sea-view which was very nice. The room was quite simple, could use some refurbishment. The airco is not really functioning, it only blows a little cold air (situated under the window) Luckily we had a room in the front so we could sleep with the window wide open. The parfume scent on the hallway (4th floor) was a bit too strong.
The price of 23 euro's for breakfast is crazy. There were so many people in the restaurant for breakfast, all walking around in different directions, grabbing food,.... The buffet should be re-ordered in such a way that you can walk around it.
Tip: don't take breakfast at the hotel, go to beachclub O, just arcross the boulevard at the beach and have a nice early lunch there.
However, given the other hotels in Noordwijk, would I stay here again: yes

Room Tip: Take a room with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel nearly two weeks ago for one night. We paid €237 to stay in an whoopwhoop EXECUTIVE room, lucky us, I thought...
When we arrived at night after a wonderful day at the beach, we had to pick up our bag in the other building. No problem, then we arrived in a mouldy retro-room that as frequentflyer197 already stated should have been refurbished in the 90s.
It was quite hot in the room, so let's switch on the AC...... Where is it? Let's call the desk, his reply (totally serious):"Eeeeh, the only AC available is opening the balcony door"
OK problem: loud music everywhere outside, no option, switching to another room, not possible.
We had 65 dB in our freakin hot mouldy room until 2 am....... After complaining the next to the staf, there was no compensation nor excuse possible. It just wasn't their fault, so also not their problem!
THE HOTELS OF ORANJE HAVE GONE FROM SOME PRESTIGE TO WHAT WE SAY IN HOLLAND: 'VERGANE GLORIE'
Don't stay here!

Room Tip: Just don't book it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DutchWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
156 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

While the staff are very friendly and professional the Hotel is quite run down. The rooms should have been refurbished 10 years ago.
The location is great - on the boulevard across the beach.
However it is very cheap. In all honesty next time I will try a different Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frequentflyer197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great hotel in a small nice village with awesome beach just outside the entrance.
The rooms were spacious, clean and nicely decorated.

Breakfast and lunch was great.
I think they should expand the free Wifi so that it should be available on the rooms.
Nice pool area with relaxing spa-area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank 3Swedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed with a friend for the Soldaat van Oranje musical. We loved the welcoming receptionist. We arrived one hour early and this was no problem whatsoever. We were upgraded to sea view room which was a nice surprise as well. The room was very comfortable. The swimming pool and especially the spa. Take your time for it! The champagne breakfast was great with lots of choice.
I'd be more than happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reina1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noordwijk
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Hotel, Noordwijk Aan Zee
0.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin
Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin
#2 of 27 in Noordwijk
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vesper Hotel
Vesper Hotel
#1 of 27 in Noordwijk
4.5 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beach Hotel Noordwijk
Beach Hotel Noordwijk
#5 of 27 in Noordwijk
4.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach
Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach
#11 of 27 in Noordwijk
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa de Duinen
Villa de Duinen
#6 of 27 in Noordwijk
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Van Oranje, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van Oranje, Autograph Collection

Property: Hotel Van Oranje, Autograph Collection
Address: Koningin Wilhelmina Boulevard 20, 2202 GV Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Noordwijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Noordwijk
#3 Luxury Hotel in Noordwijk
#3 Spa Hotel in Noordwijk
#3 Business Hotel in Noordwijk
#3 Romantic Hotel in Noordwijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Van Oranje, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotels van Oranje includes the Luxury Hotel Oranje and is located along the beach and lively boulevard of Noordwijk. Aqua & Sauna Oranje includes a 30-metre subtropical wave pool, saunas and a gym. Guests can make free use of these facilities. The wellness facilities also boast a mist garden, solarium and relaxation rooms. The luxurious rooms at Hotels van Oranje have views of the North Sea or the village. They are equipped with a multimedia flat-screen TV, a minibar and a seating area. Free Wi-Fi at High Speed is available throughout. The Keukenhof gardens are within a 25-minute car journey from the hotels. Leiden and the Hortus Botanicus, are 20 minutes away by car. Amsterdam is only 30 minutes by car and Schiphol Airport is 29.7 Km from this accommodation. Hotels van Oranje benefits from 6 restaurants and 4 bars including the Imperial Bar, 't Elfde Gebod and Bentley Bar & Lounge with an eye-catching fireplace. Beach Club O includes a restaurant with a modern interior and a spacious beach terrace. Guests can enjoy spending time in Beauty Oranje which offers a wide range of choices including massages, facials and slimming treatments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Van Oranje, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotels Van Oranje Hotel Noordwijk
Hotel Van Oranje
Van Oranje Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing