We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Royal Village
Ranked #14 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely holiday”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Really enjoyed our trip to Lake Garda. The hotel was very clean and the staff very pleasant.Thei room had a fantastic view but my only critism would be that the beds are hard. Bathroom was good and very clean. We booked with Newmarket holidays and went on several trips which were very good. Great guide Pino who was a real character. The food was good and plentiful with soft drinks and beer and wine available all day up until 6.30pm and with dinner but then you had to pay at the bar in the evening. Entertainment was ok. It is quite a hike up the hill but it kept us fit! Limone is lovey and overall very worth while visit. I would agree with the other reviewer that it is better to fly from Verona. With pick ups it still took about 2 hours. Would definitely recommend Lake Garda and The Royal Village Hotel.

Room Tip: Request a lake view it is so worth it. Room 324 had fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Joolsie16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    155
    90
    33
    18
See reviews for
164
158
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Neots, Cambs.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Royal Village with Newmarket holidays. My friend and I had booked single rooms and although they were quite basic and the bathrooms very small we did have a view of the lake and the beds were very comfortable. I think usually these rooms are for two people as they had two beds but I think that would be a bit squashed! The food in the restaurant was excellent but it was busy and nobody dresses for dinner. The indoor pool was lovely a real bonus. The steep hill up to the hotel could be a challenge for the less mobile and Newmarket don't tell you that to pick up the coach for the excursions you have to walk down the hill to the lay-by and then back up the hill afterwards. Our tour guide Pino was very good even though he doesn't do early mornings!

Room Tip: High floor better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harnser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just spent a week at this Hotel and was very pleased with the room in the "Lucia House" (ground floor room 808). The beds were a bit on the hard side but the room and particularly the bathroom were clean and tidy with planty of space for all our clothes. Satellite TV and a fridge were also provided. There was no view of the lake but a small garden outside was bathed in warm sunshine in the late morning to late afternoon. There was a good variety of food at meal times (we were half board) and beer, wine, water still & carbonated, fruit juices, teas and coffee were on tap so we could have as much as we liked. Afternoon tea in the music bar area was also a nice touch again with unlimited free drinks and a selection of cake or fruited breads. The reception staff were excellent and we personally witnessed one of them being sorely tested by some very finnicky Brits at check in who didn't seem to have read their brochure properly, but she never wavered and did her utmost to satisfy the various complaints (unfounded though these were) that were thrown at her. A lot of Germans there though and they do tend to make life a bit noisy at times in the evenings but they are mostly out on trips during the day. Plenty of activities for kids in the grounds and the indoor pool is excellent. We would certaintly go there again except for one thing, it takes a long time to get there from the airport. If you cannot get a flight to Verona forget it. It took over four and half hours from Milan Malpensa airport during the night!! On the way back it took one hour twenty minutes to complete six pick ups, we were twenty minutes late by then and the overall journey was four hours forty five minutes. There were hold ups on the autostrada and we were only just in time for our flight home. This detracted from an otherwise pleasant holiday. Think On!

Room Tip: Keep away from the rooms on the side of the water course (on the left as you face the lake) when it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dibatag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and i returned from a 1week holiday in the Royal Village Hotel, we found all the staff very helpful indeed. We had a nice room with a view of Lake Garda. A wide and varied selection of food was available to us.Rooms and Hotel were very clean. The Hotel was in a very good location and i would certainly return there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank anon191266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent a week in the Royal Village hotel as a family with 2 little children (4 years old and 1,5 years old) and had a nice vacation.

Rooms: We had a room in the Villa Lucia which was perfect for a family with kids. The room was big (it fitted a double bed, a baby bed, a desk, a bunk bed and there was still room for our kids to play and for the baby-stroller to stand. Also the bathroom was modern with a big corner shower - no bathtub. We had a room with lake-view, but the main view we had was on the parking lot (2nd floor). However, when we were at the reception to get our key, there were some German people complaining about their room and requesting a room in Villa Lucia (where we were staying). So apparently, not all the rooms are that big and comfortable. We liked the room, it was clean and the furniture was modern.

The fact that it were German people complaining is not a surprise, as 90% of the guests are German and in the age category 50+. It didn't bother us, but be prepared to be addressed in German by the staff and by other guests. Lake Garda in general is also very German - oriented (in shops and on roadsigns everything is indicated in Italian and German).

Restaurant/drinks: The restaurant hours are from 7:30-9:30 (and they really start taking everything away at 9:30), 12:30-14h and 18:30-20:30h. Breakfast was the same every day but extensive. There were cereals and yoghurt, cheese, ham, salami, bread, croissants, eggs in different ways and bacon. Coffee and tea was self-service from machines. Juice was also from a machine. At lunch there was a salad bar, different salads and some slices of pizza and pasta. In the evening there was also a salad bar, different salads, two types of soup, three types of pasta with sauce and everyday there was also plain pasta and plain rice with separate tomato sauce (which is interesting for children), one type of fish and two types of meat. The German influence was also noteable in the salads, everyday there was something with sausages and potatoes. The vegetables are often prepared with a lot of butter. Overall the quality of the food was good, you could find someting you like everyday, although the salads etc. are often the same at lunch and in the evening. The desserts were somewhat limited, but there was also fresh fruit and a soft ice machine (again ideal for children). Drinks are available from machines in self service: some soda's (virgin cola) and white and red housewine which was ok and beer. There is also a microwave to heat baby food. The restaurant is very noisy, as there are a lot of people and you can also hear noises from the kitchen. Two times you can also eat in the pizza restaurant instead of the buffet restaurant, which was a nice diversion.
At 4 o'clock there is tea-time near the pool area and then you can eat some cake and cookies, again ideally for kids. During the day you can also get coffee and drinks in plastic cups (until 6 o'clock). After dinner time you have to pay for your drinks.
There is a dress code in the restaurant: men have to wear a long pair of trousers and no slippers or tank tops are allowed. However they did not send anyone back with shorts or slippers.

Pool/playground: There are three pools, a pool in the form of a fish next to villa Lucia and a big pool and a children pool across the street (which was also where you had to get your drinks). We never had a problem finding a seat at the pool. The water of the pools is fairly cold, even indoor. We used the fish-shaped pool as this was near to our hotel room, but we had to cross the street for drinks everytime. There is also a playground for children with trampoline etc. which our 4-year old enjoyed.

Location: The hotel is actually a collection of buildings along two sides of a steep road. The main building and main swimming pools are on one side of the road, villa lucia and the restaurants are on the other side of the road. The lake and center of Limone is a short walk down the road, but it is indeed steep. However, we walked down and up everyday with our baby-stroller and our 4 year old walked alone and never complained. For older people it might be a bit more difficult. There is also a paying shuttle service which brings you up and down (1 euro), but we never used this.
The parking lot is also rather steep but it is doable to park your car.

Conclusion: We had a nice family vacation here with our two small children. I would suggest to request a room in Villa Lucia as these seem to be the biggest and newest rooms. I would recommend this hotel for families with (small) kids. The playground is really nice for them, the rooms are a good size and the partly all-in service is good for drinks etc. The only downside is the rather cold pool water and the fact that the property is split by a road.

Room Tip: Request a room in Villa Lucia
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wenneke9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed for 7 days at this hotel early September. We had booked half board with Newmarket Holidays. On arriving staff at reception informed us it was now all inclusive (until 8.30pm). At first we thought this was a bonus but found that there were many German families staying, consequently the restaurant was more like a school canteen. The food on offer was definately not 4 star and was catering more for the German taste. Whilst the soup, salad and pasta bar were acceptable, the carvery on offer along with the potato and one hot vegetable dish was only ever luke warm. Any green vegetables (i.e broccoli, green beans) were served cold on the salad bar. We did however enjoy the one meal we had in the pizzeria. The holiday was advertised in the Newmarket brochure as half board with a choice of restaurant - buffet, pizzeria and gourmet - but there certainly was not any gourmet restaurant. This was not the type of holiday we had envisaged when we booked. As a previous reviewer has mentioned the evening dress code was very lax and I did not wear some of the dresses I had taken as would have felt overdressed.

There was entertainment in the bar area each evening except Saturday and most evenings this was well attended although the service provided by one of the bar staff was not that welcoming. It is not that difficult to smile surely.

Our room (on the reception side of hotel) although rather dark and narrow did have a lake view and was clean with towels changed daily but again not 4 star. I understand from speaking to others that the rooms on the restaurant side are more spacious.

The pool areas were very nice with plenty of sun beds. We used the pool on the reception side most days.

The hotel, being on the hillside, has lovely views and we did know that it was a steep walk up from the village but we used to walk down and get the shuttle bus back.

Overall we feel this hotel is now geared up for couples with young children.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
2 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Spent 7 days at the Royal at the beginning of September 2012.

Although I would not rate this hotel as four star (compared to UK & Spanish hotels), it was clean, comfortable and it is in a fantastic location. The staff may appear unfriendly, but I think that they are just quite, unlike their compatriots in southern Italy; and I found all the staff polite and efficient.

The food could have been more varied ( 3 star), however it was very tasty and plentiful.
I didn't think the food was more European than British ( Whatever that means) as in the UK we eat pizza, chicken, pork, beef, egg, bacon, sausage, potatoes, salad and pasta; these were all provided at the Royal.

As already commented , the 'all inclusive' is a bit misleading as you have to pay for any food or drink after the restuarant closes at 8.30 pm.

Room Tip: Get a room with lake view, it costs more but is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#12 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#19 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#5 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#29 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
192 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Village

Property: Hotel Royal Village
Address: Via Benedetto Croce 23, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Village 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Royal Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Village Hotel
Hotel Royal Village Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing