We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, basic hotel; wonderful breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Paris Porte d'Italie
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gentilly
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Clean, basic hotel; wonderful breakfast”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This hotel was very clean and well-run. The front desk staff was helpful, professional and spoke fairly good English. The breakfast was off the hook and although the room was quite small, it was fine for the tourist or business person who basically just needs to sleep there. The only real negative was that the hotel was a good 15-20 minute walk from the Metro station and there weren't many shops or restaurants near the hotel. I would definitely stay in an Ibis Hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teachertraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    506
    256
    77
    36
See reviews for
179
342
115
227
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Nicolas, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed March 19, 2013

The stay itself was ok, the room is what you expect for this kind of price range. The restaurant serves good food in the evening for a reasonable price. The location is good if you want to visit Paris for business and/or leasure. Only real mediocre thing is the breakfast which could be a bit boring for a continental breakfast lover.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Sengelmeuffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This hotel is located approximately 3.5 km to the south, just outside downtown Paris, in Gentilly. From here, the best way to visit the main attractions in this city is taking the RER which closest station is a few blocks away (I think 7 to 10 min walking). If you take a taxi to the hotel from the Champs Ellyses, it will cost you about 25 to 30 euro. This is the only thing that I found a little down since its presentation, cleanness and safety are excellent, as other Ibis hotels. It also has a very warm bar where Guinness beer is served. In general terms, I'd recommend this hotel because of the price but if I come back to Paris I would try to get something closer to downtown.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juanmsanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
511 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The Ibis Port d'Italie is on a quiet road immediately parallel to the Boulevard Peripherique, backing onto a high rise housing estate and about 10-15 minutes walk from the metro at Port d'Italie (and slightly closer to the RER Gentilly. If the location does not worry you (it's not exactly the romantic image of Paris), then it offers excellent value, especially at weekends if you book 30 days in advance to get an extra discount.

Rooms are clean and reasonably spacious to a standard Ibis design with shower and no bath, and a large flat screen TV (but with BBC World as the only English Language channel). I was offered a room at the rear which was quiet overlooking the housing estate (there was an apparent air gun pellet hole in the exterior pane of the double glazing, though). Despite this, the area felt safe enough walking to and from the metro or the nearby Velib cycle hire station.

Breakfast is extra and offers very good value, with a decent selection of continental breakfast items and unlimited teas/coffees, etc. There's also a 24 hour bar/meals service, which I only sampled for a late night hot chocolate at a decent price.

There are 2 free internet terminals in reception which are often busy, but also free wifi if you have a mobile device with you.

Room Tip: Choose one facing the rear away from the motorway (Boulevard Peripherique)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKMapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel several times in the past couple of years. Although it is located just outside Paris, commuting to Paris is very easy and actually takes 5-8 minutes by bus or you can take RER which is less than 10 minutes walk from the hotel. The only problem with the location is that there are no shops, cinemas or bars/restaurants nearby so its very quiet in the evening. The staff are polite and helpful though sometimes not too cheerful :)
The rooms and service is the same as in any IBIS hotel. I didn't rate the sleeping quality high because just recently the hotel chain has changed the beds and I was not happy with them though before the change I could and did sleep like a baby.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fatemeh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed twice in this hotel but this review concerns my stay as a family (my mother, my 4 yo daughter and myself).
The hotel is well located just outside Paris but at a walking distance. There is the RER B 10mn walk from the hotel that takes you from/to Charles De Gaulles Airport.
The area around the hotel is not very busy but is totally safe, even walking in the evening alone (which I did more than once).
The staff is friendly, the rooms clean but small for a family staying with a kid. However, the stay of my daughter was for free so can not complain there.
For my, the major problem was the (free) bed for my kid which is actually the sofa turning into a bed: not very comfy even for a kid and the pillows were too thin for my neck.
Also, the room needs a small fridge.
But all in all a good address and would use it definitely again.

Room Tip: Ask to not be given a room on the "périphérique" (the ring road around Paris)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dilafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zlin, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

A very clean, organised friendly hotel ideally situated close to a Metro station about 5 stops from Notre Dame cathedral. Great underground secure parking for guests at a great price for Paris. Clean smart rooms and friendly staff. I have used it about 5 times over the past 20 years and have always left with a very satisfied feeling.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MartinZlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gentilly
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Paris Porte d'Italie Ouest
5.4 mi away
Ibis Paris 17 Clichy-Batignolles
1.0 mi away
Ibis Paris Porte d'Orleans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
ibis Budget Paris Porte d'Italie Est
0.7 mi away
B&B Hotel Paris Italie Porte de Choisy
0.4 mi away
Campanile Paris Sud - Porte D'Italie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Paris Porte d'Italie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Paris Porte d'Italie

Property: Ibis Paris Porte d'Italie
Address: 13 rue du Val de Marne, 94250 Gentilly, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Val-de-Marne > Gentilly
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Gentilly
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Paris Porte d'Italie 3*
Number of rooms: 283
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Paris Porte D Italie hotel is near the centre of Paris, close to line B of the RER regional train network and has immediate access to the A6 motorway and Orly Airport (8 km). A few steps from trams and with a direct route to the Porte De Versailles Exhibition Centre (20 minutes). Book one of our 283 airconditioned rooms with WiFi Internet and make use of our 8 meeting rooms, restaurant, 24 hour bar and undercover pay parking. Nearby Montsouris and Kellerman parks are ideal for jogging. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Paris Porte d'Italie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Paris Porte d`Italie Hotel Gentilly
Ibis Hotel Gentilly
Ibis Paris Porte D'Italie Val-De-Marne/Gentilly, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing