We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location but don't come here if you want typical Italian!”
Review of Hotel Villa Dirce

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Villa Dirce
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in Limone sul Garda
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but don't come here if you want typical Italian!”
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Villa Dirce. Had a wonderful time and Limone is definately one of the best towns on lake Garda. The setting of the hotel is great and the views from all areas of the hotel are stunning. Although all of the rooms overlook the lake, for the best views ask for a room on the second floor. One word of caution - avoid the rooms on the 1st floor. We were originally given room 101 - it is the worst room in the hotel with road noise, kitchen smells and very cramped - it should not be used for guests - avoid at all costs!! We asked to be moved and got a room on the 3rd floor. Our room was functional and had everything we needed although the air-con didn't work. It was cleaned every morning and we had clean towels daily. We liked the fact that the hotel was not right in the centre of Limone and we enjoyed the 15 minute walk into town. Limone is an excellent place to stay for trips around the lake and we made use of the local buses and boats - very easy and no need to pay the extortionate prices charged by the holiday companies for their excursions. The staff at the hotel were very pleasant and helpful but we were disappointed as they are clearly eastern european rather than Italian and the food also reflected this - the food was not great and the best part of the meals was the salad buffet and the ice cream - make of that what you will! We also found that during our week the hotel was overrun with German guests and they were very loud and rude and they chain-smoked (around the pool, on the terrace at breakfast and in the evenings, anywhere they could). Overall we did have a fantastic holiday and would definitaly return to Lake Garda - but not to Villa Dirce!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jacqui s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    96
    46
    22
    4
See reviews for
42
189
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

Just returned from a one-week holiday at the Villa Dirce Hotel on Lake Garda (20-27 August 2011) booked through Inghams. Reading other reviews prior to our own holiday, we wondered if we had made the right choice.
In fact, our twin-bedded room was very comfortable, with firm beds, a private balcony and lovely views of Lake Garda, and our own sunbeds. The room was on the upper floor, which has only 6 rooms and was mostly very quiet, both at siesta time and during the night. There are no traffic noises at all since all rooms face Lake Garda. The air-conditioning was particularly appreciated since temperatures peaked at 38 degrees C. A clean swimming-pool, always warm in the late afternoon was an added bonus. The hotel is about 25 minutes walk from the resort centre, but a frequent shuttle bus taking 5 minutes is available throughout the day at a mere €2 return.
We found the food on offer varied and good quality: a generous breakfast buffet with hot and cold food and catering for both continental and British taste (scrambled and boiled eggs, ham, cheese, cereals, and a lot of fresh fruit types as well as yoghurt); the evening meal catered for both large and small appetites, meat-eaters and vegetarians.

The most lasting impression of this holiday however will remain the friendly and efficient hospitality offered by the managers of Villa Dirce, especially the lady in charge, who is in attendance all day from early morning until late evening and has a friendly word with everyone who passes the reception desk, who makes a point of trying to speak at least four languages, being patient with noisy children, and making sure everyone is perfectly happy. She even found time in her busy schedule to come to the minibus to say goodbye at the time of departure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FBC308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

This was a nice hotel clean and the food was good but what ruined it for us was the walk to Limone town. I had read it was a 20 min walk which I don't mind I am young and physically fit but it wasn't a 20 min walk by the lake side that I imagined it was down lots of steps then down cobbled roads up and down hills etc it really did get too much - it is not by the Lake side but you can see the lake!

We didn't even try walking down the road as it was dangerous and we had a baby with us so the steps etc were our only option. There are only 3 taxis in Limone so thinking you can walk to the town after dinner then get a taxi back think again, you also cant get through the gate at the bottom of the steps after 11pm (i think) or maybe it was 10pm. So you either get back in early or risk the main road in the dark - not a good idea with a baby.

We ate our dinner 7pm until 8.30 or 9pm so by this point we did not have time to get to Limone and back which ended up with almost every night being stranded in the hotel and going to bed very early. We had our baby with us so were not looking for very late nights or nightclubs etc but some life, music and a walk would have been nice!

There was no music or entertainment in the hotel so it was a bit dull in the evening and on a few nights we just didnt bother coming back for dinner and stayed in Limone until 9pm. If you have a car with you or are looking for early nights this hotel would do. We were hoping to be able to walk around in the evenings but we really had no where to walk the baby in the buggy - out of the front door main road - downstairs lots of steps no gardens etc.

It was a shame because the views from the hotel were wonderful and the staff were great but I have never felt so stranded in the evening as I did in this hotel. I didn't think a 20 minute walk would be a problem but it really was with the additional point of no taxis and the gate closing early and the main road! People were sat on the terrace playing cards (get the picture) or watching a big TV on the wall. There was only one English TV channel so at night we watched CCN every night in our room!

Pool was nice but hardly used it as went into Limone in the morning and then it was such an effort to walk back we couldnt be bothered until later as knew we wouldnt get out again after dinner! There was a shuttle bus but it only ran until around 6pm shame it didnt run until 10pm it would have made things much better.

I think older people who like nice views and it to be quiet at night would like this hotel. I will be going back to Lake Garda but will go to a hotel in the town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LNAJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Just returned with my wife from a week at the Hotel Villa Dirce. I was a bit concerned about some of the previous reviews of this hotel prior to our departure. However for what we paid we have just had a very relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings with some of the most helpful and friendly multi national staff.

The mountain and lake views from the balcony and the terraces of the hotel is nothing short of fantastic. The hotel is about 20 minutes outside Limone and the walk can be tiring in the heat of the day, however you know this when you book as it is well highlight in the brochure, so the walk should not be a surprise to anybody.

This is Italy and not the United Kingdom and the hotel is geared towards people from all over Europe, if you want traditional British food you really should stay in the United kingdom. The food was more than edible and with some of the variations and mixes was different, however always served with a smile and with five courses more than enough for most people. According to one of the reps I spoke to who is highly experienced the only people that seem to complain about the food are some of the less experienced and travelled British guests. It would appear that they want" Champagne, but only want to pay beer prices" as the saying goes you only get what yo pay for.

Eva the hotel manageress was always on hand to help and give assistance and advise on the lake resorts. She went out her way every night to ask guest about their meal and to deal with any concerns. If you wanted a bigger portion of food her or her staff would quickly supply you with your request.

The drink prices were about average for the resort of Limone and wine was considerably cheaper than in the United Kingdom. The German and italian beer was of a much better quality than the rubbish served at home which is generally gassy and full of chemicals that are not allowed on the continent.

The Hotel Villa Dirce is part of the Horstmann Group of hotels it is not managed or owned by a UK company. The food is geared towards all nationalities and not just the British guests. If you are looking for a small hotel with an Italian ambience, in a fantastic setting with very helpful and friendly staff, clean rooms with a slow relaxed approach to your holiday you should consider this accommodation.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms with balconies over looking the lake and mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richards521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We arrived late one wet Saturday evening and were met with helpful friendly staff who looked after us very well and this continued for the whole of the stay. This is definitely one of the big plus's in their favour.

Room - we requested a double rather than a twin and that’s what we got but whilst the room was clean and kept that way (towels changed every day etc...) it was sooo small with a hardish bed and a frame sticking out beyond the covers so we have ended up with a good tan but with added colour on our shins! It was advertised as having a balcony and it did but if we both sat out there we couldn't stretch out our legs, however the view (all rooms had one of Lake Garda) was stunning. The furniture is 60's but being updated, however it was fine

Food - DIRE -this is where the biggest disappointment came and if the staff's friendly manor hadn't been so good this would warrant a 'Terrible'. We we’re there on half-board and whilst the breakfast was tolerable (my wife is gluten allergic and they did their best to accommodate this; made a good stab at it too) the coffee was out of a machine and I doubt had ever seen a bean and as for the fruit juice, just don’t go there... As for the evening meal not only was everything either out of a can or frozen but the combinations were so weird... grey brussel sprouts with fish, soggy courgettes with processed pork! All in all the worst bit by far, oh and no fresh fruit! (we did get some but so under ripe we didn’t count it)

Facilities - there are two pools, well 1 pool and 1 jacuzzi, both small and very cold and because folk didn't shower before swimming had a film of oil on top... The main pool is on top of the hotel and looks a bit bleak round it, the jacuzzi is set in a courtyard lower down which we found very pleasant.
The sunbeds were there and not a shortage for us but they could do with renewing; no other activities or bits in the hotel, but that was fine.

Location – Limone is a beautiful town, with cobbled winding streets albeit up steep hills but hey its on a mountain side. The walk to it is a 15 min one via a winding path from the hotel (by some smelly drains for a little bit) and is about 20 mins back (keep to the road as this is quicker than retracing the entire winding path).
We went for 3 walks, 2 with the tourist board guide, free to join which were meant to be low impact but definately medium and 1 through Ingams who we went with (Louise their rep was excellent) via Skyclimbers which was very good. All lasted 2 hrs and were enjoyable

NOTE: this part of Italy is very close to the German border so the hotel, catering and set-up (including beer) is geared for them, not an issue but be aware

Room Tip: Make sure you are on the 1st or 2nd floor for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jezza-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stayed here on a late deal. Some concern after reading some of the reviews. Well here is my view. The hotel has a wonderful situation elevated above Lake Garda just outside of Limone with spectacular views. The room was a good size with a balcony and air conditioning which was effective without being noisy. The standard of cleanliness was high and it appeared that the bathroom had been recently refurbished. I found the food fine, as an example the first night there was the comprehensive salad bar, a starter of lasange (which I enjoyed) a between course taster of pizza, roast chicken and ice cream. I thought the meal was very acceptable and could always find something that i liked as did my wife whi is a very finiky eater. I liked the waiter service which I found better than the self service scramble in some hotels. Eva the manager was helpful and friendly as were all the staff. The pool and the public areas were well kept. The rooms did have thin walls but the noise was not excessive and no different to many hotels I have stayed in.
I did find the walk from Limone and the final 114 steps to our room a bit of a hassle after an evenings cafe culture in Limone and you need to be aware of this if you cannot walk or have mobility difficulties. the mini bus ends at six and there are very few taxis.
That said a minor hassle we thoroughly enjoyed a week of lovely weather and the getting about Lake Garda. Try the Porto Bar by the little harbour run by Antonio. Oh yes there will be germans there and italians and many other races, if you want British go to Blackpool!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikehse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
powys
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We were so tired,mentally & physically and wanted somewhere not too far away,warm and quiet,so opted for Lake Garda, Italy..Having gone through brochures,and researching with the help of Trip Advisor,we finally decided on this hotel,and it was the best choice!It was all that we had wanted,a smallish hotel,every room overlooking the lake,(at no supplement),no rd in front,just lemon&orange trees,and a few grapevines,then the lake & mountains.Limone,a very old,pretty,town(small)nestled into the bottom of the mountain,built around the bay,with a nice variety of good shops,(clothes,shoes,coffee,etc),not lots of shops full of tourist 'tat',and it took approx 20mins walk from the hotel,down a pleasant winding path,avoidind the rd along the lake to the centre of town..The dining room was waiter/waitress service in the evening, the one length of wall being glass with lake view,great food,excellent service.Breakfast was semi Al Fresco on the terrace,self service as was the complimentary afternoon tea,coffee&cake..It was a very quiet,peaceful hotel,most in bed by 11pm.There were always sunbeds on the roof terrace by the pool with fabulous views,but this is not the place if you want to be entertained,late nights and kids activities,there seemed to mainly couples who all wanted peace & calm.The rooms were on the small side,but were very clean and comfortable,towels changed daily,nothing was too much trouble.I have to say,this is not suitable for the less able either,as the steps back upto the hotel off the footpath from the town walk were just over a 100!!We've just come back home today and have really enjoyed every minute.We had 10 days.

Room Tip: best views are on the 2nd floor,though the balcony is much smaller,but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sollady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Limone sul Garda hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Splendid Palace
Hotel Splendid Palace
#1 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Villa Romantica
Hotel Villa Romantica
#4 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
188 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Castell
Hotel Castell
#12 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Cristina
Hotel Cristina
#19 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Panorama
Hotel Panorama
#10 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
245 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Monte Baldo
Hotel Monte Baldo
#8 of 42 in Limone sul Garda
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Dirce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Dirce

Property: Hotel Villa Dirce
Address: Via Quattro Novembre 80, 25010 Limone sul Garda, Italy
Location: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Brescia > Limone sul Garda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Limone sul Garda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Dirce 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Dirce reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dirce Hotel Limone Sul Garda
Hotel Villa Dirce Limone Sul Garda, Lake Garda, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing