We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Royal Village
Nearby Hotels
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel(Limone sul Garda)
$159
$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel San Pietro(Limone sul Garda)(Great Value!)
$85
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Cristina(Limone sul Garda)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Castell(Limone sul Garda)(Great Value!)
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Panorama(Limone sul Garda)
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Monte Baldo(Limone sul Garda)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Romantica(Limone sul Garda)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Villa Elite(Limone sul Garda)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Garni Sole(Limone sul Garda)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (419)
Filter reviews
419 results
Traveler rating
100
163
99
34
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
163
99
34
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteep hillshuttle busindoor poollake viewfree drinkslarge restaurantgerman guestssoupregular hotelan asset to the hotelsmall chargeair conditioningrefundable depositall inclusive drinksevening entertainmentwalk uppork
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 419 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Royal Village with Newmarket holidays. My friend and I had booked single rooms and although they were quite basic and the bathrooms very small we did have a view of the lake and the beds were very comfortable. I think usually these rooms are for two people as they had two beds but I think that would be a bit squashed! The food in the restaurant was excellent but it was busy and nobody dresses for dinner. The indoor pool was lovely a real bonus. The steep hill up to the hotel could be a challenge for the less mobile and Newmarket don't tell you that to pick up the coach for the excursions you have to walk down the hill to the lay-by and then back up the hill afterwards. Our tour guide Pino was very good even though he doesn't do early mornings!

Room Tip: High floor better view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harnser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just spent a week at this Hotel and was very pleased with the room in the "Lucia House" (ground floor room 808). The beds were a bit on the hard side but the room and particularly the bathroom were clean and tidy with planty of space for all our clothes. Satellite TV and a fridge were also provided. There was no view of the lake but a small garden outside was bathed in warm sunshine in the late morning to late afternoon. There was a good variety of food at meal times (we were half board) and beer, wine, water still & carbonated, fruit juices, teas and coffee were on tap so we could have as much as we liked. Afternoon tea in the music bar area was also a nice touch again with unlimited free drinks and a selection of cake or fruited breads. The reception staff were excellent and we personally witnessed one of them being sorely tested by some very finnicky Brits at check in who didn't seem to have read their brochure properly, but she never wavered and did her utmost to satisfy the various complaints (unfounded though these were) that were thrown at her. A lot of Germans there though and they do tend to make life a bit noisy at times in the evenings but they are mostly out on trips during the day. Plenty of activities for kids in the grounds and the indoor pool is excellent. We would certaintly go there again except for one thing, it takes a long time to get there from the airport. If you cannot get a flight to Verona forget it. It took over four and half hours from Milan Malpensa airport during the night!! On the way back it took one hour twenty minutes to complete six pick ups, we were twenty minutes late by then and the overall journey was four hours forty five minutes. There were hold ups on the autostrada and we were only just in time for our flight home. This detracted from an otherwise pleasant holiday. Think On!

Room Tip: Keep away from the rooms on the side of the water course (on the left as you face the lake) when it rains in becomes a noisy torrent.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dibatag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and i returned from a 1week holiday in the Royal Village Hotel, we found all the staff very helpful indeed. We had a nice room with a view of Lake Garda. A wide and varied selection of food was available to us.Rooms and Hotel were very clean. The Hotel was in a very good location and i would certainly return there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank anon191266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent a week in the Royal Village hotel as a family with 2 little children (4 years old and 1,5 years old) and had a nice vacation.

Rooms: We had a room in the Villa Lucia which was perfect for a family with kids. The room was big (it fitted a double bed, a baby bed, a desk, a bunk bed and there was still room for our kids to play and for the baby-stroller to stand. Also the bathroom was modern with a big corner shower - no bathtub. We had a room with lake-view, but the main view we had was on the parking lot (2nd floor). However, when we were at the reception to get our key, there were some German people complaining about their room and requesting a room in Villa Lucia (where we were staying). So apparently, not all the rooms are that big and comfortable. We liked the room, it was clean and the furniture was modern.

The fact that it were German people complaining is not a surprise, as 90% of the guests are German and in the age category 50+. It didn't bother us, but be prepared to be addressed in German by the staff and by other guests. Lake Garda in general is also very German - oriented (in shops and on roadsigns everything is indicated in Italian and German).

Restaurant/drinks: The restaurant hours are from 7:30-9:30 (and they really start taking everything away at 9:30), 12:30-14h and 18:30-20:30h. Breakfast was the same every day but extensive. There were cereals and yoghurt, cheese, ham, salami, bread, croissants, eggs in different ways and bacon. Coffee and tea was self-service from machines. Juice was also from a machine. At lunch there was a salad bar, different salads and some slices of pizza and pasta. In the evening there was also a salad bar, different salads, two types of soup, three types of pasta with sauce and everyday there was also plain pasta and plain rice with separate tomato sauce (which is interesting for children), one type of fish and two types of meat. The German influence was also noteable in the salads, everyday there was something with sausages and potatoes. The vegetables are often prepared with a lot of butter. Overall the quality of the food was good, you could find someting you like everyday, although the salads etc. are often the same at lunch and in the evening. The desserts were somewhat limited, but there was also fresh fruit and a soft ice machine (again ideal for children). Drinks are available from machines in self service: some soda's (virgin cola) and white and red housewine which was ok and beer. There is also a microwave to heat baby food. The restaurant is very noisy, as there are a lot of people and you can also hear noises from the kitchen. Two times you can also eat in the pizza restaurant instead of the buffet restaurant, which was a nice diversion.
At 4 o'clock there is tea-time near the pool area and then you can eat some cake and cookies, again ideally for kids. During the day you can also get coffee and drinks in plastic cups (until 6 o'clock). After dinner time you have to pay for your drinks.
There is a dress code in the restaurant: men have to wear a long pair of trousers and no slippers or tank tops are allowed. However they did not send anyone back with shorts or slippers.

Pool/playground: There are three pools, a pool in the form of a fish next to villa Lucia and a big pool and a children pool across the street (which was also where you had to get your drinks). We never had a problem finding a seat at the pool. The water of the pools is fairly cold, even indoor. We used the fish-shaped pool as this was near to our hotel room, but we had to cross the street for drinks everytime. There is also a playground for children with trampoline etc. which our 4-year old enjoyed.

Location: The hotel is actually a collection of buildings along two sides of a steep road. The main building and main swimming pools are on one side of the road, villa lucia and the restaurants are on the other side of the road. The lake and center of Limone is a short walk down the road, but it is indeed steep. However, we walked down and up everyday with our baby-stroller and our 4 year old walked alone and never complained. For older people it might be a bit more difficult. There is also a paying shuttle service which brings you up and down (1 euro), but we never used this.
The parking lot is also rather steep but it is doable to park your car.

Conclusion: We had a nice family vacation here with our two small children. I would suggest to request a room in Villa Lucia as these seem to be the biggest and newest rooms. I would recommend this hotel for families with (small) kids. The playground is really nice for them, the rooms are a good size and the partly all-in service is good for drinks etc. The only downside is the rather cold pool water and the fact that the property is split by a road.

Room Tip: Request a room in Villa Lucia
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wenneke9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed for 7 days at this hotel early September. We had booked half board with Newmarket Holidays. On arriving staff at reception informed us it was now all inclusive (until 8.30pm). At first we thought this was a bonus but found that there were many German families staying, consequently the restaurant was more like a school canteen. The food on offer was definately not 4 star and was catering more for the German taste. Whilst the soup, salad and pasta bar were acceptable, the carvery on offer along with the potato and one hot vegetable dish was only ever luke warm. Any green vegetables (i.e broccoli, green beans) were served cold on the salad bar. We did however enjoy the one meal we had in the pizzeria. The holiday was advertised in the Newmarket brochure as half board with a choice of restaurant - buffet, pizzeria and gourmet - but there certainly was not any gourmet restaurant. This was not the type of holiday we had envisaged when we booked. As a previous reviewer has mentioned the evening dress code was very lax and I did not wear some of the dresses I had taken as would have felt overdressed.

There was entertainment in the bar area each evening except Saturday and most evenings this was well attended although the service provided by one of the bar staff was not that welcoming. It is not that difficult to smile surely.

Our room (on the reception side of hotel) although rather dark and narrow did have a lake view and was clean with towels changed daily but again not 4 star. I understand from speaking to others that the rooms on the restaurant side are more spacious.

The pool areas were very nice with plenty of sun beds. We used the pool on the reception side most days.

The hotel, being on the hillside, has lovely views and we did know that it was a steep walk up from the village but we used to walk down and get the shuttle bus back.

Overall we feel this hotel is now geared up for couples with young children.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews