We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, charming old hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Noordwijk
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
148 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good location, charming old hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

I spent just one night here on a business trip. We arrived late and found a quick dinner in town at a take out restaurant. Most others were already closed. Had a couple of beers in the bar. The bar was comfortable and old fashioned. The rooms were a bit small and spartan, but were fine.

The location was very good, right on the main boardwalk across from the beach. It was a short walk to restaurants and shops.

Breakfast was good; a small buffet with some hot items. The breakfast room overlooked the boardwalk.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyTimeShare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    79
    95
    27
    12
See reviews for
37
85
10
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2009

I stayed in this hotel for 2 days and it took me right back to the 1970s. The frontdesk is nice but the rooms are terrible. No airconditioning in the room, old windows which wouldn't open. The bathroom was worn and not clean at all.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tgv2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Noordwijk hotels

Valenzano, Italy
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2007

It's nicely located on the boulevard, within easy reach of all the restaurants and bars, as well as the sea. The reception was fine, maybe a bit impersonal, but it is predominately a business hotel. Stepping from the reception into the corridor for the room, was like going back 3 decades, and the room was also old fashioned. The heating was not on when I went into the room, so I turned it on and adjourned to the bar, which I would have dated in the 80's. Maybe nothing wrong in that, the service was efficient, once the barman deigned to turn up. Went back, having had a couple of local beers to a warm room (but no view)

Biggest disappointment was breakfast. I never take a great deal but nothing looked appetizing, the scrambled eggs pale and hard, the juice was thin, and the coffee awful. It was from an automated self-service coffee machine - come on, you have got to do better than that. This seems to be a problem over the whole of the Netherlands and Belgium, where hotels realise they can manage with less staff if they install these machines. It is seriously bad.

I've stayed in several hotels in Noordwijk now, I probably would not go back to this one

  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2006

I've stayed at the Mercure Noordwijk twice: Jun 06 and Jun 05. I was in town on business.

It's a solid 3* hotel: the staff are friendly, the rooms clean; everything tidy. Nothing special; nothing bad. If you're in town for a holiday, it would be an excellent location: right on the sea-front. Restaurants and cafes are nearby.

As a business visitor, I'd hope for a gym which there isn't. But there is a nice little indoor pool, with a steam room and sauna. It doesn't seem to get much use, though it claims to be occupied by a swimming class on certain afternoons. I never saw evidence of this.

The breakfast was ok, with a typical range of cereals, breads, and hot foods on offer. The coffee and the orange juice were a bit disappointing. The restaurant has great views of the sea-front.

There's a bar, which seems fairly popular: I couldn't see why, since it's a window-less place in the back of the hotel. Why go to the sea-side and not have a good view?

If you have a car, you either need to take your chances and park on the street, or get a card from reception (for EUR 12) to park in a nearby car-park, about 5 mins walk away.

I'd certainly go back: but if someone else is paying, I'd choose somewhere with more amenities.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank doc_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
174 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2004

Used to be called 'Hotel Noordzee' (North Sea), some signs were still with old name when I stayed. Built in the Ol' days, and that shows off: interesting mid 20th century style with verandas and terraces.
Room on back side was also oldfashioned - really a bit small, bad view and simple furniture. Front side room (direct sea view) promised more, but clearly at a higher price.
Restaurant a bit noisy (street side, also used for outsiders) but good quality food. Pool (inside) really disappointing: small and not well maintained, and most afternoons in use for commercial swimming lessons so not really available to us hotel guests!

Only reason to recommend it would be location (nice on sea boulevard) and maybe restaurant, for the rest it's really not more than 1 or 2 star and only advised if you can get a rockbottom discount price.

Helpful?
6 Thank ErikandSandya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Noordwijk
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Palace Hotel, Noordwijk Aan Zee
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin
Grand Hotel Huis Ter Duin
#2 of 27 in Noordwijk
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Van Oranje, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Beach Hotel Noordwijk
Beach Hotel Noordwijk
#6 of 27 in Noordwijk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.7 mi away
Vesper Hotel
Vesper Hotel
#1 of 27 in Noordwijk
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.9 mi away
NH Noordwijk Conference Centre Leeuwenhorst
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach

Property: Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach
Address: Koningin Wilhelmina Boulevard 8, 2202 GS Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > South Holland Province > Noordwijk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Noordwijk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is directly situated on the boulevard and the beach in the city center. The hotel has landview rooms, seaview rooms, meeting rooms, restaurant, terrace, bar, relax centre with swimming-pool/ Jacuzzi/hydro-massage, sauna, solarium and steam cabin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Tulip Noordwijk Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing