We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice and brand new”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
84 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
36 Bedrooms, 16 Bathrooms, Sleeps 50
Marsascala, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 84 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Polish first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
DavidStru...
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice and brand new”
Reviewed August 4, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed 8 days at Portside lodge with 5 people. The apartments are nice and brand new.
The building has a private parking, nice lobby and big roof terrace.
Marsascala is a bit off route of the main beaches and cities of Malta, but it has a nice bay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz C
1 review
“Excellent accommodation”
Reviewed July 28, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Excellent accommodation could not fault it , decorated to high standards , furnished to high standards , air conditioning was a god send , 5 min walk to the bay , roof top terrace is beautiful but could do with small plunge pool or shower so you can cool off . Aislynne and Charles very helpful and friendly people . Would definitely stay there again and i hope its very soon as i love marsascala so much this was my 3rd time this year :) . I give this property 10/10

Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabie G
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed place”
Reviewed July 18, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I found this place wonderful the place very equate also like on your home, also the area around is v.nice

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H. K
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The Hilton of Marsaskala - and Aunty came too!”
Reviewed July 15, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We found out about Portside Lodge when we visited Malta in May and immediately booked to stay in September - when we knew we had got flights already booked and so could confirm dates. .Charles was on duty when we popped in and he was a treasure! He willingly showed us around and to see an example room. Well - it is not a room it is an excellently equipped, fully furnished, beautifully decorated, delightful set up. A generous sitting area, sofa, large TV, telephone, air conditioning and or over head fans, super fitted kitchen with modern appliances, large fridge freezer, beautiful bed linen and towels, quality curtains and drapes and some have the added benefit of a small balcony with furniture.
We then came home and contacted Aislynn to book for July and August. Aunty wanted to come with us in July so we had to upgrade to a 2 bedroom and this was excellent and we had a front balcony with some views of the village. They put in a welcome pack which is good when you arrive late and want to be able to have a cup of tea or a sandwich. As I have said the bed linen is of the best quality and they allow at least 2 bath towels and 2 hand towels per person - these are lovely white cotton. In the bathroom there is a new washing machine so you can wash your towels every other day and they dry in a flash. This suits us well as we love to have fresh towels especially when it is 90 degrees and hotter! Don't forget this is a self-catering establishment - but has the facilities of a really good hotel. Everything is extremely clean and there are extra pillows, blankets, a clothes airer, an iron, a wash basket, a hair dryer - everything you could imagine. We were absolutely delighted. Charles and Frances - (Mum and Dad) are charming, helpful, polite and make you feel like you are family. There is more here than you can possibly hope for in a self catering set up and I really, really hope that future guests (as it has only recently opened) treat it with respect. The cutlery, plates, glasses are all of high quality and it would be sad if the wrong type of guests do not respect what is available. Kitchen is with large cooker, microwave, toaster and a full set of kitchen tools for cooking etc.. They seem to have thought - and installed everything. It is five star quality.
While we were there they opened the roof terrace, yet again, they have spared no expense and kitted it out with soft astro turf and separate little areas of decking with chairs and tables plus recliner chairs and umbrella's. It is a mini heaven and gets the evening sun until about 7pm. If there can be more - well, yes there is: they have a wonderful underground car park with electric doors and access and a lift direct from the car park up to your room. This was so good for Aunty who is not good on her legs and walks with a stick or assistance. Having an apartment all on one level was great for her and the added benefit of a lift to go down to ground floor, or down to the car park or even up to the roof terrace was a great help to us in moving Aunty around.
Well done Aislynn, Charles and Frances. You have provided something that Marsakala needed so badly and you have done it extremely well. We are sure you will be extremely busy and very successful.
Thank you for a wonderful, trouble free experience. 5 Star!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is so clean, well furnished with excellent quality fixtures, fittings and linen. And the staff are wonderful.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maciek111...
Wroclaw, Poland
1 review
“A great place!”
Reviewed July 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The apartment was very nice and clean, it looked exactly like in the pictures you can find on the website. It looked amazing, as it was brand new, and actually i think it was opened in april 2015. Fully equipped (washing machine, hairdryer, dishes etc). The people who work there are very nice and helpful. When we were staying there they opened a roof with sunbeds, tables, chairs - i was very suprised to find such a great place.

I recommend in 100%!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrinaRing
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Wow, what an amazing apartment!”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Very clean, modern apartment equipped with everything you need.
Centrally located, with supermarkets and restaurants on your doorstep.
The owners could not be more helpful.
Marsaskala is a fantastic town will definitely come back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubdino
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent - recommended!”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a great stay at Portside Lodge. The apartment was brand new, spotless and spacious. It is in an excellent location only minutes walk from the sea, bars, restuarants and bus stop. Aislynn and Charles were the perfect hosts, very friendly and welcoming and responding to any queires we had immediately. I would definitely stay there again and would recommend Portside Lodge to anybody :) Brilliant value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing