We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, reasonably priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac
Newbury
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place, reasonably priced”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Since my last visit to this hotel it's been renovated and it's quite nice. The room was clean, the staff was friendly and accommodated my lack of French with complete professionalism. Nice place for a business traveler as well as a family.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside room or a room in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oldpineisland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    300
    158
    65
    41
See reviews for
60
465
19
112
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

3 night golf break around Paris.
Hotel was clean,modern with decent bed and small average bathroom. Buffet breakfasts acceptable but one dinner in conference room style Restaurant in building across a courtyard was without doubt the worst meal I have ever eaten. The highlight was a main course of watery,previously frozen,undercooked Shark on a bed of overlooked Mangetout with an unrecognisable,split white sauce. After complaints to reception and emails to our tour operator we ate next eve in the Grand Hotel next door which was better but no better than mediocre and our final night we had to eat back in our hotel but were promised a special buffet-it wasn't.
Don't do it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherjimagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Enghien Les Bains hotels

Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I've stayed here multiple times since 2002. The hotel lobby/restaurant/bar area was refurbished in 2012, giving a more modern and appealing feel. The rooms, depending on the wing your located in, vary, but general quality is good. Remember that this is Paris, so expect function rather than sumptuous luxury. The local neighborhood offers plenty of restaurants, bars, cafes, etc for dining options (I can recommend the Indian restaurant down the road - 5min walk). The hotel is perhaps not ideal if you want or need to be in central Paris. The absolutely best thing about this hotel for myself is the area around the lake. If you visit Paris frequently (I do on business), the city center can end-up feeling claustrophobic, whereas Enghien has open spaces, the lake and some horizon. A completely different way to enjoy Paris and relax a bit after work. I also recommend the hotel gym (normally a complementary pass is given, but check with reception). Very worthwhile and well equipped for a hotel spa.

Room Tip: Ask for a lakeside view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Biztraveler_001766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I have been for the first time in this Hotel in 2002 and I had to came back in February 2013 for a workshop week. Guess what ! the rooms looks exactly the same as 10 years ago except the flat screen. The carpet has to be changed as there is painting on it and it's very old. Beds are ok, as well the bathroom but you can expect much more from such hotel and price. Furnitures are old fashion it looks like the 80's !

We had our work shop at the Escale Affaires next bulding to Hotel du Lac and there is a terrible sulfur, rotten eggs smell due to "the thermes" .Why ? the Thermes (Hot water, SPA) are ground floor and the Escales Affaires space is above. It's a challenge believe me even if you think that it's a natural smell.

We had also several lunchs, dinners at the Grand Hotel Barriere restaurant. The quality of the food was good and the kitchen efficient but the service has been unfriendly maybe because we were a big table but it's not an excuse.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia,BG
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Nice, queit, with cont. breakfast. Restaurant with minimalistic but nice menu.Beautiful spa, take your shorts...Very easy access even with train - 20 min from Paris Nord. No free wi-fi. Casino in front if money to spend...Clean rooms, air-con not easy to operate. As overall - good. Try the Morrocan restaurant near the church.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Friendly staff, quite beautiful hotel view on the lake.
The bedroom was a bit outdated but clean and comfy. The High of our stay was the Spa, super nice bubble baths, water jets... plus the sauna and hammam mixt on weekends (cause you know, you get bored alone and sweaty) Magnifique !
Excellent scrambled eggs at breakfast, along with a bunch of food, liked it

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoneutria_nigriven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

My wife and I Stayed 7 days over Christmas 2012 to visit family. Hotel was virtually empty. We stayed here before.

Pros
Great location in beautiful tree lined little city about 20 min outside of Paris. Centered around a lake with a promenade and a Casino, as well as a thermal bathe spa. Looks like a mini Geneva.
Well kept facility.
Room Price was good.
Food prices a little high but not outrageous.
Room service was good, when they got it right.

Cons
Zero heat control; it ran 24/7 like an oven. Had to keeps doors to balcony open all day and all night.
Actually got sick from the constant sweating at 85 deg F then mixing with the 40 deg outside air. It was a catastrophe.
Asked for maintenance to fix it. Ha, what a joke. Suddenly they did not understand my Frence, English or Italian.
One morning housekeeping actually blew by the do not disturb sign on the door just for the hell of it. Bizarre.
On one breakfast order they forgot first the croissants and then the coffee. A continental breakfast is not all that complicated. And it was brought to the room late.
Restaurants in hotel, all of them, were closed Christmas Eve. So were all restos in town. Where exactly were visitors staying at the hotel from say 4,000 miles away supposed to eat? Frankly they did not give a damn.
The bottom line is that there is an aire of indifference that permeates the staff. Like much of France they have a no can do attitude.
I say stay in centre Paris and take a day trip to visit Enghien Les Bains.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advocatamericain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David M, Responsable relations clients at Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a comment on Tripadvisor.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for not completely meeting your expectations. I would like to assure you that this is not normally the case.

I already have taken the necessary actions to make sure that these inconveniences will not happen again.

I hope that you will reconsider returning to the hotel.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for your next stay.

I wish you a very happy New Year.

Sincerely,

David Moreau
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Enghien Les Bains
Hotel Barriere Le Grand Hotel
#2 of 3 in Enghien Les Bains
355 reviews
Passy
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
Hotel Felicien by Elegancia
#350 of 1,800 in Paris
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Paris Epinay Sur Seine
#1 of 1 in Epinay sur Seine
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac

Property: Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac
Address: 89 rue du General de Gaulle, 95880 Enghien Les Bains, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Val-d'Oise > Enghien Les Bains
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Enghien Les Bains
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
​Have a most enjoyable break : Classic decor using warm shades of colour: the 134 rooms and 7 suites all overlook the lake or park and include luxury hotel services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Barriere L'Hotel du Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Enghien Les Bains

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing