We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Brilliant Holiday”
Review of Hotel Villa Dirce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Dirce
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I have just spent two weeks at The Villa Dirce in Limone and have had a lovely time. As the other reviews state, the service and care we had from the staff was excellent. The hotel manager Livy is a credit to the hotel and endlessly ensures you are well looked after. The other staff, especially Robert, are also fantastic and as already stated in other reviews, do this without imposing in any way.
The rooms are perfectly comfortable; they might not be the most modern but they are spotlessly clean and I slept really well in the bed. One reviewer stated that the televisions are dated, but they work and with a view as amazing as the one from the room's balcony who needs TV?
At meal times there was a lot of choice (and of food). It might not be the greatest food in the world, but the staff take the time to ensure it is suitable for you. Both my partner and I are vegetarian and we were offered a variety of alternative choices to cater for our needs. The breakfasts were plentiful and there was a wide variety of choice, including cereal and fresh fruit along with hot food.
The final thing I must comment on is the pool: wow! To stand in the pool looking at the wonderful views of Lake Garda was fantastic. The location of the hotel was perfect; it is located about one mile from the town centre which is easily walked. There is also a bus running from the hotel at various times throughout the day if you don't want to walk. The local buses are also easily caught from just outside the hotel to make exploring the coast easy and are a cheaper (if slightly less dramatic) alternative to the ferry services.
To sum up, this hotel was an excellent choice and I cannot complain about any aspect of my stay here. Thank you Livy and staff for making my stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gem06g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Dirce
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 297 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

Hotel Villa Dirce is an old-style tourist hotel - in the best sense. What it may lack in technical facilities - wifi access can be temperamental - it more than makes up for in the setting and the staff team's collective commitment to the wellbeing and satisfaction of its guests.

The four of us spent a week's family holiday at the hotel in early August 2013. It was seriously hot throughout, with temperatures up around 35 degrees. The air-conditioning was efficient and
unobtrusive and the rooms, while simply furnished and equipped, were completely adequate.

The location of the hotel is superb with every room (bar one, we understand) enjoying a unspectacular view of the lake and the mountains on the opposite side. Best of all is the view from
the top terrace, lounging by the pool with a tall glass of something cold, as the crickets chatter,
lizards dart around under the plant-pots, swallowtail butterflies flutter about and the occasonal eagle or kite soars over the cliff which rises almost sheer behind the hotel. The walk down into Limone, a charming though highly tourist-focussed little town, takes about 25 minutes, and a little longer for the return. A shuttle bus runs into town and back three times a day from the hotel.

There is a wide variety of decent hot and cold breakfast options, served in a buffet style, and it's not hard to eat enough to make lunch unnecessary. Dinner is a slightly more formal affair involving four courses, and as much salad as you could wish for. This is not fine dining, but it is well-cooked and well-presented Italian food. Provided they are made aware beforehand, the staff make every effort to accommodate specific dietary requirements (vegetarian, lacto-intolerance etc), not to mention the preferences of picky teenage tastes. Overall, the staff were friendly and helpful, withot ever being creepy. Livi, the manager, in particular is worth a mention for her efficiency, responsiveness and sheer energy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

First off, Lake Garda is a fantastic location. It was a random choice of holiday location on a last minute deal after orginally wanting a beach holiday. Its Lake Holidays all the time now. Not only can you sit by the pool looking at the lake, you also have the amazing mountains to stare at too.

Limone is a great little town. Not too touristy with a fantastic selection of authentic italian products and food to sample. (try all the different ice cream flavours).

The Hotel was amazing and is exactly how all the positive reviews on here describe it. The staff are great and reallty helpful. They are always talkative and interested in how you are. Livy is just amazing at remembering names and your room number. Tell her you are going on an excursion, you can expect a chat with her at dinner time where she wants to know how it was and if you enjoyed it.

The food in the hotel was excellent. You got a good choice for evening meals and LOADS of food. I like my food and even I struggled to finish much of it. Factor in a breakfast full of cold meats, fruit, pastries and cooked bacon and eggs and you really do not need to both with Lunch.

Don't bother with a Milan excursion, it will only make you miss the Lake more. Venice is something else however and well worth a visit. Also do a Lake Tour and see how different the south side of the lake is.

Overall I would highly recommend this hotel and location to anyone wanting to sample Italy for the first time. Its not full of all the tacky gift shops and theme parks, just nice small shops, bars and resturants to suit all peoples budgets. I am already working out how I could go back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank timfusciardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is brilliant the views are just amazing. The hotel staff were professional and polite, they also fully understood coeliac intolerance, by bringing gluten free bread for breakfast to the table, the chefs also created specific deserts for evening meals. The rooms were clean and tidy but the rooms were outdated decore and electronics, but with views like that why would anyone want to stay in there room and not explore, if you didn't want to explore then lounge in the pool with that view.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Travelled to Limone for a week in June and stayed at Villa Dirce. The location was perfect, the views were stunning. The hotel had all that we needed, facilities were good and the staff were friendly. The room was what we needed, cleaned every day and thankfully had air conditioning! The only downside to the hotel was the food, an a la carte menu was provided for the evening meal. Almost none of the food was fresh and it was of poor quality. However, the restaurants in the local area were great, fresh food, reasonably priced and in a stunning location. All in all we had an enjoyable week but let down by the hotel food!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 184susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The three most important things in a hotel are Location location and location, so they say and the Villa Dirce has all three.
I have never found a hotel with a better view and drinking a cool drink on the terrace looking down on pretty little Limone is an unforgettable experience. I hope it is unforgettable anyway.
I love trip advisor and It is important that everyone is entitled to their opinion but I have also learnt that there are those who howl in protest at little things. The food at Villa Dirce is nice home cooked food and very tasty. It is well presented on clean table cloths and shining cutlery and I think that it is honest Italian food and very plentiful! Our 4 course dinners were charming and very filling and the view from the dining room is wonderful - we also got extras like antipasta so the courses were more like 5 or 6. To roughly dismiss such an experience is ungracious and unhelpful to Trip Advisor readers - It is a sweet hotel, in a stunning location and the food is absolutely fine. It is not Michelin starred and has not pretended to be. The hard working Livy deserves the tributes paid to her and makes this hotel what it is. What a nice lady.
Breakfast is also 'plentiful' but the continent will never really be able to do an English/ American style breakfast and we will just have to accept that. I have never found a hotel in Europe that could - it is nice to know that we get something right!
The 'sun walk' is a special experience - it is a 20-25 min walk that you will love or hate, you just have to try it. I will think about it often.
Limone is a pretty pretty town without a single blemish. It is uniformly beautiful almost as though ugliness is somehow forbidden as though an artist runs the place, but it is real beauty not fake. There are so many picturesque places to wine and dine and the port is lovely. Many people took ferries to other towns. We hired a motorboat for 60-70 Euros from a lovely character called Captain Johnny - he is recommended. You need ID (like a passport number) but you do not need a licence or deposit because this is Italia and they really do not care about such nonsense and they trust you.
Take pills and medicines with you - there is only one pharmacist in Limone and he hides away at the top of the town shunning business.
There is a little beach further on from the port and this is a great place to have a little dip in Lake Garda. Perfect? no, Perfecto!
Have a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Superfliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GAIARINE, Direttore at Hotel Villa Dirce, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013
Google Translation

Grazie per la Vostra bella recensione.
Noi cerchiamo di mettere tutto il nostro impegno in questo lavoro per accontentare i nostri Clienti e quando riceviamo dei complimenti siamo soddisfatti.
Sperando di vederci ancora, un saluto

Hotel Villa Dirce
La Direzione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

On arriving at our hotel late on our first day we see it is clean but a bit outdated and old fashioned but this does not bother us overly. The room again is very old fashioned and most annoyingly for a young couple no double bed just two singles pushed together. The bathroom is clean again but old fashioned the safe is key operated and the TV is a cathode ray (not seen one in a few years). After a quick shower we headed up to the dining room for are evening meal (We are half-board there is no other option as far as we can see). Starter is promising Raw Mushroom, parmesan and a little rocket followed by some spaghetti in tomato sauce (simple but tasty as Italian should be). Then followed by one of the most disgusting excused for food I have had since I left school. I had veal which arrives drenched in gravy (which tasted like it was from a packet Bisto). The cut of veal is one I have never had before perhaps a brisket, it had obviously had been pre sliced and been left to soak in the gravy for hours as it has no taste and is tough. Even worse and odd is that it is served with frozen French fries, and over cooked tinned green beans which are massively over salted. My girlfriend however is less lucky she had the fish which had been microwaved over cooked as it is covered in a soggy crust and the fish is as dry and tough as a bar mat. On inquiring we find that the fish is apparently from somewhere in Asia according to the hotel manager (so must come in bulk frozen). This is stunningly ridiculous not only is this Italy a country that champions its produces and its culinary arts, producing simple dishes that combine a few amazing fresh products. We are also staying next to a massive lake (we ate a lot of lovely lake fish at local restaurants). So after this shocking experience we did not eat dinner there again. Breakfast is another disappointment; Plastic textured Cheese from a Packet, salami from packet, over cooked scrambled egg TINNED half peaches in syrup and TINNED fruit salad; either frankfurters (Hot Dog sausages) or amazingly greasy German style sausage that when I cut into it was sprayed with hot grease ruining my clothes. On talking to other guest who eats there every night for over a week we heard the food did not improve and the weekly menu did not change. The young staff are great, however the managers are stern and acerbic and a little intimidating. Overall Room was ok little below par (apparently a four/three star hotel) Service Good and Bad parts, Food God Awful, Situation near town a nice walk away, View amazing.

Room Tip: One on the Top Or Bottom Floor better views, better balconies do not get a corner room.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tra_arty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
622 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
194 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#17 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#11 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
268 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#12 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
253 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Du Lac
Hotel Du Lac
#6 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Dirce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Dirce

Address: Via Quattro Novembre 80, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range: $101 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Dirce 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Dirce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dirce Hotel Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Villa Dirce Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing