We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, friendly hotel with amazing views.”
Review of Hotel Villa Dirce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Dirce
Ranked #8 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, friendly hotel with amazing views.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have just returned from a fantastic week at Lake Garda. We stayed at Limone Sul Garda which is a beautiful lakside town. The hotel Villa Dirce is excellent. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the food is great. The room was not huge but very clean and comfortable.
Now the best bit. On opening the doors on to the balcony the views took our breath away! The hotel is built into the rock face so all rooms face out onto the lake and across to Malcesine and the towering Monte Baldo. Every day brought a different view as the clouds rolled over the mountains and lifted to allow the sun to shine through.
Breakfast is a buffet style with plenty of choice. Cereals, fruit, cold meats and cheeses and eggs, boiled or scrambled, with bacon or sausage on some days.
Evening meals are 4 course served to the table plus a buffet salad which is excellent.
The walk into Limone is slightly up and down and takes around 20 to 30 minutes depending on how often you stop to amire the scenery.
Limone is a beautiful town with a nice harbour front and narrow streets leading off with nice restaurants and shops.
We hired a car which personally I think is a must as there are some amazing places to visit. You can cross to other lakeside towns by ferry such as Malcesine, Riva or down to Sirmione but there are many other places away from the Lake that a car really opens up the experience.
Lago de Ledro is one such place. A smaller Lake higher up the mountains and very picturesque. Another is Tremesine, on the top of the mountains above Limone with amazing views and the road up is unbelievable as you appear to be driving in and out of caves. There is a easier drive up but no way near as much fun.
We will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank th0mps0ns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    89
    43
    22
    4
See reviews for
40
176
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Just back from the Villa Dirce after a week there. I can only agree with the other comments the view is spectacular from the balcony, we were in 208 and all of the rooms face Lake Garda as the back of the hotel is built into the hill. The staff are excellent, attentive and very helpful. Livy is almost as big an asset to the hotel as the view! Food was plentiful with a good selection every day. Rooms were a good size and were cleaned every day and we got clean towels every day, went for breakfast and when we got back the rooms were done. Hotel provided free Wi-Fi, and safe deposit box. There is a walk of about 15 minutes to Limone itself but the walk is along a path away from the main road and passes little bars and restaurants. Limone itself has a good selection of bars and cafes. Worth paying a visit to the Lemon Museum in the centre of Limone. Ferry leaves from the centre of Limone and the services is excellent. A trip up Mont Baldo by cable car is a must as the views back to the mountains on the Limone side are spectacular and the walks on the top are great.
We took the trip to Venice, a 6:30 start but worth it, only problem was not enough time there so this is going to cost me another trip there but well worth it.
I have to say the Villa Dirce is a hotel we will certainly revisit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hemple23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Having been back in Blighty for a couple of days, we ( a mid-forties married couple) feel compelled to express what a wonderful holiday we have just enjoyed at the Villa Dirce on Lake Garda. This was our first time in Italy and we have to say that if it's indicative of the standard on offer, we shall be returning every year for the forseeable future.

The hotel is spectacularly located on the northwestern shore of the lake, with breathtaking views of snowcapped mountains on the opposite shore. We stayed in room 209 and our view from the balcony was far and away the best we've ever enjoyed (an experience regularly enhanced by the appearance of an osprey we called Ozzy, fishing on the lake). Rooms are basic, but of a good standard and cleaned to within an inch of their life every day by the excellent and very friendly cleaning staff. Clean towels also appear daily.

On arrival we were greeted by the hotel manager, Livy, a formidable, no-nonsense organiser with an astonishing memory and a hands-on approach that would put most managers to shame. Nothing was too much trouble and everything ran smooth as silk for the whole two weeks. I don't know what her company pays her, but I suspect it isn't anywhere near enough. Actually, all the staff were great.

Food was excellent; a previous comment likening them to school dinners left us somewhat perplexed. Perhaps they went to Eton... The menu didn't repeat for the fortnight, apart from Friday, a Gala Night selection which we were more than happy to enjoy twice. The regular menu on our half-board basis was breakfast (salami, cheese, eggs, bacon, large variety of fresh breads, fruits, honey, yoghurt and good, fresh coffee from a self-serve machine) and evening meal (extensive salad bar, small starter, choice of three larger starters and three main courses, dessert and local wine). Fish dishes especially good and if the lemon plaice makes an appearance whilst you're there, grab it with both hands. Simply delicious.

Limone itself is about a twenty minute stroll away; picturesque, well-priced cafes abound (slightly pricier around the harbour area, but nothing that would scare the horses). Try an Aperol spritz or a Hugo. We can recommend them. Often.

Trips across the lake to Malcesine cost just nine euros return by boat. Visit the castle if you can (six euros entry), as there are great views from the top of its central tower. Riva at the northern end of the lake is also worth a visit; at ten euros return, the boat is more expensive than the bus, but the journey is far more pleasant. We also managed to get to Verona and Venice, using LImonetours, whose office you will find just behind the harbour. If you're on a package, your rep will be able to book for you at no additional cost. Pricey, but well worth it.

In summary, a great holiday, great hotel, great food, perfect location. Wish we were back there now.

Room Tip: All rooms appeared to have good views, so you're unlikely to be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jason s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I really enjoyed my week at the Villa Dirce on Lake Garda. Small friedly hotel with amazing views.
I can not fault this hotel as the staff were very friendly and helpfull, food was great, place was spotless and the views out of this world. We stayed on the second floor and the view from our bedroom was breath taking. The hotel is located on the cliffs overlooking Lake Garda just outside the village of Limone and is a 15 minute walk into the town, but a very pleasant walk with a few cafes, restaurants on the way with great views. Limone is one of the prettiest towns on Lake Garda with some interesting history. It is a very peacefull chillout place to spend a week. We went on two of the organised trips... one to Venice which was worth the long bus journey and a must for anyone that hasn't been to Venice. We also did the trip around the lake which we enjoyed as it let us see some more of Lake Garda which we enjoyed. I would recommend a day in Malcesine across the lake with plenty shops, cafes etc .....we took the cable car to the top of Mont Baldo and enjoyed an easy walk along the ridge and then walked down to the mid station which was fabulous but you need to be fit for the walk down !!!
The hotel Villa Dirce was a lovely place to stay I couldn't find anything to criticise... friendly, quiet, great location, good food, free wifi , lovely swimming pool, spotlessly clean and great views from the terraces, restaurant and bedrooms...one of the nicest places I have stayed and thought Limone was special. I never go back to the same place on holiday as there are so many places I want to travel to but must say I am likely to go back to Limone and I would stay at the Villa Dirce.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have a larger balcony howver are beside the pool and have a restricted view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnMacAskill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Having just returned, (22nd May 2013) from a fantastic holiday at this hotel, I am at a loss as to the bad reviews on this site on this hotel? Staff where great, view from room 211 was unbelievable, and the food was marvellous. The walk from the Hotel to Simone on the lake path is not difficult, it takes 15/18 minutes out and 20/25 back as there are some gradients. Two days rain in 11 was not bad at all for May. Prices are below those of major cities in UK for food and drinks. Markets where good with a variety of goods. The boat trips around the Lake are probably better than the coach trips as you see more of the views. Malchesnie across the lake was nice with friendly staff at all the bars and eateries. Cant wait to go back soon!!

Room Tip: the rooms in the 100's ie, 102 -106 have bigger balconies, but are not private at all. The 300 s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertDyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Wales, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Just got back from a week at Hotel Villa Dirce and I must say it was such a lovely hotel with friendly staff who would do anything for you, I'd go back tomorrow if I could! We stayed in room 206 and had a balcony with the most amazing view over the lake to Malcesine and Monte Baldo. It was breathtaking. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the room was specious enough with two singles pushed together to make a super kingsize bed plus another single bed to boot. Lovely modern bathroom and great shower too. Maid service made the room up every morning when we went to breakfast.

We were there on a half board basis and the continental breakfast had a really good variety and selection of foods and we certainly didnt go hungry after that all day. Dinner in the evening consisted of antipasti and three courses plus a salad buffet and complimentary wine and water with the meal. Lots of pasta on the menu but hey, it's Italy! Food was tasty and good portions too, we felt most satisfied after eating dinner.

The hotel is geared up to the German tourist market and out of around 100 guests there were only 6 Brits to count, but everyone was pleasant and they did seem to sit the Brits together so we could chat to each other. The staff spoke Italian, German and English and there were no problems with understanding conversations.

My only small niggle would be the fact that the beds were a bit hard and I do have back problems which were exacerbated by the firmness of the bed, but I've yet to come across a hotel that has the same expensive mattress as I have at home, so it's just one of those things.

All in all a great little hotel (I prefer smaller hotels) with friendly helpful staff, decent food and spotlessly clean. All wrapped up in a great location with stunning views.

Room Tip: Rooms in the 300s have larger sun terraces than those in the 200s which have smaller balconies so if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Welshtotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Villa Dirce is located on the west side of Lake Garda just outside the little town of Limone sul Garda. Although described as a four star hotel it only merits this rating because of the view. The rooms are 2 star quality, the food is very average and the management not very helpful. When I asked for a small heater because the room was cold on a very wet day and the hotel heating was turned off I was told there were none. When I asked how we could get our wet clothes dry I was met with the typical Gallic shrug.
The town is a fifteen minute downhill walk, off the main road which is very busy so be aware that unless you have a can or can find a taxi you have to walk back up the hill later.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the floor below reception as this level has the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank April0304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
Park Hotel Imperial - Centro Tao
#3 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo
Hotel Monte Baldo
#6 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel La Fiorita
Hotel La Fiorita
#2 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Royal Village
Hotel Royal Village
#11 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Dirce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Dirce

Property: Hotel Villa Dirce
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 80, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Dirce 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Dirce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dirce Hotel Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Villa Dirce Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing