We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Excellent property for a large group in a calm...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Villa Sunset

pool area with surrounding dining facilities and BBQ
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
pool area with surrounding dining facilities and BBQ
Outdoor area - Private pool with BBQ , main bedroom with en suite
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Very good
36 reviews
pool area with surrounding dining facilities and BBQ
Outdoor area - Private pool with BBQ ,
main bedroom with en suite
Triple bedroom
games room
Double bedroom with balcony overlooking pool
Triple bedroom
Twin bedroom with terrace
Triple room
living area
living area
gym room
spacious kitchen withing seating area
Newly restored kids play are of all ages.  Background long strechy promenade by the sea
Malta by bike.  Marsascala and the surroundings are perfect spots for biking and hiking
Malta Diving. Truly heaven.  You experience the wonders down below.
Every sunday at Marsaxlokk, Malta there is a colourful market . 10 minutes drive away from Marsascal
When in Malta take a trip to Gozo.  Its definately worth the visit.
Malta horse riding in the countryside is a pleasure
Marsascala bay by evening nights
Malta's signature -  The Luzzu
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Marsascala, Island of Malta

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
4.5 of 5 bubbles Very good - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Uppsala, Sweden
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location, spaciousness, view
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Natalieis...
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Decent enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 for a stay in May 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We booked this villa for a large group of friends and needed somewhere with plenty of bedrooms. It is a nice spacious villa and fairly well appointed and modern. You should be aware of is the 'lower ground floor' bedroom is actually in the basement although it does have a window, it was cold and smelt slightly damp. Personally I would be quite disappointed if I had to stay in that room but it worked out ok for our particular group. There are only 2 double beds the rest are singles. Be very specific on how many people are staying as not all the beds will be given towels which can be a problem!!

The advert states that OVER consumption of utilities will be charged. We were careful not to leave lights on (all of which are dim energy saving bulbs), didn't use the AC at all and only had showers but were still charged at the end of the holiday around £100 for the week. It's not too much of a problem split between 10 but makes you feel a bit cheated. Best to work on the assumption that you will be charged regardless of how careful you are. It would be better if the owners built the projected costs into the rental costs.

The pool area is ok, fresh water which was fine. The pool isn't fenced off or anything so that might be a stress if you have small children. There are a lot of stairs within the property but there is one bedroom on the ground floor which is better for people who struggle with stairs but there are steps up to the front door. Roof terrace has nice views and I liked the bedroom up there as it was out the way and we could leave the doors and windows open for a nice through breeze. The villa is noisy as everything is marble and the smallest noise is amplified around the entire building but again not really a problem unless you all go to bed/get up at different times. The cleanliness was generally good but I think the bathrooms and fridge could do with a deep clean. Bedding very clean, towels old but very clean.

It's a quiet location ideal for families. Marsascala is a lovely little town with a few nice bars and restaurants. It's all very cheap, food, drink taxis the locals are very nice. If you're staying here I think you need a car to get around, that said the bus into Valletta took about 30-40 minutes and it was 3 euros for a day pass which is excellent value and being from London I have no problem using public transport. Overall a nice trip to do with a group.

3 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Kitchen, bedrooms, games room, bbq
Liked least: No remote for the tv.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
2 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
3 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked least: paying a deposit on arrival in cash and it being refunded 2 days after departure to our bank account in sterling, minus fees and at poor rate of exchange.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Valletta, Malta
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Games room and pool
Liked least: Having to pay extra electricity units for airconditioners before actual consumption,
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SALAJ
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Needs alot of TLC!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

By the images on here this Villa looks stunning, we were very excited about staying here and thought it meet our usual requirements when holidaying in a villa! Unfortunately we were slightly disappointed by the state of the villa upon arriving.
In our party were 2 couples, 1 single male, 1 single female, 2 three year old children and 1 baby. We had planned our rooms and knew that there would be 1 spare room for 1 of the children to use. Unfortunately upon arrival i noticed that there were only bedrooms - the single room has a pop up bed in it! It wasnt until we found a door that led to the games room (which by the way smelt of damp and dust!) That we then found another door off of this room which led to the 5th bedroom. It smelt and had paint chipping off the walls, mould and very little natural light. The beds hadnt been made up so they had no intention of us using this room and had obviously decided that 2 ppl would be sharing! This was never mentioned to us prior to arriving.
Generally the layout of the villa was ok, it is a very spacious villa however the finish is poor. Paint chipping off the walls, paint on the ceiling, hand prints on walls, the beds were disappointing and seem to be pop up beds everywhere. There isnt much natural light indoors, we spent most of our time outside and were lucky enough to have nice weather otherwise it would have been quite depressing to be indoors. I was expecting the roof terrace to be more than a plastic table and chairs, thre were no plants or ornaments anywhere outdoors which would have made it a nicer place to stay,
After a few days we settled in but i can 100% say i was genuinely disappointed and wouldnt stay there again!
Safety wise for kids it was fine, marble floors everywhere so kids slipt alot but that is to be expected, i think if you had younger children it would be a different story. The pool doesnt have a shallow end so children need to have armbands on at all times and couldnt just stand and splash around. Sunloungers - only 4 considering this villa should hold 12!!!
In an excellent location close to beach and shops.
With TLC and some new furniture this would be a gem of a villa!

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 2 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
2 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 2 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
2 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: The finish of the property
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2012
Villa sunset is a truly beautiful villa, set in very good location in Marsascala which is close to beaches and shops. The property advert is advertised as described with all facilities and amenities. The 5th bedroom in your concern is advertised clearly that it is located in the lower ground floor. This room has a large door and a wide window. Unfortunately, out of sight the cleaners had closed the door and window after cleaning, and caused the room to smell stuffed. However it should be of no reason why it was disappointing. It was only needed to reopen the window for some fresh air, and that would be ok. The villa has since been advertised for the past 3 years. Furniture and fittings are constantly being monitored and replaced if wear and tear is visible. The 5th bedroom Walls had been freshly repainted. Neverthelss we take your issue in consideration seriously and accept your feedback.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liggles
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely .... but ended up pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012 for a stay in July 2012
1
person found this review helpful

A group of 9 of us stayed here last week of June beg Aug. The villa is fantastic and apart from a few niggles, accommodated everyone perfectly. Re the niggles, we had to buy a few kitchen appliances and a floor brush, dustpan/brush etc. The bedrooms had been made up incorrectly but one phone call to David and Jane had this sorted within 20 mins.

A word of advice which I know should be common sense but be careful coming into the kitchen straight from the pool, there have been a good few bruises amongst us from people not thinking.

Ok down to my two biggest bug bears, we paid extra for wifi to keep the kids (2) amused. It wasn't cheap and we were shocked that it cut off a few days before the end of our week. At no time was it said to us that we were paying for a limited bb allowance. When you pay extra for wifi, you assume it'll last the week. Please make this clearer.

We knew there was an extra charge for electricity if it went over the allowance, be aware that with minimal usage, you will exceed it. We had the ac off during the day and generally only 2 bedrooms using it at night (the others didn't know how to until 4 days into the hols) lol

With the added extras, it wasn't the value that I'd hoped for. However it was a great villa within a 25 min walk to the main bars and restaurant areas. If you're aware of the hidden extras, you'll not be disappointed.

Ps if you have an evening/night flight, you'd do well to book an extra day so you can stay until pick up time.... Especially in the hot summer months.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 20, 2012
This is certainly not case as described. On arrival guests are provided with a starter Pack for their first few days. Then ,the property is certainly on a self catering basis. You had no wifi for the last 2 days, it was simply because there were ongoing works from the network provider and that we had no control upon it and this is clearer. Water and electricity readings are given to guests on their arrival which they can monitor it themselves and also with enough usage allowed for the whole week. In addition to this I remind the guests and we agree upon, that if the consumption is overused, it will be payable extra. Unfortunately your consumption has exceeded the limit amount. Optional extras at Villa Sunset are the usage for Wifi and Air conditioners and there is no point of any hidden extras,as these are stated on every booking contract and adverts we have advertised.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
$12
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing