We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for families with children, but very German oriented”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Royal Village
Ranked #17 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent a week in the Royal Village hotel as a family with 2 little children (4 years old and 1,5 years old) and had a nice vacation.

Rooms: We had a room in the Villa Lucia which was perfect for a family with kids. The room was big (it fitted a double bed, a baby bed, a desk, a bunk bed and there was still room for our kids to play and for the baby-stroller to stand. Also the bathroom was modern with a big corner shower - no bathtub. We had a room with lake-view, but the main view we had was on the parking lot (2nd floor). However, when we were at the reception to get our key, there were some German people complaining about their room and requesting a room in Villa Lucia (where we were staying). So apparently, not all the rooms are that big and comfortable. We liked the room, it was clean and the furniture was modern.

The fact that it were German people complaining is not a surprise, as 90% of the guests are German and in the age category 50+. It didn't bother us, but be prepared to be addressed in German by the staff and by other guests. Lake Garda in general is also very German - oriented (in shops and on roadsigns everything is indicated in Italian and German).

Restaurant/drinks: The restaurant hours are from 7:30-9:30 (and they really start taking everything away at 9:30), 12:30-14h and 18:30-20:30h. Breakfast was the same every day but extensive. There were cereals and yoghurt, cheese, ham, salami, bread, croissants, eggs in different ways and bacon. Coffee and tea was self-service from machines. Juice was also from a machine. At lunch there was a salad bar, different salads and some slices of pizza and pasta. In the evening there was also a salad bar, different salads, two types of soup, three types of pasta with sauce and everyday there was also plain pasta and plain rice with separate tomato sauce (which is interesting for children), one type of fish and two types of meat. The German influence was also noteable in the salads, everyday there was something with sausages and potatoes. The vegetables are often prepared with a lot of butter. Overall the quality of the food was good, you could find someting you like everyday, although the salads etc. are often the same at lunch and in the evening. The desserts were somewhat limited, but there was also fresh fruit and a soft ice machine (again ideal for children). Drinks are available from machines in self service: some soda's (virgin cola) and white and red housewine which was ok and beer. There is also a microwave to heat baby food. The restaurant is very noisy, as there are a lot of people and you can also hear noises from the kitchen. Two times you can also eat in the pizza restaurant instead of the buffet restaurant, which was a nice diversion.
At 4 o'clock there is tea-time near the pool area and then you can eat some cake and cookies, again ideally for kids. During the day you can also get coffee and drinks in plastic cups (until 6 o'clock). After dinner time you have to pay for your drinks.
There is a dress code in the restaurant: men have to wear a long pair of trousers and no slippers or tank tops are allowed. However they did not send anyone back with shorts or slippers.

Pool/playground: There are three pools, a pool in the form of a fish next to villa Lucia and a big pool and a children pool across the street (which was also where you had to get your drinks). We never had a problem finding a seat at the pool. The water of the pools is fairly cold, even indoor. We used the fish-shaped pool as this was near to our hotel room, but we had to cross the street for drinks everytime. There is also a playground for children with trampoline etc. which our 4-year old enjoyed.

Location: The hotel is actually a collection of buildings along two sides of a steep road. The main building and main swimming pools are on one side of the road, villa lucia and the restaurants are on the other side of the road. The lake and center of Limone is a short walk down the road, but it is indeed steep. However, we walked down and up everyday with our baby-stroller and our 4 year old walked alone and never complained. For older people it might be a bit more difficult. There is also a paying shuttle service which brings you up and down (1 euro), but we never used this.
The parking lot is also rather steep but it is doable to park your car.

Conclusion: We had a nice family vacation here with our two small children. I would suggest to request a room in Villa Lucia as these seem to be the biggest and newest rooms. I would recommend this hotel for families with (small) kids. The playground is really nice for them, the rooms are a good size and the partly all-in service is good for drinks etc. The only downside is the rather cold pool water and the fact that the property is split by a road.

Room Tip: Request a room in Villa Lucia
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wenneke9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 413 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed for 7 days at this hotel early September. We had booked half board with Newmarket Holidays. On arriving staff at reception informed us it was now all inclusive (until 8.30pm). At first we thought this was a bonus but found that there were many German families staying, consequently the restaurant was more like a school canteen. The food on offer was definately not 4 star and was catering more for the German taste. Whilst the soup, salad and pasta bar were acceptable, the carvery on offer along with the potato and one hot vegetable dish was only ever luke warm. Any green vegetables (i.e broccoli, green beans) were served cold on the salad bar. We did however enjoy the one meal we had in the pizzeria. The holiday was advertised in the Newmarket brochure as half board with a choice of restaurant - buffet, pizzeria and gourmet - but there certainly was not any gourmet restaurant. This was not the type of holiday we had envisaged when we booked. As a previous reviewer has mentioned the evening dress code was very lax and I did not wear some of the dresses I had taken as would have felt overdressed.

There was entertainment in the bar area each evening except Saturday and most evenings this was well attended although the service provided by one of the bar staff was not that welcoming. It is not that difficult to smile surely.

Our room (on the reception side of hotel) although rather dark and narrow did have a lake view and was clean with towels changed daily but again not 4 star. I understand from speaking to others that the rooms on the restaurant side are more spacious.

The pool areas were very nice with plenty of sun beds. We used the pool on the reception side most days.

The hotel, being on the hillside, has lovely views and we did know that it was a steep walk up from the village but we used to walk down and get the shuttle bus back.

Overall we feel this hotel is now geared up for couples with young children.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Spent 7 days at the Royal at the beginning of September 2012.

Although I would not rate this hotel as four star (compared to UK & Spanish hotels), it was clean, comfortable and it is in a fantastic location. The staff may appear unfriendly, but I think that they are just quite, unlike their compatriots in southern Italy; and I found all the staff polite and efficient.

The food could have been more varied ( 3 star), however it was very tasty and plentiful.
I didn't think the food was more European than British ( Whatever that means) as in the UK we eat pizza, chicken, pork, beef, egg, bacon, sausage, potatoes, salad and pasta; these were all provided at the Royal.

As already commented , the 'all inclusive' is a bit misleading as you have to pay for any food or drink after the restuarant closes at 8.30 pm.

Room Tip: Get a room with lake view, it costs more but is well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lawrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Have just arrived back from the supposedly 4* star Royal Village Hotel, to be very disappointed with our stay. My wife and I traveled as a retired couple thoroughly looking forward to a break away as we had been saving all year round for the holiday. We arrived at the hotel three hours late after a bad accident on our way and were expecting an evening meal. However we were told that the restaurant was closed at eight thirty and they had left us a cold salad instead. As well as there being no porter to carry the heavy cases up three flights of stairs.

When we finally arrived at our room it was average and adequate although the shower was a bit too small however overall it was clean which was a plus. Next morning went down to breakfast and found the staff very unhelpful and abrupt. As well as the food being mostly catered for the European population and not the British. The evening meals were not formal in any way as some fellow hotel members did not follow the dress code so my wife took many nice dresses which she was never able to wear as felt over dressed.

The position in which the hotel is situated also may not suit too many retired people as it is positioned upon a steep hill. Overall I am very disappointed with this holiday due to the food standards, staff and value although the room was average and location beautiful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

have just arrived back from a week at this hotel on lake garda .
on the whole this is a good standard 3 star hotel , i think 4 is a little generous .
the location , while afording loverly veiws across limone and lake garda is , as others have already said up a very steep hill , and can be exhausting on a hot summers day - how ever the hotel does run a very efficient shuttle bus service to and from the promanade area durng the day , and at a cost of 1 euro each way is preaty good value.
our room was very clean , we were on the side of the reception building , and had veiws from our balcony both of the mountains and the lake , which was very good as we had'nt paid for a lake view !
there was ample storage space in the room , but the bathroom was tiny although again very clean .
all inclusive at this hotel is a bit miss leading , while all meals and afternoon tea are included , from 20:30 ( and at any time from the bar ) drinks and ice creams have to be paid for .
while the food on the whole is a good and varied choice this is not what i would expect from a 4 star all inclusive .
for the most the staff were helpful however i agree with haystacks661 about the woman in the bar , it must be the same one we came across , having ordered cocktails i asked if i could have a glass of tap water as well and was told 'no' ! and she walked off !! when we came to pay my friend and i asked if we could pay seperatly , at which she huffed and sighed and was generally very rude ! its a shame because the rest of the staff were loverly , this woman definatly put us off going to the bar again.
in fact there is a supermarket just up the hill from the hotel and we found it cheeper to buy our drinks for the evening there and enjoy them on our balcony .
limone itself is a very preaty town , its very easy to get around the lake using the ferry system and for visitors a discount card is available which offers discounts on the ferries and also on some atractions .
the town has several museums , mostly free admission , including the fishing museum - which is a hidden gem !

Room Tip: try and get a side room in the reception building , nice views but quiter than over the main pool ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Stayed here for a week at the beginning of July and had a great time. The position of the hotel may not suit many people as it is positioned up a steep hill in Limone overlooking Lake Garda, however, there is a hotel shuttle bus which runs regularly during the day and evening to take you to the lakeside and costs only 1 euro per journey - well worth the money.

The staff at the hotel were superb, nothing was too much trouble for them and they seemed to have a genuine wish to make your holiday special. Our bedroom was very basic but the position made up for this with lakeviews that could be enjoyed from our balcony. The hotel is now all-inclusive although it may not be as all-inclusive as some may expect. Breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner are all provided and drinks too with each meal and from the pool bar area from 10am to 6pm, however, these are restricted to wine, beer, coke, orange, water and hot beverages. Any other drinks were available from the bar at an extra cost. This arrangement suited us fine but having been on fully all-inclusive holidays before, I can understand why people were grumbling. There is a supermarket just up the hill a little further which has a wider range of drinks to buy at a reasonable cost and it was well used by us!

Limone is a picturesque little village at the north end of the lake and there are regular ferries to various places on Lake Garda. Riva and Malcesine were very popular for day trips. We went on an organised excursion to Verona and very much enjoyed it. The morning is spent sightseeing then you are given the whole afternoon to continue sightseeing or shopping. The arena where in the summer season they put on open air operas is spectacular and well worth a visit. You can also act out a little of your Shakespeare when visiting Juliet's balcony.

Our holiday was booked through Thomson holidays and we had a Crystal holidays rep called Ellie at our hotel. She was undoubtably the best rep we have ever had on our many years holdiays. The service she provided was first class.

Room Tip: Try to choose a lake view room in the block where the restaurant is located. Floor 1 or 2 would giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank janders10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was here in June, It was very clean with an amazing view at night was like magic. The people were always available and helpful, especially the Director that was very kind to us. The food had a great variety. Overall I would go back and I would suggest this Hotel

Room Tip: IT is personal choice, and we were out all day exploring the area and at the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank viaggiare566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.6 mi away
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
Leonardo Da Vinci Hotel
#8 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
614 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Pietro
Hotel San Pietro
#27 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#14 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#12 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Royal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Royal Village

Address: Via Benedetto Croce 23, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range: $106 - $288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Royal Village 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Royal Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Village Hotel
Hotel Royal Village Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing