We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly, value for money”
Review of Hotel Califfo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Califfo
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Quartu Sant'Elena
Essex
1 review
“Family friendly, value for money”
Reviewed October 7, 2009

I stayed with my wife and our 2 kids at this hotel in the second half of August. The room had been recently refurbished and space was more than enough. Although close to a main road, silence was hardly broken from outside and the kids had lots of fun in the swimming pool.
We took the dinner buffet option twice and the food was absolutely delicious and with a great variety.
Its location demands the use of a car to enjoy sightseeing in Cagliari and the wonderful beaches of Villasimius.
Considering the relatively cheap room, we would definitely go back there should we head to Sardinia in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    75
    67
    59
    49
See reviews for
71
111
8
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2009

After checking out the website of the hotel, which is quite modern, I was convinced I made a good choice booking this hotel, but I was so wrong!

The website is far more modern than the hotel. I must say the hotel hired one hell of a photographer, to make the pictures look this good!

Having worked in several 4-star hotels, I must say this is only a 2-star!!

The website mentions the hotel was recently renovated, but that was maybe 20 years ago. Lobby, hall way and breakfast room are very oldfashioned. Internet was available at € 3 per 15 minutes. Unfortunately internet was out of order at the time we were told by the receptionist. The staff was friendly!

Location is terrible. The hotel is located on a big road between Cagliari and Villasimus. Except for a nice cocktailbar and great pizzarestaurant 200 metres from the hotel there's nothing to see within 9 km. Luckily there's a bus stop in front of the hotel, which takes you to Poetto Beach (at 9 km) or Cagliari (at 14 km). There's a bus every 30 minutes.

Breakfast was not as expected of a 4-star hotel. It was very limited, There were some pain au chocolat and croissants. There were pistolets (little breads) but there were not fresh, you could taste they had been frozen. there were boiled eggs, but those were overcooked. For the rest there was muesli, cornflakes, cheese, ham and pie. 2kinds of juices, milk,tea and coffee.

Dinner was available at € 35 per person, but we chose to go to the pizza restaurant few metres down the road. I really suggest to go there, really nice food and nice wine at a very good price. It's best to make a reservation, because every night they were people standing waiting to get a table.

The room was not a 4-star, it was basic, but it was very clean. The bathroom was nice and clean, with a bath and a shower handle. The prices of the minibar beverages were quite cheep comparing to other 4-star hotels I stayed in.
A plus was also the big parking. The swimming pool area didn't look as bright as the picture shown on the website, but the swimming pool was clean and it was nice swimming there (depth =1.50m). There was also a jacuzzi, available at € 5 per 20 minutes.

If you do decide to stay here (which I don't recommend), make sure you rent a car, so can get away!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank artemisAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Quartu Sant'Elena hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2009

I stayed at this hotel while on a 2-weeks trip around Sardinia by car with my partner. We stayed in a recently renovated room with views over the gulf of Cagliari.
The position of the hotel is convenient to visit the South-eastern coast of the island, within easy reach of Cagliari and its Poetto beach and enroute to beautiful Villasimius.
The swimming pool is very convenient for a dip after a long day exploring the island, as there is no direct access to the beach.
We had dinner at the hotel on the last night: the food was a delicious mix of fish and meat.
All the staff was very helpful although not everyone spoke proper English.
Overall, it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alibarUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WELBOURN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Fairly drab looking hotel, the reception rooms resemble something from the 1970s, the rooms are clean, but the pool area was not particually well kept, we arrived on Saturday evening for a two night stay before heading home. We had two top class hotels previously so this was a bit of a let down for our final two nights of the holiday. The road outside is very busy especially trying to cross to the one very good highlight which is a resteraunt just over the road from the hotel. The hotel is in 3 blocks an the corridor from the main reception to the our block was sadly lacking in decor and needed updating urgently.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AXLEMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2008

I read about Calgari in a magazine, it looked a fab place to visit, great beaches and a city location so lots to see and do. We booked to stay at Califfo as it stated a 5 star at a reasonable price. What I learned on this holiday was that sometimes things are cheap for a reason!! the hotel itself was dated, certainly not a 5 star! Although this was bearable, but the location was the real problem. The hotel is situated on a very busy main road. There is 1 restaurant opposite and a small café type bar and pretty much nothing else in walking distance. Taxis are very expense and very rare in the area so that limits what you can do in the evening. The hotel has a shuttle bus that drops you at the beach and picks you up, so that’s a positive, plus the beach is lovely. There is a bus service which was our savior in the end so we could get to the city but buses weren't that regular. Overall I would say great place to holiday but stay in central Poetto if possible, nearer the beach. There are a good selection of nice bars and restaurants 2 miles or so further down the beach in Poetto which certainly isn't walk able from the hotel.

Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DanielleBirminghamUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontevedra, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2008

Me and my family choose Italy for our summer vacations, we decided to go to Sardinia, because we found this place quiet and cheap.
Our hotel was Hotel califfo, near to Cagliari, first city in the island and we found a really great prices comparing the prices in another hotel in the same category, 4 stars hotel.
Cheap and quiet, near to the city and near too to the most beautiful and long beach in South Sardinia, called Poetto Beach.
The hotel has everything that you need, multilingual speakers, even in Spanish, great structure and really good and typical cucine.
We found this Hotel a really nice place to stay and we don't leave in our futures plans that Hotel Califfo will be again our Hotel in South sardinia.

  • Liked — The quiet of the place that is the Hotel
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fqttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2007

as soon as we arrived we noticed that the hotel looked tired and unkept, with paint peeling off the walls. it is located well out of town, with outdated decor reminiscent of nursing homes. well, most of the guests we saw were in fact very elderly! as the hotel is actually on the main road from cagliari to villasimius, there is a lot of rubbish and wasteland around. staff pleasant but not efficient, not volunteering any information, ( i.e flag the bus when you see one, don't just expect it to stop because u r at the bus stop). although we were told initially that the shuttle bus is widely available, by next day we found out that it only ran twice a day, therefore we had to make our own way to poetto beach. pool is small and the bar is located in front of the hotel, next to the car park for some strange reason.
breakfast is bland with prepacked little jams and flat croissants, same cheap ham and cheese for 3 days.. it was difficult to enjoy ourselves in cagliari knowing that by 22.50 we had to be at the bus stop!! altogether it felt remote and tired, i was glad to leave

  • Liked — nothing really
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WestCountryFroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quartu Sant'Elena
0.4 mi away
Hotel Setar
Hotel Setar
#5 of 10 in Quartu Sant'Elena
251 reviews
3.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Residence Italia
Best Western Hotel Residence Ita...
#1 of 10 in Quartu Sant'Elena
447 reviews
7.9 mi away
Hotel il Monastero
Hotel il Monastero
#3 of 10 in Quartu Sant'Elena
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hotel Residence Ulivi e Palme
0.4 mi away
Setar Palace
Setar Palace
#8 of 10 in Quartu Sant'Elena
110 reviews
13.4 mi away
Hotel Grillo
Hotel Grillo
#17 of 36 in Cagliari
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Califfo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Califfo

Property: Hotel Califfo
Address: Via Leonardo da Vinci 118, 09045, Quartu Sant'Elena, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Quartu Sant'Elena
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Quartu Sant'Elena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Califfo 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Califfo is situated in a quiet panoramic position facing the Gulf of Cagliari at the end of the wonderful Poetto beach, only 9 Km from downtown. The Hotel, recently expanding, is equipped with all comforts. Our hotel has 300 beds, with a restaurant for 350 people and a meeting centre for up to 400 seats. In summertime you may also find a free shuttle service to the nearest beach, animateur, shows, sports facilities, discotheque.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Califfo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Califfo Hotel Cagliari
Hotel Califfo Sardinia, Italy - Quartu Sant'Elena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing