We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and in need of refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Portofino Kulm Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Camogli
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tired and in need of refurbishment”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

This hotel could be great. Booked for 3 nights but managed one before finding another hotel. Tired and peeling the hotel needs some investment... Views are great but that doesn't compensate for cold pool, no hot water, poor (frozen) food and a lack of service.

It's a shame as it looks great on-line but there are better options to be had.

We had a hire car which I would say makes your stay more flexible.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Freddiky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    88
    30
    19
    6
See reviews for
27
101
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We’ve been here for a weekend; it’s reachable by car / taxi and from here you can visit the fantastic town of Camogli (bus “navetta” from the hotel) or walk down to San Fruttuoso / Portofino.
Breakfast very reach.
Nice swimming pool and if you want to chill out you can use the SPA.
Fantastic location for romantic week end or wedding (ideal match would be ceremony in San Rocco church and lunch in Kulm restaurant)

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SIBI78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

excellent location over the portofino gulf.pool was very nice and the terraces.relaxing and quiet area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsilisGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2009

Overall I thought the stay at this hotel was mediocre. I would recommend not staying here unless you have a car or plan on doing mostly hiking. There is a free shuttle that goes to Camogli a couple times a day, which is nice, but it’s far. Its father to Portofino and Santa Magarita Ligure, and those are nice places to visit as well. Camogli is outstanding!
For the hotel:
Likes:
- Nice view
- It’s in a national park at the top of a mountain overlooking town, so it was great fun to hike all the way down to the town, have a dip in the ocean and then take the shuttle bus back up :)
Dislikes:
- Rude staff, tried to overcharge me for the stay
- Room was not so great, I purposely paid for an air conditioned room and the AC was broken, they did nothing to fix it.
- There were mosquitoes in the room at night because the window was open during the day because the AC was broken, we kept the window closed the next day but the maid kept opening it so we would have mosquitoes anyway
- The pool is indoors

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
Level Contributor
173 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

On a return visit to the Kulm, I was reminded of why I had wanted to come back: glorious views up the LIgurian Coast to Genoa and beyond, a havent of quiet up high on the Protofino promontory, and with very nice staff. The shuttle down to the coast can be erratic (in terms of reservation and scheduling), and the restaurant is over-priced. But, on balance, it is THE place to stay in the region, barring the very expensive hotels of Portofino itself. The great bonus is Camogli below, a truly charming fishing and beach town featuring good, fresh food in various price ranges, few foreign tourists and a sense of tremendous bustle and fun.

The hotel, however, needs to touch up the rooms, where walls could use a coat of paint and the occasional touch of replastering.

I hope to return again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frequenttraveller076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

Magnificent view, helpful concierge, clean rooms, average breakfast, overall great value for money. Must have car to move around.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andromachi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tartu
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

We stayed at Portofino Kulm for 10 nights. A good base to explore surroundings. Hiking routes start just behind the Kursaal- you can take the 2 hour- hike to San Fruttuoso, Portofino and to Santa Marghereta. Really comfortable routes and a fresh swimming in the miniature cove in crystal blue-green water in the front of the cloister in San Fruttouso - sounds like dolce vita.
Camogly is a small fishing village with good restaurants. Dont forget you are in Italy, all restaurants have a siesta. Dinner is available from 18.00. From Camogly take a traintrip to Cinque Terre. The path from Riomaggiore to Monterosso is 12 km long. It takes 5 hours to complete the path. Please, don't to it, hot summerday, narrow routes, descents-ascents - exhausting.
The hotel gave us stunning views from our terrace,a really cosy SPA with indoor pool, gourmee dinner and staff was friendly. It is a fact, if you are used to having things at time-forget it and relax. Trains delayed for 20 minutes, shuttle bus is very useful but goes by the timetable. So life goes piano, piano.
We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TartuCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Camogli
0.8 mi away
Hotel Cenobio Dei Dogi
1.8 mi away
Storica Residenza StellaMaris
0.9 mi away
Hotel Casmona
Hotel Casmona
#3 of 6 in Camogli
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel La Camogliese
Hotel La Camogliese
#2 of 6 in Camogli
416 reviews
1.1 mi away
I Tre Merli Locanda
I Tre Merli Locanda
#4 of 6 in Camogli
158 reviews
2.5 mi away
Grand Hotel Miramare
Grand Hotel Miramare
#3 of 21 in Santa Margherita Ligure
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Portofino Kulm Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portofino Kulm Hotel

Property: Portofino Kulm Hotel
Address: Viale Bernardo Gaggini 23 | Portofino Vetta, Ruta di Camogli, 16032 Camogli, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Camogli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Camogli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Portofino Kulm Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exclusive panorama, surrounded by nature of exceptional beauty, architectural and decorative lines of elegant simplicity, refined and comfortable interiors. All this can be found at the hotel in the heart of the regional park of Portofino, just 25 kilometers from Genoa, capital of the splendid region of Liguria. Crossing the threshold of the Portofino Park guests may imagine how weary travellers must have felt arriving at this peaceful oasis at the end of an adventurous journey.The 77 air-conditioned guest rooms are tastefully appointed while the entrance halls, faithfully recreated according to original documentation, evoke sensations from bygone days. The hotel offers modern amenities, tennis court, heated indoor pool, shuttle service and SPA. The Kulm's Restaurant with its breathtaking view of Paradise Gulf offers the best of Ligurian cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Portofino Kulm Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Portofino Kulm
Portofino Kulm Camogli

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing